Skip to main content

Northrim Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 33216Assets $3.4B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 18, 2026

Northrim Bank advertises up to 1.39% APY on its Alaska Savings account. The 1.39% needs a balance of at least $1,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.47% overall, about $47 in a year, which is 0.09 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #370 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #497.

Estimate your earnings·What Northrim Bank actually pays

Key facts

Northrim Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 1.39% · Alaska Savings · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$10,000 · Alaska Savings
Against the national average1.01 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.65% · 5 months · 5 Month CD Special
Minimum to opennot stated · 5 months CD
Against the national average2.24 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.11% · Money Market · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$500 · Money Market
Against the national average0.52 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Northrim Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate33216 · Anchorage, AK
Websitewww.northrim.com
Branches21 branches in AK
AvailabilityAvailable in AK
Rates

Northrim Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to1.39% APY
Alaska Savings
Needs at least $1,000,000
$10,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $4,999
0.47% APY on balances $4,999 - $14,999
0.72% APY on balances $14,999 - $249,999
1.10% APY on balances $249,999 - $499,999
1.20% APY on balances $499,999 - $749,999
1.30% APY on balances $749,999 - $999,999
1.39% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.88% APY
Performance Savings
Needs at least $1,000,000
$500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $24,999
0.38% APY on balances $24,999 - $49,999
0.48% APY on balances $49,999 - $99,999
0.58% APY on balances $99,999 - $249,999
0.68% APY on balances $249,999 - $499,999
0.78% APY on balances $499,999 - $749,999
0.83% APY on balances $749,999 - $999,999
0.88% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.24% APY
Classic Savings
Needs at least $750,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $2,499
0.14% APY on balances $2,499 - $14,999
0.16% APY on balances $14,999 - $24,999
0.18% APY on balances $24,999 - $99,999
0.20% APY on balances $99,999 - $249,999
0.22% APY on balances $499,999 - $749,999
0.24% APY on balances $750,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.22% APY
Kid's Club Savings
Youth Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.22% APY
Education Savings
Student Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.11% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.07% APY on balances $0 - $2,499
0.09% APY on balances $24,999 - $49,999
0.10% APY on balances $49,999 - $99,999
0.11% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.65% APY
Highest CD · 5 months
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

0.38% APY
Variable IRA Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Business

Up to0.88% APY
Business Performance Savings
Needs at least $1,000,000
$500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $24,999
0.38% APY on balances $24,999 - $49,999
0.48% APY on balances $49,999 - $99,999
0.58% APY on balances $99,999 - $249,999
0.68% APY on balances $249,999 - $499,999
0.78% APY on balances $499,999 - $749,999
0.83% APY on balances $749,999 - $999,999
0.88% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Northrim Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
1 months1.00%not stated30 Day CD
3 months1.96%not stated90 Day CD
5 months3.65%not stated5 Month CD Special
6 months2.73%not stated6 Month CD
11 months3.03%not stated11 Month Jump Up CD
12 months1.81%not stated1 Year CD
24 months1.81%not stated2 Year CD
36 months1.81%not stated3 Year CD
48 months2.00%not stated4 Year CD
60 months2.00%not stated5 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Northrim Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.10% to 1.39% APY across 7 balance tiers.
0.10% APY on balances $0 - $4,999
0.47% APY on balances $4,999 - $14,999
0.72% APY on balances $14,999 - $249,999
1.10% APY on balances $249,999 - $499,999
1.20% APY on balances $499,999 - $749,999
1.30% APY on balances $749,999 - $999,999
1.39% APY on balances $1,000,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$539.40(2.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $10,000

Projected Balance

$23,539.40

Effective APY
0.65%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Northrim Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.00%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to1.39% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 1.39% needs a balance of at least $1,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

In Q2 2026, Northrim Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 32% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.70%
Q2 2026 ·
$2.9B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
28.3%
Q2 2026
$3.4B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Northrim Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Alaska Savings1.39%$10,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Performance Savings0.88%$500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Classic Savings0.24%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Kid's Club Savings0.22%$5$5Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Education Savings0.22%$100$100Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market0.11%$500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
Variable IRA Savings0.38%$100$100Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Business
Business Performance Savings0.88%$500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
30 Day CD1 months1.00%not statednot statednot stated
90 Day CD3 months1.96%not statednot statednot stated
5 Month CD Special5 months3.65%not statednot statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months2.73%not statednot statednot stated
11 Month Jump Up CD11 months3.03%not statednot statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months1.81%not statednot statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months1.81%not statednot statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months1.81%not statednot statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months2.00%not statednot statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months2.00%not statednot statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in AK
Footprint21 branches in AK
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Northrim Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Alaska Savings rate in the last 12 months was 1.39% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Alaska Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
5 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 16, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 1.39% APY Northrim Bank advertises on Alaska Savings grows to $10,139 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,806 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Northrim Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Northrim Bank?

HeadquartersAnchorage, AK
Founded1990
Scale$3.4B assets · $2.9B deposits, $2.1B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 33216

Financial detail is in What Northrim Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Northrim Bank

Is Northrim Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Northrim Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 33216, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Northrim Bank?

Northrim Bank requires a minimum deposit of $10,000 to open its Alaska Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 1.39% apply to my whole balance?

The 1.39% needs a balance of at least $1,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Does Northrim Bank have branches?

Yes. Northrim Bank operates 21 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Northrim Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Northrim Bank1.39%1.00%$10,00021 branches in AK
Security Bank & Trust Company1.38%2.72%$5026 branches in MN
Grand Valley Bank2.70%1.28%$1009 branches in CO, UT
Enterprise Bank1.34%1.01%$01 branch in PA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Northrim Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates