Skip to main content

First Federal Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 29056Assets $579M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

First Federal Savings Bank advertises up to 0.50% APY on its Next Generation Savings account. The 0.50% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.30% overall, about $30 in a year, which is 0.08 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #391 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #381.

Estimate your earnings·What First Federal Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

First Federal Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.50% · Next Generation Savings · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$100 · Next Generation Savings
Against the national average0.12 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.75% · 8 months · 8 Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 8 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 3.25% · High Yield Money Market · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$0 · High Yield Money Market
Against the national average2.62 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
First Federal Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate29056 · Evansville, IN
Websitewww.firstfedsavings.bank
Branches10 branches in IN, KY
AvailabilityAvailable in IN, KY
Rates

First Federal Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Up to3.25% APY
High Yield Money Market
Needs at least $1,000,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $24,999
2.00% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999
2.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999
2.50% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999
2.75% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999
3.00% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999
3.25% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to1.50% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $75,001
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $10,000
0.50% APY on balances $10,001 - $25,000
1.00% APY on balances $25,001 - $50,000
1.25% APY on balances $50,001 - $75,000
1.50% APY on balances $75,001+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.55% APY
First Choice Money Market
Needs at least $150,000
$10,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $9,999
0.25% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999
0.30% APY on balances $25,000 - $74,999
0.50% APY on balances $75,000 - $149,999
0.55% APY on balances $150,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.50% APY
Next Generation Savings
Needs at least $250,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $99
0.10% APY on balances $100 - $2,499
0.20% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999
0.30% APY on balances $10,000 - $99,999
0.40% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999
0.50% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.25% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $10,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $999
0.15% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999
0.25% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.10% APY
Christmas Club
Club Savings
$20 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 8 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First Federal Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months3.35%$2,50091 Day CD
6 months3.63%$2,500182 Day CD
8 months3.75%$5008 Month CD
12 months3.73%$5001 Year CD
15 months3.61%$50015 Month CD
18 months3.51%$50018 Month CD
24 months3.38%$5002 Year CD
36 months3.35%$5003 Year CD
48 months3.31%$5004 Year CD
60 months3.29%$5005 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First Federal Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.25% to 1.50% APY across 5 balance tiers.
0.25% APY on balances $0 - $10,000
0.50% APY on balances $10,001 - $25,000
1.00% APY on balances $25,001 - $50,000
1.25% APY on balances $50,001 - $75,000
1.50% APY on balances $75,001+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$139.60(1.0%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,139.60

Effective APY
0.37%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First Federal Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.45%
Q1 2026 ·
Up to0.50% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.50% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

In Q1 2026, First Federal Savings Bank paid a higher average rate than 61% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$458M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
7.8%
Q1 2026
$579M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • First Federal Savings Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Health Savings Account1.50%$50$0None$2 monthly service charge if the balance falls below $2,500.not statedTiered
Next Generation Savings0.50%$100$0NoneA $5 monthly fee applies if the daily balance falls below $100.not statedTiered
Christmas Club0.10%$20$0NoneNo monthly service chargenot statedOne rate
High Yield Money Market3.25%$0$0None$10 monthly service fee (waived when you open a FFSB checking accountnot statedTiered
First Choice Money Market0.55%$10,000$0None$10 monthly service charge if balance falls below $10,000not statedTiered
Money Market0.25%$1,000$0None$6 monthly service charge if balance falls below $1,000not statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
91 Day CD3 months3.35%$2,500not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months3.63%$2,500not statednot stated
8 Month CD8 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months3.73%$500not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months3.61%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.51%$500not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months3.38%$500not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months3.35%$500not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months3.31%$500not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months3.29%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IN, KY
Footprint10 branches in IN, KY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First Federal Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Next Generation Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.50% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Next Generation Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
8 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
High Yield Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 17, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.50% APY First Federal Savings Bank advertises on Next Generation Savings grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,723 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

First Federal Savings Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is First Federal Savings Bank?

HeadquartersEvansville, IN
Founded1934
Scale$579M assets · $458M deposits, $422M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 29056

Financial detail is in What First Federal Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First Federal Savings Bank

Is First Federal Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. First Federal Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 29056, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First Federal Savings Bank?

First Federal Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Next Generation Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.50% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.50% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%. Rates are as observed on Sep 9, 2026.

Does First Federal Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. First Federal Savings Bank operates 10 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First Federal Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
First Federal Savings Bank3.25%2.45%$010 branches in IN, KY
American Bank1.50%2.98%$11 branch in PA
Citizens Bank1.50%2.15%$10011 branches in WI
Dundee Bank3.50%3.48%$50,0004 branches in NE

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First Federal Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates