Skip to main content

Reading Co-operative Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 26620Assets $1.2B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

Reading Co-operative Bank advertises 0.01% APY on its Green Online Savings account. That is 0.37 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #1587 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1547.

Estimate your earnings·What Reading Co-operative Bank actually pays

Key facts

Reading Co-operative Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.01% · Green Online Savings
Minimum to open$10 · Green Online Savings
Against the national average0.37 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.00% · 6 months · 6-Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 6 months CD
Against the national average2.59 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY3.00% · Cash Booster Account
Minimum to open$10 · Cash Booster Account
Against the national average2.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Reading Co-operative Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate26620 · Reading, MA
Websitewww.readingcoop.com
Branches13 branches in MA
AvailabilityAvailable in MA
Rates

Reading Co-operative Bank savings, CD and money market rates

3.00% APY
Online Christmas Savings
Club Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.00% APY
Cash Booster Account
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.10% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $99,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.01% APY
Green Online Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.01% APY
Student Statement Savings
Student Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.01% APY
Online Vacation Savings
Club Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.01% APY
Statement Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.01% APY
Student Passbook Savings
Student Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.01% APY
Passbook Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.01% APY
Health Savings
Health Savings (HSA)
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
4.00% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Reading Co-operative Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months4.00%$5006-Month CD
8 months3.50%$5008-Month CD
9 months2.75%$5009-Month CD
12 months3.50%$50012-Month CD
15 months0.15%$50015-Month CD
24 months2.75%$5002-Year CD
24 months3.92%$50024-Month CD Special
36 months3.00%$5003-Year CD
48 months3.00%$5004-Year CD
60 months3.00%$5005-Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Reading Co-operative Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,161.10(7.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$15,161.10

Effective APY
3.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Reading Co-operative Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.89%
Q2 2026 ·
0.01% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Reading Co-operative Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 67% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.40%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.0B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
18.8%
Q2 2026
$1.2B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Reading Co-operative Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Online Christmas Savings3.00%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Green Online Savings0.01%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Student Statement Savings0.01%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Online Vacation Savings0.01%$10$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Statement Savings0.01%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Student Passbook Savings0.01%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Passbook Savings0.01%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Health Savings0.01%$10$0NoneHealth Savings Account Annual Service Fee (Per Account) $10.00not statedTiered
Cash Booster Account3.00%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market0.10%$10$0NoneMonthly Maintenance Fee $12 if minimum daily balance of $2,500 is not maintained.not statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
6-Month CD6 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
8-Month CD8 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
9-Month CD9 months2.75%$500not statednot stated
12-Month CD12 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
15-Month CD15 months0.15%$500not statednot stated
2-Year CD24 months2.75%$500not statednot stated
24-Month CD Special24 months3.92%$500not statednot stated
3-Year CD36 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
4-Year CD48 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
5-Year CD60 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MA
Footprint13 branches in MA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Reading Co-operative Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Green Online Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.01% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Green Online Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Cash Booster Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 27, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.01% APY Reading Co-operative Bank advertises on Green Online Savings grows to $10,001 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,672 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Reading Co-operative Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Reading Co-operative Bank?

HeadquartersReading, MA
Founded1886
Scale$1.2B assets · $1.0B deposits, $825M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 26620

Financial detail is in What Reading Co-operative Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Reading Co-operative Bank

Is Reading Co-operative Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Reading Co-operative Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 26620, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Reading Co-operative Bank?

Reading Co-operative Bank requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its Green Online Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Reading Co-operative Bank have branches?

Yes. Reading Co-operative Bank operates 13 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Reading Co-operative Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Reading Co-operative Bank3.00%1.89%$1013 branches in MA
Ally Bank3.00%3.03%$01 branch in UT
American Express3.00%3.21%$01 branch in UT
BMO Alto3.00%1.61%$0not stated

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Reading Co-operative Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates