Skip to main content

The Cooperative Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 26922Assets $548M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

The Cooperative Bank advertises 3.00% APY on its eLife Savings account. That is 2.62 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

A checking account at the bank is required.

Ranked #214 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #138.

Estimate your earnings·What The Cooperative Bank actually pays

Key facts

The Cooperative Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY3.00% · eLife Savings · checking account required
Minimum to open$10 · eLife Savings
Against the national average2.62 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.75% · 4 months · 4 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$1,000 · 4 months CD
Against the national average2.61 percentage points above the 1.14% FDIC 3-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 3.15% · TCB Premier Money Market · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · TCB Premier Money Market
Against the national average2.52 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
The Cooperative Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate26922 · Roslindale, MA
Websitewww.thecooperativebank.com
Branches4 branches in MA
AvailabilityAvailable in MA
Rates

The Cooperative Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Up to3.15% APY
TCB Premier Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.40% APY on balances $2,500 - $49,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
3.15% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.00% APY
eLife Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Statement Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 4 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Cooperative Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
4 months3.75%$1,0004 Month CD Special
8 months3.75%$1,0008 Month CD Special
12 months3.00%$1,00012 Month CD
36 months1.25%$1,00036 Month CD
60 months1.75%$1,00060 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Cooperative Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,161.10(7.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$15,161.10

Effective APY
3.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Cooperative Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.43%
Q2 2026 ·
3.00% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, The Cooperative Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 83% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.53%
Q2 2026 ·
$458M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
22.1%
Q2 2026
$548M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The Cooperative Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
eLife Savings3.00%$10$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Statement Savings0.05%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
TCB Premier Money Market3.15%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
4 Month CD Special4 months3.75%$1,000not statednot stated
8 Month CD Special8 months3.75%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months1.25%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months1.75%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MA
Footprint4 branches in MA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Cooperative Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised eLife Savings rate in the last 12 months was 3.00% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

eLife Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
4 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
TCB Premier Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 28, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 3.00% APY The Cooperative Bank advertises on eLife Savings grows to $10,300 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,961 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The Cooperative Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is The Cooperative Bank?

HeadquartersRoslindale, MA
Founded1898
Scale$548M assets · $458M deposits, $357M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 26922

Financial detail is in What The Cooperative Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Cooperative Bank

Is The Cooperative Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. The Cooperative Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 26922, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Cooperative Bank?

The Cooperative Bank requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its eLife Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does The Cooperative Bank have branches?

Yes. The Cooperative Bank operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Cooperative Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The Cooperative Bank3.15%2.43%$2,5004 branches in MA
Ally Bank3.00%3.03%$01 branch in UT
American Express3.00%3.21%$01 branch in UT
BMO Alto3.00%1.61%$0not stated

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Cooperative Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates