Skip to main content

Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 8322Assets $286M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 27, 2026

Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company advertises 0.40% APY on its Regular Savings account. That is 0.03 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1088 of 2523 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #911.

Estimate your earnings·What Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company actually pays

Key facts

Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.40% · Regular Savings
Minimum to open$200 · Regular Savings
Against the national average0.03 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.65% · 5 months · 5 Month Special CD
Minimum to open$500 · 5 months CD
Against the national average2.24 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY0.35% · Money Market
Minimum to open$1,000 · Money Market
Against the national average0.28 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company bank facts
FDIC certificate8322 · Broken Bow, NE
Websitewww.nesb.bank
Branches4 branches in NE
AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Rates

Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

1.00% APY
Christmas Club
Club Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 27, 2026
0.75% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $5,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.45% APY on balances $0 - $999.99
0.55% APY on balances $1,000 - $4,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $5,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 27, 2026
0.40% APY
Regular Savings
$200 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 27, 2026
0.35% APY
Money Market
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 27, 2026
3.65% APY
Highest CD · 5 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 27, 2026

IRA

1.90% APY
IRA Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 27, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 59 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.66%, and one account in ten advertises 4.02% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months3.50%$5003 Month CD
5 months3.65%$5005 Month Special CD
6 months3.40%$5006 Month CD
12 months3.30%$5001 Year CD
18 months3.00%$50018 Month CD
24 months2.75%$5002 Year CD
36 months2.65%$5003 Year CD
48 months2.55%$5004 Year CD
60 months2.45%$5005 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$377.30(2.6%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,377.30

Effective APY
1.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.60%
Q2 2026 ·
0.40% APY
As observed Sep 27, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 17% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.76%
Q2 2026 ·
$234M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
15.3%
Q2 2026
$286M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Christmas Club1.00%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history
Health Savings Account0.75%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedTierednot enough history
Regular Savings0.40%$200$0None$3 if balance falls below $200 any day of the cyclenot statedOne ratenot enough history
Money Market0.35%$1,000$0None$5 if balance falls below $1,000 any day of the cyclenot statedOne ratenot enough history
IRA
IRA Savings1.90%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3 Month CD3 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
5 Month Special CD5 months3.65%$500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.40%$500not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months3.30%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months2.75%$500not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months2.65%$500not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months2.55%$500not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months2.45%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Footprint4 branches in NE
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company behaves over time

$10,000 at the 0.40% APY Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company advertises on Regular Savings grows to $10,040 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,710 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company?

HeadquartersBroken Bow, NE
Founded1917
Scale$286M assets · $234M deposits, $198M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 8322
Charter stateNebraska · one of 139 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size2,579th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 43% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company

Is Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company FDIC insured?

Yes. Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company is FDIC insured under certificate 8322, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company?

Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company requires a minimum deposit of $200 to open its Regular Savings account, as observed on Sep 27, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company have branches?

Yes. Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company0.40%0.60%$2004 branches in NE
Bangor Savings Bank0.40%1.23%$5,00073 branches in ME, NH
Bank of Yates City0.40%0.45%$102 branches in IL
Calvin B. Taylor Banking Company of Berlin, Maryland0.40%1.50%$2512 branches in DE, MD, VA

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Nebraska, nearest to Nebraska State Bank and Trust Company in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in Nebraska.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates