Metropolitan Bank savings, CD and money market rates
Metropolitan Bank advertises 0.20% APY on its Super Savings account. That is 0.18 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #678 of 1174 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #596.
Metropolitan Bank at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.20% · Super Savings |
| Minimum to open | $5,000 · Super Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.18 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 0.50% · 60 months · 5 Year CD |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · 60 months CD |
| Against the national average | 0.86 percentage points below the 1.36% FDIC 60-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 0.50% · Money Market · needs at least $25,000 |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · Money Market |
| Against the national average | 0.13 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 25869 · Oakland, CA |
|---|---|
| Website | www.met.bank |
| Branches | 4 branches in CA |
| Availability | Available in CA |
Metropolitan Bank savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Metropolitan Bank CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 0.15% | $50,000 | 3 Month Jumbo CD |
| 3 months | 0.10% | $2,500 | 3 Month CD |
| 6 months | 0.20% | $2,500 | 6 Month CD |
| 6 months | 0.25% | $50,000 | 6 Month Jumbo CD |
| 12 months | 0.35% | $50,000 | 12 Month Jumbo CD |
| 12 months | 0.30% | $2,500 | 12 Month CD |
| 24 months | 0.30% | $2,500 | 2 Year CD |
| 36 months | 0.40% | $2,500 | 3 Year CD |
| 48 months | 0.50% | $2,500 | 4 Year CD |
| 60 months | 0.50% | $2,500 | 5 Year CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 12 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | 12 Month IRA CD |
| 24 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | 2 Year IRA CD |
| 36 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | 3 Year IRA CD |
| 48 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | 4 Year IRA CD |
| 60 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | 5 Year IRA CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Metropolitan Bank
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$18.60(0.1%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,018.60
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Metropolitan Bank pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q2 2026, Metropolitan Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 7% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- Metropolitan Bank, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
How these figures are computed
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Health Savings Account | 0.50% | $1,000 | $1,000 | None | Monthly Maintenance Charge $3.50. Daily Balance Requirement to Waive Monthly Maintenance Charge: $5,000. | not stated | Tiered | |
| Super Savings | 0.20% | $5,000 | $0 | None | Monthly Maintenance Charge $15. Daily Balance Requirement to Waive Monthly Maintenance Charge: $5,000. | not stated | One rate | |
| Value Savings | 0.05% | $300 | $0 | None | Monthly Maintenance Charge $15. Daily Balance Requirement to Waive Monthly Maintenance Charge: $1,500. | not stated | One rate | |
| Money Market | 0.50% | $2,500 | $2,500 | None | Monthly Maintenance Charge $10. Daily Balance Requirement to Waive Monthly Maintenance Charge: $2,500. | not stated | Tiered |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 3 Month Jumbo CD | 3 months | 0.15% | $50,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Month CD | 3 months | 0.10% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month CD | 6 months | 0.20% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month Jumbo CD | 6 months | 0.25% | $50,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month Jumbo CD | 12 months | 0.35% | $50,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month CD | 12 months | 0.30% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Year CD | 24 months | 0.30% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year CD | 36 months | 0.40% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Year CD | 48 months | 0.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Year CD | 60 months | 0.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 12 Month IRA CD | 12 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Year IRA CD | 24 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year IRA CD | 36 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Year IRA CD | 48 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Year IRA CD | 60 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in CA |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 4 branches in CA |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Metropolitan Bank behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Super Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.20% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Super Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 60 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Money Market
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 25, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.20% APY Metropolitan Bank advertises on Super Savings grows to $10,020 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,694 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
Metropolitan Bank CD rates over time
Who is Metropolitan Bank?
| Headquarters | Oakland, CA |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1983 |
| Scale | $230M assets · $195M deposits, $171M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 25869 |
Financial detail is in What Metropolitan Bank pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Metropolitan Bank
Is Metropolitan Bank FDIC insured?
Yes. Metropolitan Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 25869, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Metropolitan Bank?
Metropolitan Bank requires a minimum deposit of $5,000 to open its Super Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does Metropolitan Bank have branches?
Yes. Metropolitan Bank operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Metropolitan Bank against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Metropolitan Bank | 0.50% | 0.26% | $1,000 | 4 branches in CA |
| American Bank and Trust Company, National Association | 2.84% | 2.05% | not stated | 8 branches in IA, IL |
| American Heritage Bank | 2.15% | 0.59% | $5,000 | 24 branches in OK |
| Arundel Federal Savings Bank | 0.80% | 0.23% | $1,000 | 5 branches in MD |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Metropolitan Bank's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.