Skip to main content

The National Bank of Blacksburg savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 6821Assets $1.8B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

The National Bank of Blacksburg advertises 0.03% APY on its Savings account. That is 0.35 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #1079 of 1133 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1026. The advertised rate has not changed in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What The National Bank of Blacksburg actually pays

Key facts

The National Bank of Blacksburg at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.03% · Savings
Minimum to open$25 · Savings
Against the national average0.35 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.43% · 6 months · 6 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$500 · 6 months CD
Against the national average2.02 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.92% · Money Market Deposit Account · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · Money Market Deposit Account
Against the national average0.29 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
The National Bank of Blacksburg bank facts
FDIC certificate6821 · Blacksburg, VA
Websitewww.nbbank.com
Branches28 branches in VA
AvailabilityAvailable in VA
Rates

The National Bank of Blacksburg savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.92% APY
Money Market Deposit Account
Needs at least $100,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.92% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.04% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $2,500
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.02% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.04% APY on balances $2,500+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.03% APY
Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.02% APY
Holiday Club
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.43% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

2.63% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Business

Up to0.88% APY
Business Money Market Deposit Account
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.20% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.35% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.42% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.65% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.88% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The National Bank of Blacksburg CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months0.50%$2,5003 Month CD
6 months3.43%$5006 Month CD Special
6 months0.75%$5006 Month CD
12 months3.25%$50012 Month CD Special
12 months1.16%$50012 Month CD
18 months2.07%$50018 Month CD
24 months2.17%$50024 Month CD
36 months2.53%$50036 Month CD
48 months2.63%$50048 Month CD
60 months2.63%$50060 Month CD
IRA CDs
12 months1.16%$50012 Month IRA
18 months2.07%$50018 Month IRA
24 months2.17%$50024 Month IRA
36 months2.43%$50036 Month IRA
60 months2.63%$50060 Month IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The National Bank of Blacksburg

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.20% to 0.88% APY across 5 balance tiers.
0.20% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.35% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.42% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.65% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.88% APY on balances $100,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$130.30(0.8%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $2,500

Projected Balance

$15,630.30

Effective APY
0.29%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The National Bank of Blacksburg pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.48%
Q2 2026 ·
0.03% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, The National Bank of Blacksburg paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 51% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.94%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.7B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
20.4%
Q2 2026
$1.8B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The National Bank of Blacksburg, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Health Savings Account0.04%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Savings0.03%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Holiday Club0.02%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market Deposit Account0.92%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Business Money Market Deposit Account0.88%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month CD3 months0.50%$2,500not statednot stated
6 Month CD Special6 months3.43%$500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months0.75%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD Special12 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months1.16%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months2.07%$500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months2.17%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months2.53%$500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months2.63%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months2.63%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Month IRA12 months1.16%$500not statednot stated
18 Month IRA18 months2.07%$500not statednot stated
24 Month IRA24 months2.17%$500not statednot stated
36 Month IRA36 months2.43%$500not statednot stated
60 Month IRA60 months2.63%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in VA
Footprint28 branches in VA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The National Bank of Blacksburg behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.03% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

The National Bank of Blacksburg has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Deposit Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 23, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.03% APY The National Bank of Blacksburg advertises on Savings grows to $10,003 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,678 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The National Bank of Blacksburg CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is The National Bank of Blacksburg?

HeadquartersBlacksburg, VA
Founded1891
Scale$1.8B assets · $1.7B deposits, $1.3B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 6821

Financial detail is in What The National Bank of Blacksburg pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The National Bank of Blacksburg

Is The National Bank of Blacksburg FDIC insured?

Yes. The National Bank of Blacksburg is FDIC insured under certificate 6821, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The National Bank of Blacksburg?

The National Bank of Blacksburg requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does The National Bank of Blacksburg have branches?

Yes. The National Bank of Blacksburg operates 28 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The National Bank of Blacksburg against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The National Bank of Blacksburg0.92%1.48%$1,00028 branches in VA
The First National Bank of Blanchester1.40%1.14%not stated1 branch in OH
The Park Bank0.90%2.35%$010 branches in WI
Bank of Star Valley2.53%0.97%$1,0003 branches in WY

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The National Bank of Blacksburg's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates