Skip to main content

Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution savings and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 17743Assets $1.5B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 22, 2026

Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution advertises up to 3.30% APY on its High Balance Savings account. The 3.30% needs a balance of at least $5,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.10% overall, about $10 in a year, which is 0.27 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #165 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1361.

Estimate your earnings·What Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution actually pays

Key facts

Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 3.30% · High Balance Savings · needs at least $5,000,000
Minimum to opennot stated · High Balance Savings
Against the national average2.93 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.10% · Essential Money Market · needs at least $750,000
Minimum to opennot stated · Essential Money Market
Against the national average1.47 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution bank facts
FDIC certificate17743 · Saco, ME
Websitewww.sbsavings.bank
Branches7 branches in ME
AvailabilityAvailable in ME
Rates

Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution savings and money market rates

Up to3.30% APY
High Balance Savings
Needs at least $5,000,000

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $999,999.99
2.45% APY on balances $1,000,000 - $1,499,999.99
2.99% APY on balances $1,500,000 - $2,999,999.99
3.20% APY on balances $3,000,000 - $4,999,999.99
3.30% APY on balances $5,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
3.00% APY
Mutual High Yield Savings
On balances up to $99,999.99 · 0.10% above

How the rate applies

3.00% APY on balances $0 - $99,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
Up to2.10% APY
Essential Money Market
Needs at least $750,000

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.45% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.90% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.21% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
1.85% APY on balances $500,000 - $749,999.99
2.10% APY on balances $750,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
Up to1.20% APY
Kids' Savings
Youth Savings
On balances up to $5,000.99 · 0.32% above

How the rate applies

1.20% APY on balances $0 - $5,000.99
0.32% APY on balances $5,001+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.10% to 3.30% APY across 5 balance tiers.
0.10% APY on balances $0 - $999,999.99
2.45% APY on balances $1,000,000 - $1,499,999.99
2.99% APY on balances $1,500,000 - $2,999,999.99
3.20% APY on balances $3,000,000 - $4,999,999.99
3.30% APY on balances $5,000,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$37.30(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,037.30

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.46%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to3.30% APY
As observed Sep 22, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 3.30% needs a balance of at least $5,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

In Q2 2026, Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 51% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.94%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.0B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
18.1%
Q2 2026
$1.5B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
High Balance Savings3.30%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Mutual High Yield Savings3.00%not stated$0$99,999.99not statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedTiered
Kids' Savings1.20%not stated$0$5,000.99not statednot statedTiered
Essential Money Market2.10%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in ME
Footprint7 branches in ME
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised High Balance Savings rate in the last 12 months was 3.30% (observed through Sep 22, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

High Balance Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
Essential Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 4, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 3.30% APY Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution advertises on High Balance Savings grows to $10,330 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,990 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Identity

Who is Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution?

HeadquartersSaco, ME
Founded1827
Scale$1.5B assets · $1.0B deposits, $823M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 17743

Financial detail is in What Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution

Does the 3.30% apply to my whole balance?

The 3.30% needs a balance of at least $5,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%. Rates are as observed on Sep 22, 2026.

Is Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution FDIC insured?

Yes. Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution is FDIC insured under certificate 17743, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

Does Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution have branches?

Yes. Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution operates 7 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution3.30%1.46%not stated7 branches in ME
Financial Federal Bank3.30%3.32%$5,0001 branch in TN
One American Bank3.30%2.73%$1003 branches in SD
Synchrony Bank3.30%3.35%$02 branches in FL, UT

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates