Skip to main content

Peoples National Bank , N.A. savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 3809Assets $2.1B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

Peoples National Bank , N.A. advertises 0.42% APY on its Statement Savings account. That is 0.05 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #937 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #774. The advertised rate has not changed in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Estimate your earnings·What Peoples National Bank , N.A. actually pays

Key facts

Peoples National Bank , N.A. at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.42% · Statement Savings
Minimum to open$50 · Statement Savings
Against the national average0.05 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.45% · 12 months · 12 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$500 · 12 months CD
Against the national average1.72 percentage points above the 1.73% FDIC 12-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.50% · Preferred Money Market · needs at least $25,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · Preferred Money Market
Against the national average0.13 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Peoples National Bank , N.A. bank facts
FDIC certificate3809 · Mount Vernon, IL
Websitewww.peoplesnationalbank.com
Branches25 branches in IL, MO
AvailabilityAvailable in IL, MO
Rates

Peoples National Bank , N.A. savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.50% APY
Preferred Money Market
Needs at least $25,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.48% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999.99
0.49% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.43% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $10,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.38% APY on balances $0 - $999.99
0.41% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999.99
0.43% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.42% APY
Statement Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.42% APY
Youth Savings
Youth Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.42% APY
Christmas Saver
Club Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
3.45% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

IRA

3.50% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Peoples National Bank , N.A. CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
1-2 months1.43%$5001-2 Month CD
3-5 months1.45%$5003-5 Month CD
6-11 months1.52%$5006-11 Month CD
6 months2.95%$5006 Month CD Special
10 months1.52%$50010 Month 3 in 1 CD
12-17 months1.52%$50012-17 Month CD
12 months3.45%$50012 Month CD Special
12 months1.44%$500Health Savings Account CD - 12 Month
18-23 months1.54%$50018-23 Month CD
24-35 months1.68%$50024-35 Month CD
36-47 months1.84%$50036-47 Month CD
36 months1.52%$50036 Month Trade-Up CD
48-59 months2.05%$50048-59 Month CD
48 months1.62%$50048 Month Trade-Up CD
60 months2.24%$50060+ Month CD
60 months1.72%$50060 Month Trade-Up CD
IRA CDs
12 months1.43%$10012 Month IRA
12 months3.50%$10012 Month IRA Special
18 months1.48%$10018 Month IRA
18 months1.52%$10018 Month Variable IRA
24 months1.55%$10024 Month IRA
48 months1.76%$10048 Month IRA
60 months1.96%$10060 Month IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Peoples National Bank , N.A.

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.38% ($0 - $999.99), 0.41% ($1,000 - $9,999.99), 0.43% ($10,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$157.20(1.1%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,157.20

Effective APY
0.42%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Peoples National Bank , N.A. pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.87%
Q2 2026 ·
0.42% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Peoples National Bank , N.A. paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 28% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.52%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.8B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
19.4%
Q2 2026
$2.1B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Peoples National Bank , N.A., savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Health Savings Account0.43%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Statement Savings0.42%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Youth Savings0.42%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Christmas Saver0.42%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Preferred Money Market0.50%$1,000$1,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
1-2 Month CD1-2 months1.43%$500not statednot stated
3-5 Month CD3-5 months1.45%$500not statednot stated
6-11 Month CD6-11 months1.52%$500not statednot stated
6 Month CD Special6 months2.95%$500not statednot stated
10 Month 3 in 1 CD10 months1.52%$500not statednot stated
12-17 Month CD12-17 months1.52%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD Special12 months3.45%$500not statednot stated
Health Savings Account CD - 12 Month12 months1.44%$500not statednot stated
18-23 Month CD18-23 months1.54%$500not statednot stated
24-35 Month CD24-35 months1.68%$500not statednot stated
36-47 Month CD36-47 months1.84%$500not statednot stated
36 Month Trade-Up CD36 months1.52%$500not statednot stated
48-59 Month CD48-59 months2.05%$500not statednot stated
48 Month Trade-Up CD48 months1.62%$500not statednot stated
60+ Month CD60 months2.24%$500not statednot stated
60 Month Trade-Up CD60 months1.72%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Month IRA12 months1.43%$100not statednot stated
12 Month IRA Special12 months3.50%$100not statednot stated
18 Month IRA18 months1.48%$100not statednot stated
18 Month Variable IRA18 months1.52%$100not statednot stated
24 Month IRA24 months1.55%$100not statednot stated
48 Month IRA48 months1.76%$100not statednot stated
60 Month IRA60 months1.96%$100not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IL, MO
Footprint25 branches in IL, MO
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Peoples National Bank , N.A. behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.42% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Peoples National Bank , N.A. has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Statement Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
12 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Preferred Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 0.42% APY Peoples National Bank , N.A. advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,042 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,712 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Peoples National Bank , N.A. CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Peoples National Bank , N.A.?

HeadquartersMount Vernon, IL
Founded1909
Scale$2.1B assets · $1.8B deposits, $1.5B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 3809
Charter stateIllinois · one of 325 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size554th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 74% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Peoples National Bank , N.A. pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Peoples National Bank , N.A.

Is Peoples National Bank , N.A. FDIC insured?

Yes. Peoples National Bank , N.A. is FDIC insured under certificate 3809, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Peoples National Bank , N.A.?

Peoples National Bank , N.A. requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Peoples National Bank , N.A. have branches?

Yes. Peoples National Bank , N.A. operates 25 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Peoples National Bank , N.A. against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Peoples National Bank , N.A.0.42%0.87%$5025 branches in IL, MO
Calvin B. Taylor Banking Company of Berlin, Maryland0.40%1.50%$2512 branches in DE, MD, VA
Classic Bank, National Association0.40%1.75%$507 branches in TX
Clay County State Bank0.40%0.49%$1001 branch in IL

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Peoples National Bank , N.A.'s.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Illinois, nearest to Peoples National Bank , N.A. in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in Illinois.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates