Skip to main content

Stafford Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 18227Assets $507M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

Stafford Savings Bank advertises 0.11% APY on its Statement Savings account. That is 0.26 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1314 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1187.

Estimate your earnings·What Stafford Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

Stafford Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.11% · Statement Savings
Minimum to open$5 · Statement Savings
Against the national average0.26 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.57% · 12 months · 1 Year Certificate
Minimum to open$500 · 12 months CD
Against the national average1.84 percentage points above the 1.73% FDIC 12-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.25% · Premium Account · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$10,000 · Premium Account
Against the national average0.38 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Stafford Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate18227 · Stafford Springs, CT
Websitewww.staffordsavingsbank.com
Branches3 branches in CT
AvailabilityAvailable in CT
Rates

Stafford Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.25% APY
Premium Account
Needs at least $100,000
$10,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.20% APY on balances $10,000 - $99,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.12% APY
Money Market Account
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.11% APY
Statement Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.10% APY
Club Account
Club Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.57% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

3.57% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Stafford Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months1.01%$1,00091 Day Certificate
6 months2.28%$1,0006 Month Certificate
12 months3.57%$5001 Year Certificate
18 months2.53%$5001½ Year Certificate
24 months2.53%$5002 Year Certificate
30 months2.54%$5002½ Year Certificate
36 months2.54%$5003 Year Certificate
48 months2.54%$5004 Year Certificate
60 months2.54%$5005 Year Certificate
IRA CDs
12 months3.57%$5001 Year IRA Certificate
18 months2.53%$5001½ Year IRA Certificate
24 months2.53%$5002 Year IRA Certificate
30 months2.54%$5002½ Year IRA Certificate
36 months2.54%$5003 Year IRA Certificate
48 months2.54%$5004 Year IRA Certificate
60 months2.54%$5005 Year IRA Certificate

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Stafford Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$41.00(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,041.00

Effective APY
0.11%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Stafford Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.54%
Q2 2026 ·
0.11% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Stafford Savings Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 15% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.03%
Q2 2026 ·
$202M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
5.0%
Q2 2026
$507M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Stafford Savings Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Statement Savings0.11%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Club Account0.10%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Premium Account0.25%$10,000$10,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market Account0.12%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day Certificate3 months1.01%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month Certificate6 months2.28%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year Certificate12 months3.57%$500not statednot stated
1½ Year Certificate18 months2.53%$500not statednot stated
2 Year Certificate24 months2.53%$500not statednot stated
2½ Year Certificate30 months2.54%$500not statednot stated
3 Year Certificate36 months2.54%$500not statednot stated
4 Year Certificate48 months2.54%$500not statednot stated
5 Year Certificate60 months2.54%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
1 Year IRA Certificate12 months3.57%$500not statednot stated
1½ Year IRA Certificate18 months2.53%$500not statednot stated
2 Year IRA Certificate24 months2.53%$500not statednot stated
2½ Year IRA Certificate30 months2.54%$500not statednot stated
3 Year IRA Certificate36 months2.54%$500not statednot stated
4 Year IRA Certificate48 months2.54%$500not statednot stated
5 Year IRA Certificate60 months2.54%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in CT
Footprint3 branches in CT
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Stafford Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.11% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Statement Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
12 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Premium Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 3, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.11% APY Stafford Savings Bank advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,011 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,682 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Stafford Savings Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Stafford Savings Bank?

HeadquartersStafford Springs, CT
Founded1872
Scale$507M assets · $202M deposits, $192M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 18227

Financial detail is in What Stafford Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Stafford Savings Bank

Is Stafford Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Stafford Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 18227, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Stafford Savings Bank?

Stafford Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $5 to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Stafford Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. Stafford Savings Bank operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Stafford Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Stafford Savings Bank0.25%0.54%$10,0003 branches in CT
Alliance Bank1.00%1.33%not stated7 branches in IN
Andover State Bank0.55%2.23%not stated2 branches in KS
Bank of Lake Mills3.82%2.69%$50,0002 branches in WI

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Stafford Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates