Skip to main content

The Torrington Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 16636Assets $1.0B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 22, 2026

The Torrington Savings Bank advertises up to 0.75% APY on its Journey Savings account. The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.25%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.35% overall, about $35 in a year, which is 0.02 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #615 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #712.

Estimate your earnings·What The Torrington Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

The Torrington Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.75% · Journey Savings · needs at least $50,000
Minimum to open$5 · Journey Savings
Against the national average0.38 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.79% · 3 months · 3 Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 3 months CD
Against the national average2.66 percentage points above the 1.13% FDIC 3-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.00% · Signature Money Market · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Signature Money Market
Against the national average1.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
The Torrington Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate16636 · Torrington, CT
Websitewww.torringtonsavings.bank
Branches10 branches in CT
AvailabilityAvailable in CT
Rates

The Torrington Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to5.12% APY
First Time Savers
Youth Savings
On balances up to $1,000 · 0.10% above
$1 minimum

How the rate applies

5.12% APY on balances $0 - $1,000
0.10% APY on balances $1,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
Up to2.00% APY
Signature Money Market
Needs at least $250,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $25,000
0.50% APY on balances $25,000 - $75,000
1.00% APY on balances $75,000 - $150,000
1.25% APY on balances $150,000 - $250,000
2.00% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
Up to0.75% APY
Journey Savings
Needs at least $50,000
$5 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $5 - $10,000
0.35% APY on balances $10,000 - $25,000
0.50% APY on balances $25,000 - $50,000
0.75% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
Up to0.15% APY
Premier Health Savings
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $25,000

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0.01 - $5,000
0.10% APY on balances $5,000 - $25,000
0.15% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
Up to0.15% APY
Advantage Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $1,000
0.10% APY on balances $1,000 - $50,000
0.12% APY on balances $50,000 - $100,000
0.15% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
0.05% APY
Build Your Own Club
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
3.79% APY
Highest CD · 3 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026

IRA

Up to2.00% APY
IRA Signature Money Market
Needs at least $250,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $25,000
0.50% APY on balances $25,000 - $75,000
1.00% APY on balances $75,000 - $150,000
1.25% APY on balances $150,000 - $250,000
2.00% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
Up to0.15% APY
IRA Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $1,000
0.10% APY on balances $1,000 - $50,000
0.12% APY on balances $50,000 - $100,000
0.15% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
3.79% APY
Highest CD · 3 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026

Business

Up to0.60% APY
Business Money Market
Needs at least $25,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $0.01 - $2,500
0.20% APY on balances $2,500 - $25,000
0.60% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
0.50% APY
Business Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Torrington Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.79%$1,0003 Month CD
5 months3.00%$1,0005 Month CD
6 months3.50%$1,0006 Month CD
9 months2.85%$1,0009 Month CD
12 months3.10%$1,00012 Month CD
13 months0.25%$1,00013 Month CD
15 months3.55%$1,00015 Month CD
18 months3.40%$1,00018 Month CD
21 months3.40%$1,00021 Month Bump Up CD
24 months3.50%$1,00024 Month CD
30 months3.50%$1,00030 Month CD
36 months3.50%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months3.50%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months3.50%$1,00060 Month CD
IRA CDs
3 months3.79%$1,000IRA 3 Month CD
5 months3.00%$1,000IRA 5 Month CD
6 months3.50%$1,000IRA 6 Month CD
9 months2.85%$1,000IRA 9 Month CD
12 months3.10%$1,000IRA 12 Month CD
13 months0.25%$1,000IRA 13 Month CD
15 months3.55%$1,000IRA 15 Month CD
18 months3.40%$1,000IRA 18 Month CD
21 months3.40%$1,000IRA 21 Month Bump Up CD
24 months3.50%$1,000IRA 24 Month CD
30 months3.50%$1,000IRA 30 Month CD
36 months3.50%$1,000IRA 36 Month CD
48 months3.50%$1,000IRA 48 Month CD
60 months3.50%$1,000IRA 60 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Torrington Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 5.12% ($0 - $1,000), 0.10% ($1,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$37.30(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,037.30

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Torrington Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.65%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to0.75% APY
As observed Sep 22, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.25%.

In Q2 2026, The Torrington Savings Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 19% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.92%
Q2 2026 ·
$803M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
11.7%
Q2 2026
$1.0B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The Torrington Savings Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
First Time Savers5.12%$1$0$1,000not statednot statedTiered
Journey Savings0.75%$5$5Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Premier Health Savings0.15%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Build Your Own Club0.05%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Signature Money Market2.00%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Advantage Money Market0.15%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Signature Money Market2.00%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA Money Market0.15%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Business Money Market0.60%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business Savings0.50%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month CD3 months3.79%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Month CD5 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months2.85%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.10%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month CD13 months0.25%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.40%$1,000not statednot stated
21 Month Bump Up CD21 months3.40%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
IRA 3 Month CD3 months3.79%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 5 Month CD5 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 6 Month CD6 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 9 Month CD9 months2.85%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 12 Month CD12 months3.10%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 13 Month CD13 months0.25%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 15 Month CD15 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 18 Month CD18 months3.40%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 21 Month Bump Up CD21 months3.40%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 24 Month CD24 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 30 Month CD30 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 36 Month CD36 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 48 Month CD48 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 60 Month CD60 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in CT
Footprint10 branches in CT
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Torrington Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Journey Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.75% (observed through Sep 22, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Journey Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
3 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Signature Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 31, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.75% APY The Torrington Savings Bank advertises on Journey Savings grows to $10,075 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,744 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The Torrington Savings Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is The Torrington Savings Bank?

HeadquartersTorrington, CT
Founded1868
Scale$1.0B assets · $803M deposits, $709M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 16636

Financial detail is in What The Torrington Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Torrington Savings Bank

Is The Torrington Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. The Torrington Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 16636, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Torrington Savings Bank?

The Torrington Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $5 to open its Journey Savings account, as observed on Sep 22, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.75% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.25%. Rates are as observed on Sep 22, 2026.

Does The Torrington Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. The Torrington Savings Bank operates 10 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Torrington Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q3 2025)Min depositBranches
The Torrington Savings Bank5.12%0.65%$110 branches in CT
Fidelity Bank & Trust5.12%1.00%$5036 branches in IA, IL, MN, WI
State Savings Bank5.12%not stated$50not stated
Windsor Federal Bank5.12%1.08%$1011 branches in CT

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Torrington Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates