Skip to main content

Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 11680Assets $165M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois advertises 0.25% APY on its Classic Savings account. That is 0.13 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #368 of 679 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #306.

Estimate your earnings·What Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois actually pays

Key facts

Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.25% · Classic Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Classic Savings
Against the national average0.13 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.03% · 12 months · 12 Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 12 months CD
Against the national average1.32 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.16% · Money Market · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · Money Market
Against the national average0.53 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois bank facts
FDIC certificate11680 · Alpha, IL
Websitewww.fsbwil.com
Branches6 branches in IL
AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Rates

Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to1.16% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.16% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.30% APY
Christmas Club w/ Auto Payments
Club Savings
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.25% APY
Christmas Club
Club Savings
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.25% APY
Classic Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.25% APY
Combo Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.25% APY
Penny Savers
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.03% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

0.25% APY
IRA Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.03% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 59 savings accounts from 57 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months0.40%$5003 Month CD
6 months0.55%$5006 Month CD
12 months3.03%$50012 Month CD
24 months0.85%$50024 Month CD
36 months1.00%$50036 Month CD
48 months1.15%$50048 Month CD
60 months1.26%$50060 Month CD
IRA CDs
12 months3.03%$50012 Month IRA CD
24 months0.85%$50024 Month IRA CD
36 months1.00%$50036 Month IRA CD
48 months1.15%$50048 Month IRA CD
60 months1.26%$50060 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$112.20(0.8%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,112.20

Effective APY
0.30%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.33%
Q1 2026 ·
0.25% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois paid a higher average rate than 8% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$141M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
25.3%
Q1 2026
$165M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Christmas Club w/ Auto Payments0.30%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Christmas Club0.25%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Classic Savings0.25%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Combo Savings0.25%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Penny Savers0.25%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market1.16%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Savings0.25%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month CD3 months0.40%$500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months0.55%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.03%$500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months0.85%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months1.00%$500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months1.15%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months1.26%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Month IRA CD12 months3.03%$500not statednot stated
24 Month IRA CD24 months0.85%$500not statednot stated
36 Month IRA CD36 months1.00%$500not statednot stated
48 Month IRA CD48 months1.15%$500not statednot stated
60 Month IRA CD60 months1.26%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Footprint6 branches in IL
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Classic Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.25% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Classic Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
12 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 29, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.25% APY Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois advertises on Classic Savings grows to $10,025 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,699 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois?

HeadquartersAlpha, IL
Founded1910
Scale$165M assets · $141M deposits, $105M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 11680

Financial detail is in What Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois

Is Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois FDIC insured?

Yes. Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois is FDIC insured under certificate 11680, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois?

Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Classic Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois have branches?

Yes. Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois operates 6 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois1.16%1.33%$1,0006 branches in IL
Ambler Savings Bank1.25%2.31%$507 branches in PA
Compass Savings Bank0.30%3.18%$251 branch in PA
Farmers and Merchants Bank0.50%2.27%not stated12 branches in NE

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates