Skip to main content

Dacotah Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 17437Assets $4.9B (Q2 2026)Rate change observed Sep 23, 2026Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

Dacotah Bank advertises 0.50% APY on its Young Dacotah Money Market account. That is 0.13 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #817 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #644.

Estimate your earnings·What Dacotah Bank actually pays

Key facts

Dacotah Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.50% · Young Dacotah Money Market
Minimum to open$0 · Young Dacotah Money Market
Against the national average0.13 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.90% · 13 months · 13 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$5,000 · 13 months CD
Against the national average2.17 percentage points above the 1.73% FDIC 12-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY2.38% · Money Manager Account · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$50,000 · Money Manager Account
Against the national average1.75 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Dacotah Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate17437 · Aberdeen, SD
Websitewww.dacotahbank.com
Branches32 branches in MN, ND, SD
AvailabilityAvailable in MN, ND, SD
Rates

Dacotah Bank savings, CD and money market rates

2.38% APY
Money Manager Account
Needs at least $1,000,000
$50,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.90% APY on balances $0 - $249,999.99
1.21% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
1.61% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
2.38% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.75% APY
Gold Money Market
$10,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.50% APY
Young Dacotah Money Market
Youth Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
Up to0.40% APY
Money Market Account
Needs at least $25,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $999.99
0.20% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
Up to0.15% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $50,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0.01 - $24,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
3.90% APY
Highest CD · 13 months
$5,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Dacotah Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months0.70%not stated3 Month CD
6 months0.90%not stated6 Month CD
8 months3.75%$5,0008 Month CD Special
12 months1.70%not stated12 Month CD
13 months3.90%$5,00013 Month CD Special
24 months1.75%not stated24 Month CD
36 months1.75%not stated36 Month CD
48 months1.75%not stated48 Month CD
60 months1.75%not stated60 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Dacotah Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$187.40(1.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,187.40

Effective APY
0.50%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Dacotah Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.15%
Q2 2026 ·
0.50% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Dacotah Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 75% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.35%
Q2 2026 ·
$4.3B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
18.9%
Q2 2026
$4.9B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Dacotah Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Young Dacotah Money Market0.50%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Health Savings Account0.15%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Manager Account2.38%$50,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Gold Money Market0.75%$10,000$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market Account0.40%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3 Month CD3 months0.70%not statednot statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months0.90%not statednot statednot stated
8 Month CD Special8 months3.75%$5,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months1.70%not statednot statednot stated
13 Month CD Special13 months3.90%$5,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months1.75%not statednot statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months1.75%not statednot statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months1.75%not statednot statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months1.75%not statednot statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MN, ND, SD
Footprint32 branches in MN, ND, SD
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Dacotah Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Young Dacotah Money Market rate in the last 12 months was 0.50% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Banksparency observed no cuts to Dacotah Bank's advertised savings rate in the last 12 months, a period with 2 Federal Reserve cuts.

Recent rate changes, as observed

  • Obs. Sep 23, 202613 Month CD SpecialRaise:3.25%to3.90%
  • Obs. Sep 23, 20268 Month CD SpecialRaise:3.60%to3.75%

$10,000 at the 0.50% APY Dacotah Bank advertises on Young Dacotah Money Market grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,720 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Dacotah Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Dacotah Bank?

HeadquartersAberdeen, SD
Founded1955
Scale$4.9B assets · $4.3B deposits, $3.5B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 17437
Charter stateSouth Dakota · one of 56 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size272nd-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 62% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Dacotah Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Dacotah Bank

Is Dacotah Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Dacotah Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 17437, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Dacotah Bank?

Dacotah Bank requires no minimum deposit to open its Young Dacotah Money Market account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Dacotah Bank have branches?

Yes. Dacotah Bank operates 32 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Dacotah Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Dacotah Bank0.50%2.15%$032 branches in MN, ND, SD
AbbyBank0.50%1.34%$09 branches in WI
Adams State Bank0.50%not stated$251 branch in NE
American Heritage Bank0.50%0.59%$10024 branches in OK

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Dacotah Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in South Dakota, nearest to Dacotah Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates