Skip to main content

Security Bank & Trust Company savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 15324Assets $1.3B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

Security Bank & Trust Company advertises up to 1.38% APY on its Savings account. The 1.38% needs a balance of at least $1,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.25%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.85% overall, about $85 in a year, which is 0.47 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #371 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #338.

Estimate your earnings·What Security Bank & Trust Company actually pays

Key facts

Security Bank & Trust Company at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 1.38% · Savings · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$50 · Savings
Against the national average1.00 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.70% · 12 months · 12-Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 12 months CD
Against the national average1.99 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.38% · Money Market · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market
Against the national average0.75 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Security Bank & Trust Company bank facts
FDIC certificate15324 · Glencoe, MN
Websitewww.security-banks.com
Branches26 branches in MN
AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Rates

Security Bank & Trust Company savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to1.38% APY
Savings
Needs at least $1,000,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0.01 - $2,499.99
0.85% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.31% APY on balances $100,000 - $999,999.99
1.38% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to1.38% APY
Super Kids Savings
Youth Savings
Needs at least $1,000,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0.01 - $2,499.99
0.85% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.31% APY on balances $100,000 - $999,999.99
1.38% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to1.38% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $1,000,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0.01 - $2,499.99
0.85% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.31% APY on balances $100,000 - $999,999.99
1.38% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.35% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $25,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.02% APY on balances $0.01 - $999.99
0.20% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.35% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.70% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

0.02% APY
IRA Savings Account
On balances up to $9,999,999.99 · no rate stated above
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Security Bank & Trust Company CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months2.52%$1,0003-Month CD
6 months3.70%$1,0006-Month CD
12 months3.70%$1,00012-Month CD
24 months2.78%$1,00024-Month CD
36 months2.52%$1,00036-Month CD
39 months3.65%$5,00039-Month Bump-Up CD
60 months2.52%$1,00060-Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Security Bank & Trust Company

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.25% to 1.38% APY across 5 balance tiers.
0.25% APY on balances $0.01 - $2,499.99
0.85% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.31% APY on balances $100,000 - $999,999.99
1.38% APY on balances $1,000,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$314.00(2.2%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,314.00

Effective APY
0.83%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Security Bank & Trust Company pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.72%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to1.38% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 1.38% needs a balance of at least $1,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.25%.

In Q2 2026, Security Bank & Trust Company paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 89% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.25%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.2B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
13.8%
Q2 2026
$1.3B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Security Bank & Trust Company, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Savings1.38%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Super Kids Savings1.38%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Health Savings Account0.35%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market1.38%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Savings Account0.02%$50$0$9,999,999.99not statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3-Month CD3 months2.52%$1,000not statednot stated
6-Month CD6 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
12-Month CD12 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
24-Month CD24 months2.78%$1,000not statednot stated
36-Month CD36 months2.52%$1,000not statednot stated
39-Month Bump-Up CD39 months3.65%$5,000not statednot stated
60-Month CD60 months2.52%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Footprint26 branches in MN
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Security Bank & Trust Company behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Savings rate in the last 12 months was 1.38% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
12 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 4, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 1.38% APY Security Bank & Trust Company advertises on Savings grows to $10,138 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,805 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Security Bank & Trust Company CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Security Bank & Trust Company?

HeadquartersGlencoe, MN
Founded1935
Scale$1.3B assets · $1.2B deposits, $1.0B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 15324

Financial detail is in What Security Bank & Trust Company pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Security Bank & Trust Company

Is Security Bank & Trust Company FDIC insured?

Yes. Security Bank & Trust Company is FDIC insured under certificate 15324, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Security Bank & Trust Company?

Security Bank & Trust Company requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 1.38% apply to my whole balance?

The 1.38% needs a balance of at least $1,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.25%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Does Security Bank & Trust Company have branches?

Yes. Security Bank & Trust Company operates 26 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Security Bank & Trust Company against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Security Bank & Trust Company1.38%2.72%$5026 branches in MN
Northrim Bank1.39%1.00%$10,00021 branches in AK
Grand Valley Bank2.70%1.28%$1009 branches in CO, UT
Enterprise Bank1.34%1.01%$01 branch in PA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Security Bank & Trust Company's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates