Citizens Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates
Citizens Savings Bank advertises 0.20% APY on its Free Kasasa Saver account. The 0.20% applies to balances up to $50,000. The bank states no rate for the balance above that.
A checking account at the bank is required. That is 0.18 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #369 of 645 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #312.
Estimate your earnings·What Citizens Savings Bank actually pays
Citizens Savings Bank at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.20% · Free Kasasa Saver · up to $50,000 only · checking account required |
| Minimum to open | $0 · Free Kasasa Saver |
| Against the national average | 0.18 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.07% · 12 months · 12 Month CD |
| Minimum to open | $1,000 · 12 months CD |
| Against the national average | 2.36 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | 1.50% · Platinum Money Market Account · needs at least $100,000 |
| Minimum to open | $50,000 · Platinum Money Market Account |
| Against the national average | 0.87 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 31184 · Clarks Summit, PA |
|---|---|
| Website | citizens-savings.com |
| Branches | 6 branches in PA |
| Availability | Available in PA |
Citizens Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 59 savings accounts from 57 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Citizens Savings Bank CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 0.05% | $1,000 | 91 Day CD |
| 4 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | 4 Month CD |
| 5 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | 5 Month CD |
| 6 months | 3.80% | $1,000 | 182 Day CD |
| 7 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | 7 Month CD |
| 8 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | 8 Month CD |
| 9 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | 9 Month CD |
| 10 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | 10 Month CD |
| 11 months | 1.25% | $1,000 | 11 Month CD |
| 12 months | 4.07% | $1,000 | 12 Month CD |
| 13 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | 13 Month CD |
| 14 months | 0.40% | $1,000 | 14 Month CD |
| 15 months | 4.07% | $1,000 | 15 Month CD |
| 18 months | 4.07% | $1,000 | 18 Month CD |
| 20 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | 20 Month CD |
| 24 months | 0.30% | $1,000 | 24 Month CD |
| 25 months | 0.30% | $1,000 | 25 Month CD |
| 30 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | 30 Month CD |
| 36 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | 36 Month CD |
| 48 months | 0.40% | $1,000 | 48 Month CD |
| 60 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | 60 Month CD |
| 72 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | 72 Month CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 6 months | 3.80% | $100 | Coverdell Education IRA 6 Month |
| 6 months | 3.80% | $100 | Traditional IRA 6 Month |
| 6 months | 3.80% | $100 | Roth IRA 6 Month |
| 12 months | 4.07% | $100 | Coverdell Education IRA 12 Month |
| 12 months | 4.07% | $100 | Traditional IRA 12 Month |
| 12 months | 4.07% | $100 | Roth IRA 12 Month |
| 13 months | 0.50% | $100 | Traditional IRA 13 Month |
| 14 months | 0.60% | $100 | Coverdell Education IRA 14 Month |
| 14 months | 0.60% | $100 | Traditional IRA 14 Month |
| 14 months | 0.60% | $100 | Roth IRA 14 Month |
| 15 months | 4.07% | $100 | Traditional IRA 15 Month |
| 18 months | 4.07% | $100 | Traditional IRA 18 Month |
| 18 months | 4.07% | $100 | Roth IRA 18 Month |
| 18 months | 4.07% | $100 | Coverdell Education IRA 18 Month |
| 20 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | Traditional IRA 20 Month |
| 20 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | Coverdell Education IRA 20 Month |
| 20 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | Roth IRA 20 Month |
| 30 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | Traditional IRA 30 Month |
| 30 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | Coverdell Education IRA 30 Month |
| 30 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | Roth IRA 30 Month |
| 48 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | Traditional IRA 48 Month |
| 48 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | Coverdell Education IRA 48 Month |
| 48 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | Roth IRA 48 Month |
| 72 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | Traditional IRA 72 Month |
| 72 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | Coverdell Education IRA 72 Month |
| 72 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | Roth IRA 72 Month |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Citizens Savings Bank
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$74.70(0.5%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,074.70
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Citizens Savings Bank pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.20% applies to balances up to $50,000. The bank states no rate for the balance above that.
In Q1 2026, Citizens Savings Bank paid a higher average rate than 23% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- Citizens Savings Bank, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free Kasasa Saver | 0.20% | $0 | $0 | $50,000 | not stated | Checking account | One rate | |
| Premium Passbook Savings | 0.15% | $0 | $0 | None | not stated | None | Tiered | |
| Club Accounts | 0.05% | $0 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
| Statement Savings | 0.05% | $0 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
| Regular Passbook Savings | 0.05% | $0 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
| Platinum Money Market Account | 1.50% | $50,000 | $0 | None | not stated | None | Tiered | |
| Premier Money Market Account | 0.30% | $50,000 | $0 | None | not stated | None | Tiered | |
| Premium Money Market Account | 0.15% | $1,000 | $0 | None | not stated | None | Tiered |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 91 Day CD | 3 months | 0.05% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Month CD | 4 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Month CD | 5 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 182 Day CD | 6 months | 3.80% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 7 Month CD | 7 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 8 Month CD | 8 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 9 Month CD | 9 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 10 Month CD | 10 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 11 Month CD | 11 months | 1.25% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month CD | 12 months | 4.07% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 13 Month CD | 13 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 14 Month CD | 14 months | 0.40% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 15 Month CD | 15 months | 4.07% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month CD | 18 months | 4.07% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 20 Month CD | 20 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month CD | 24 months | 0.30% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 25 Month CD | 25 months | 0.30% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 30 Month CD | 30 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Month CD | 36 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month CD | 48 months | 0.40% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month CD | 60 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 72 Month CD | 72 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| Coverdell Education IRA 6 Month | 6 months | 3.80% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Traditional IRA 6 Month | 6 months | 3.80% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Roth IRA 6 Month | 6 months | 3.80% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Coverdell Education IRA 12 Month | 12 months | 4.07% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Traditional IRA 12 Month | 12 months | 4.07% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Roth IRA 12 Month | 12 months | 4.07% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Traditional IRA 13 Month | 13 months | 0.50% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Coverdell Education IRA 14 Month | 14 months | 0.60% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Traditional IRA 14 Month | 14 months | 0.60% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Roth IRA 14 Month | 14 months | 0.60% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Traditional IRA 15 Month | 15 months | 4.07% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Traditional IRA 18 Month | 18 months | 4.07% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Roth IRA 18 Month | 18 months | 4.07% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Coverdell Education IRA 18 Month | 18 months | 4.07% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| Traditional IRA 20 Month | 20 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Coverdell Education IRA 20 Month | 20 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Roth IRA 20 Month | 20 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Traditional IRA 30 Month | 30 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Coverdell Education IRA 30 Month | 30 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Roth IRA 30 Month | 30 months | 0.35% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Traditional IRA 48 Month | 48 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Coverdell Education IRA 48 Month | 48 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Roth IRA 48 Month | 48 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Traditional IRA 72 Month | 72 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Coverdell Education IRA 72 Month | 72 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Roth IRA 72 Month | 72 months | 0.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in PA |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 6 branches in PA |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Citizens Savings Bank behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Free Kasasa Saver rate in the last 12 months was 0.20% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Rate last changed
- Sep 8, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.20% APY Citizens Savings Bank advertises on Free Kasasa Saver grows to $10,020 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,694 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
Citizens Savings Bank CD rates over time
Who is Citizens Savings Bank?
| Headquarters | Clarks Summit, PA |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1902 |
| Scale | $359M assets · $304M deposits, $276M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 31184 |
Financial detail is in What Citizens Savings Bank pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Citizens Savings Bank
Is Citizens Savings Bank FDIC insured?
Yes. Citizens Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 31184, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Citizens Savings Bank?
Citizens Savings Bank requires no minimum deposit to open its Free Kasasa Saver account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does the 0.20% apply to my whole balance?
The 0.20% applies to balances up to $50,000. The bank states no rate for the balance above that. A checking account at the bank is required. Rates are as observed on Sep 9, 2026.
Does Citizens Savings Bank have branches?
Yes. Citizens Savings Bank operates 6 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Citizens Savings Bank against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Citizens Savings Bank | 1.50% | 1.80% | $50,000 | 6 branches in PA |
| Charles River Bank | 0.25% | 1.97% | $1,000 | 4 branches in MA |
| Community Bank of Raymore | 2.23% | 1.63% | $25 | 3 branches in MO |
| Exchange Bank | 0.70% | 1.61% | $1,000 | 21 branches in CA |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Citizens Savings Bank's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.