Skip to main content

Kennebec Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 17897Assets $1.9B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

Kennebec Savings Bank advertises up to 0.45% APY on its Premier Savings account. The 0.45% needs a balance of at least $500,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.10% overall, about $10 in a year, which is 0.27 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #780 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1295.

Estimate your earnings·What Kennebec Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

Kennebec Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.45% · Premier Savings · needs at least $500,000
Minimum to open$100 · Premier Savings
Against the national average0.08 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.25% · 18 months · 18 Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 18 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.55% · Premier Money Market · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$100 · Premier Money Market
Against the national average1.92 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Kennebec Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate17897 · Augusta, ME
Websitewww.kennebecsavings.bank
Branches8 branches in ME
AvailabilityAvailable in ME
Rates

Kennebec Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to2.55% APY
Premier Money Market
Needs at least $1,000,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $20,000
0.50% APY on balances $20,000 - $100,000
0.75% APY on balances $100,000 - $250,000
1.10% APY on balances $250,000 - $500,000
1.40% APY on balances $500,000 - $1,000,000
2.55% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to1.50% APY
HSA Savings
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $20,000
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $2,500
0.10% APY on balances $2,500 - $20,000
1.50% APY on balances $20,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.45% APY
Premier Savings
Needs at least $500,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $2,500
0.10% APY on balances $2,500 - $20,000
0.15% APY on balances $20,000 - $100,000
0.25% APY on balances $100,000 - $250,000
0.35% APY on balances $250,000 - $500,000
0.45% APY on balances $500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.25% APY
12 Month Club Savings
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.20% APY
6 Month Club Savings
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.20% APY
Kids Savings
Youth Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.20% APY
Statement Savings
Needs at least $20,000
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $2,500
0.10% APY on balances $2,500 - $20,000
0.20% APY on balances $20,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.25% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

Up to0.35% APY
Premier IRA Savings
Needs at least $250,000
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $2,500
0.15% APY on balances $2,500 - $50,000
0.20% APY on balances $50,000 - $100,000
0.25% APY on balances $100,000 - $250,000
0.35% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Kennebec Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months3.00%$5006 Month CD
12 months3.05%$5001 Year CD
18 months3.25%$50018 Month CD
24 months3.25%$5002 Year CD
36 months3.00%$5003 Year CD
48 months2.75%$5004 Year CD
60 months1.01%$5005 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Kennebec Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.05% ($0 - $2,500), 0.10% ($2,500 - $20,000), 1.50% ($20,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$36.80(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,036.80

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Kennebec Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.84%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to0.45% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.45% needs a balance of at least $500,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

In Q2 2026, Kennebec Savings Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 65% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.15%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.4B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
9.9%
Q2 2026
$1.9B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Kennebec Savings Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
HSA Savings1.50%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Premier Savings0.45%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
12 Month Club Savings0.25%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
6 Month Club Savings0.20%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Kids Savings0.20%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Statement Savings0.20%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Premier Money Market2.55%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
Premier IRA Savings0.35%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
6 Month CD6 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months3.05%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months2.75%$500not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months1.01%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in ME
Footprint8 branches in ME
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Kennebec Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Premier Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.45% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Premier Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
18 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Premier Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 31, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.45% APY Kennebec Savings Bank advertises on Premier Savings grows to $10,045 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,715 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Kennebec Savings Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Kennebec Savings Bank?

HeadquartersAugusta, ME
Founded1870
Scale$1.9B assets · $1.4B deposits, $1.3B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 17897

Financial detail is in What Kennebec Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Kennebec Savings Bank

Is Kennebec Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Kennebec Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 17897, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Kennebec Savings Bank?

Kennebec Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Premier Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.45% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.45% needs a balance of at least $500,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Does Kennebec Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. Kennebec Savings Bank operates 8 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Kennebec Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Kennebec Savings Bank2.55%1.84%$1008 branches in ME
American Bank1.50%3.86%$11 branch in PA
Citizens Bank1.50%1.32%$1,00011 branches in WI
Dundee Bank3.50%3.29%$50,0004 branches in NE

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Kennebec Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates