Skip to main content

Freedom Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 35221Assets $586M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 14, 2026

Freedom Bank advertises 0.50% APY on its Savings account. That is 0.12 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #449 of 1174 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #359.

Estimate your earnings·What Freedom Bank actually pays

Key facts

Freedom Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.50% · Savings
Minimum to open$10 · Savings
Against the national average0.12 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.55% · 3-6 months · 92-180 Day CD
Minimum to open$500 · 3-6 months CD
Against the national average2.41 percentage points above the 1.14% FDIC 3-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 3.40% · Money Market Checking · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market Checking
Against the national average2.77 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Freedom Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate35221 · Huntingburg, IN
Websitewww.thatsfreedom.bank
Branches4 branches in IN
AvailabilityAvailable in IN
Rates

Freedom Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to3.40% APY
Money Market Checking
Needs at least $1,000,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

1.87% APY on balances $0 - $249,999.99
2.38% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
2.99% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
3.40% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026
0.50% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026
0.50% APY
Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026
3.55% APY
Highest CD · 3-6 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026

IRA

0.85% APY
IRA Money Market
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Freedom Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
not stated1.66%$5007-91 Day CD
3-6 months3.55%$50092-180 Day CD
6-12 months3.55%$500181-364 Day CD
12 months3.55%$5001 Year CD
24 months3.44%$5002 Year CD
36 months3.34%$5003 Year CD
48 months3.34%$5004 Year CD
60 months3.34%$5005 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Freedom Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Every balance tier pays the same 0.50% APY.

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$187.40(1.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,187.40

Effective APY
0.50%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Freedom Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.07%
Q2 2026 ·
0.50% APY
As observed Sep 14, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Freedom Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 73% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.61%
Q2 2026 ·
$506M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
22.0%
Q2 2026
$586M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Freedom Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

How these figures are computed

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Health Savings Account0.50%$1$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Savings0.50%$10$0NoneNo monthly fees. The savings comparison table answers "No Monthly Fees" with "Yes" for this account.NoneOne rate
Money Market Checking3.40%$2,500$0NoneThe savings comparison table answers "No Monthly Fees" with "No" for this account. The bank does not publish the amount online.NoneTiered
IRA
IRA Money Market0.85%$1$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
7-91 Day CDnot stated1.66%$500not statednot stated
92-180 Day CD3-6 months3.55%$500not statednot stated
181-364 Day CD6-12 months3.55%$500not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months3.55%$500not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months3.44%$500not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months3.34%$500not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months3.34%$500not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months3.34%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IN
Footprint4 branches in IN
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Freedom Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.50% (observed through Sep 14, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
3-6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Checking
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 25, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.50% APY Freedom Bank advertises on Savings grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,723 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Freedom Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Freedom Bank?

HeadquartersHuntingburg, IN
Founded1999
Scale$586M assets · $506M deposits, $395M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 35221

Financial detail is in What Freedom Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Freedom Bank

Is Freedom Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Freedom Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 35221, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Freedom Bank?

Freedom Bank requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its Savings account, as observed on Sep 14, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Freedom Bank have branches?

Yes. Freedom Bank operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Freedom Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Freedom Bank3.40%2.07%$2,5004 branches in IN
American Bank and Trust Company, National Association2.84%2.05%not stated8 branches in IA, IL
American Heritage Bank2.15%0.59%$5,00024 branches in OK
Arundel Federal Savings Bank0.80%0.23%$1,0005 branches in MD

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Freedom Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. How these figures are computed. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates