Skip to main content

Central State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 8487Assets $175M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

Central State Bank advertises 0.25% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.12 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1207 of 2413 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1034.

Estimate your earnings·What Central State Bank actually pays

Key facts

Central State Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.25% · Passbook Savings
Minimum to open$50 · Passbook Savings
Against the national average0.12 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY2.52% · 60 months · 60 Months CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 60 months CD
Against the national average1.14 percentage points above the 1.38% FDIC 60-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.45% · Money Market Accounts · needs at least $50,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market Accounts
Against the national average0.18 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Central State Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate8487 · Clayton, IL
Websitewww.csb123.com
Branches4 branches in IL
AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Rates

Central State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.45% APY
Money Market Accounts
Needs at least $50,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999
0.35% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999
0.45% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.25% APY
Passbook Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
2.52% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

IRA

2.52% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 59 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.02% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Central State Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months1.21%$1,00091 Days CD
6 months1.31%$1,000182 Days CD
12 months1.41%$1,00012 Months CD
18 months1.41%$1,00018 Months CD
24 months1.76%$1,00024 Months CD
30 months2.02%$1,00030 Months CD
36 months2.02%$1,00036 Months CD
48 months2.27%$1,00048 Months CD
60 months2.52%$1,00060 Months CD
IRA CDs
12 months1.41%$1,00012 Months IRA CD
18 months1.41%$1,00018 Months IRA CD
24 months1.76%$1,00024 Months IRA CD
30 months2.02%$1,00030 Months IRA CD
36 months2.02%$1,00036 Months IRA CD
48 months2.27%$1,00048 Months IRA CD
60 months2.52%$1,00060 Months IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Central State Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

Passbook Savings0.25% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$93.40(0.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,093.40

Effective APY
0.25%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Central State Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.33%
Q2 2026 ·
0.25% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Central State Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 9% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.57%
Q2 2026 ·
$143M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
16.5%
Q2 2026
$175M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Central State Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Passbook Savings0.25%$50$0None$1.25 per quarter when the average daily balance falls below $50.00not statedOne rate
Money Market Accounts0.45%$2,500$2,500None$5.00 monthly; no fee with a $2,500.00 average daily balancenot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Days CD3 months1.21%$1,000not statednot stated
182 Days CD6 months1.31%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Months CD12 months1.41%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Months CD18 months1.41%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Months CD24 months1.76%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Months CD30 months2.02%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Months CD36 months2.02%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Months CD48 months2.27%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Months CD60 months2.52%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Months IRA CD12 months1.41%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Months IRA CD18 months1.41%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Months IRA CD24 months1.76%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Months IRA CD30 months2.02%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Months IRA CD36 months2.02%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Months IRA CD48 months2.27%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Months IRA CD60 months2.52%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Footprint4 branches in IL
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Central State Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.25% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

$10,000 at the 0.25% APY Central State Bank advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,025 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,695 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Central State Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Central State Bank?

HeadquartersClayton, IL
Founded1928
Scale$175M assets · $143M deposits, $120M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 8487
Charter stateIllinois · one of 325 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size3,168th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 8% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Central State Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Central State Bank

Is Central State Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Central State Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 8487, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Central State Bank?

Central State Bank requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Central State Bank have branches?

Yes. Central State Bank operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Central State Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Central State Bank0.25%0.33%$504 branches in IL
Adrian Bank0.25%1.02%$1003 branches in MO
Alliance Community Bank0.25%0.56%$1006 branches in IL
Anderson Brothers Bank0.25%2.57%$5027 branches in SC

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Central State Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Illinois, nearest to Central State Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in Illinois.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates