Skip to main content

First Bankers Trust Company, National Association savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 16501Assets $1.2B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 2, 2026

First Bankers Trust Company, National Association advertises 0.01% APY on its Savings Account. The 0.01% needs a balance of at least $100. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

That is 0.37 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #400 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #381. The advertised rate has not changed in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What First Bankers Trust Company, National Association actually pays

Key facts

First Bankers Trust Company, National Association at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.01% · Savings Account · needs at least $100
Minimum to open$50 · Savings Account
Against the national average0.37 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.45% · 4 months · 4 Month Special CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 4 months CD
Against the national average2.31 percentage points above the 1.14% FDIC 3-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.00% · Personal Money Market Account · needs at least $50,000
Minimum to open$50 · Personal Money Market Account
Against the national average0.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
First Bankers Trust Company, National Association bank facts
FDIC certificate16501 · Quincy, IL
Websitewww.firstbankers.com
Branches9 branches in IL
AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Rates

First Bankers Trust Company, National Association savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to1.00% APY
Personal Money Market Account
Needs at least $50,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.20% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.01% APY
Savings Account
Needs at least $100
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $99.99
0.01% APY on balances $100+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
3.45% APY
Highest CD · 4 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

IRA

1.81% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

Business

Up to2.02% APY
Smart Business Money Market Account
Needs at least $2,500,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
1.21% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.41% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
1.61% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
1.81% APY on balances $1,000,000 - $2,499,999.99
2.02% APY on balances $2,500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First Bankers Trust Company, National Association CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months0.70%$1,00091 Day CD
4 months3.45%$1,0004 Month Special CD
6 months0.90%$1,000182 Day CD
7 months3.45%$1,0007 Month Special CD
11 months3.40%$1,00011 Month Special CD
12 months1.00%$1,00012 Month CD
17 months3.35%$1,00017 Month Special CD
18 months1.20%$1,00018 Month CD
24 months1.30%$1,00024 Month CD
36 months1.40%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months1.61%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months1.81%$1,00060 Month CD
IRA CDs
3 months0.70%$1,00091 Day IRA CD
6 months0.90%$1,000182 Day IRA CD
12 months1.00%$1,00012 Month IRA CD
18 months1.20%$1,00018 Month IRA CD
24 months1.30%$1,00024 Month IRA CD
36 months1.40%$1,00036 Month IRA CD
48 months1.61%$1,00048 Month IRA CD
60 months1.81%$1,00060 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First Bankers Trust Company, National Association

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.10% to 2.02% APY across 8 balance tiers.
0.10% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
1.21% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.41% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
1.61% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
1.81% APY on balances $1,000,000 - $2,499,999.99
2.02% APY on balances $2,500,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$37.30(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,037.30

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First Bankers Trust Company, National Association pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.88%
Q1 2026 ·
0.01% APY
As observed Sep 2, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.01% needs a balance of at least $100. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

In Q1 2026, First Bankers Trust Company, National Association paid a higher average rate than 27% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$1.0B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
13.6%
Q1 2026
$1.2B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • First Bankers Trust Company, National Association, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Savings Account0.01%$50$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Personal Money Market Account1.00%$50$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Business
Smart Business Money Market Account2.02%$50$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months0.70%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Month Special CD4 months3.45%$1,000not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months0.90%$1,000not statednot stated
7 Month Special CD7 months3.45%$1,000not statednot stated
11 Month Special CD11 months3.40%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months1.00%$1,000not statednot stated
17 Month Special CD17 months3.35%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months1.20%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months1.30%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months1.40%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months1.61%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months1.81%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
91 Day IRA CD3 months0.70%$1,000not statednot stated
182 Day IRA CD6 months0.90%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month IRA CD12 months1.00%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month IRA CD18 months1.20%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month IRA CD24 months1.30%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month IRA CD36 months1.40%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month IRA CD48 months1.61%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month IRA CD60 months1.81%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Footprint9 branches in IL
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First Bankers Trust Company, National Association behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Savings Account rate in the last 12 months was 0.01% (observed through Sep 2, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

First Bankers Trust Company, National Association has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Savings Account
The same as 7 days ago.
4 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Personal Money Market Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 12, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.01% APY First Bankers Trust Company, National Association advertises on Savings Account grows to $10,001 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,676 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

First Bankers Trust Company, National Association CD rates over time

Identity

Who is First Bankers Trust Company, National Association?

HeadquartersQuincy, IL
Founded1946
Scale$1.2B assets · $1.0B deposits, $897M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 16501

Financial detail is in What First Bankers Trust Company, National Association pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First Bankers Trust Company, National Association

Is First Bankers Trust Company, National Association FDIC insured?

Yes. First Bankers Trust Company, National Association is FDIC insured under certificate 16501, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First Bankers Trust Company, National Association?

First Bankers Trust Company, National Association requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Savings Account, as observed on Sep 2, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.01% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.01% needs a balance of at least $100. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%. Rates are as observed on Sep 2, 2026.

Does First Bankers Trust Company, National Association have branches?

Yes. First Bankers Trust Company, National Association operates 9 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First Bankers Trust Company, National Association against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
First Bankers Trust Company, National Association2.02%1.88%$509 branches in IL
Laona State Bank2.02%2.05%$1,0007 branches in WI
1st Bank of Sea Isle City2.01%1.62%$5,0003 branches in NJ
Bank Michigan3.75%2.02%$25,0003 branches in MI

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First Bankers Trust Company, National Association's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates