Skip to main content

Atlantic Union Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 34589Assets $38.0B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 26, 2026

Atlantic Union Bank advertises 0.10% APY on its Personal Savings account. That is 0.27 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1573 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1430.

Estimate your earnings·What Atlantic Union Bank actually pays

Key facts

Atlantic Union Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.10% · Personal Savings
Minimum to open$25 · Personal Savings
Against the national average0.27 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.05% · 13 months · 13 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$1,000 · 13 months CD
Against the national average2.32 percentage points above the 1.73% FDIC 12-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY2.25% · Performance Money Market
Minimum to open$25,000 · Performance Money Market
Against the national average1.62 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Atlantic Union Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate34589 · Richmond City, VA
Websitewww.atlanticunionbank.com
Branches185 branches in DC, MD, NC, VA
AvailabilityAvailable in DC, MD, NC, VA
Rates

Atlantic Union Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

2.25% APY
Performance Money Market
$25,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
Up to0.65% APY
Money Market Account
Needs at least $250,000
$500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
0.65% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
Up to0.20% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $25,000

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
0.10% APY
Personal Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
0.10% APY
PRISM Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
4.05% APY
Highest CD · 13 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026

IRA

0.25% APY
IRA Variable Rate Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
4.05% APY
Highest CD · 13 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Atlantic Union Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.00%$1,0003 Month CD
4 months3.85%$1,0004 Month CD Special
6 months3.00%$1,0006 Month CD
7 months4.00%$1,0007 Month CD Special
12 months3.00%$1,00012 Month CD
13 months4.05%$1,00013 Month CD Special
24 months2.50%$1,00024 Month CD
36 months2.50%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months2.50%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months2.50%$1,00060 Month CD
IRA CDs
3 months3.00%$5003 Month IRA
4 months3.85%$1,0004 Month IRA Special
6 months3.00%$5006 Month IRA
7 months4.00%$1,0007 Month IRA Special
12 months3.00%$50012 Month IRA
13 months4.05%$1,00013 Month IRA Special
24 months2.50%$50024 Month IRA
36 months2.50%$50036 Month IRA
48 months2.50%$50048 Month IRA
60 months2.50%$50060 Month IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Atlantic Union Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.05% ($0 - $9,999.99), 0.10% ($10,000 - $24,999.99), 0.20% ($25,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$27.80(0.2%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,027.80

Effective APY
0.07%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Atlantic Union Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.43%
Q2 2026 ·
0.10% APY
As observed Sep 26, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Atlantic Union Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 49% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.48%
Q2 2026 ·
$30.6B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
22.4%
Q2 2026
$38.0B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Atlantic Union Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Health Savings Account0.20%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Personal Savings0.10%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
PRISM Savings0.10%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Performance Money Market2.25%$25,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market Account0.65%$500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Variable Rate Savings0.25%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month CD3 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Month CD Special4 months3.85%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
7 Month CD Special7 months4.00%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month CD Special13 months4.05%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
3 Month IRA3 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
4 Month IRA Special4 months3.85%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month IRA6 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
7 Month IRA Special7 months4.00%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month IRA12 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
13 Month IRA Special13 months4.05%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month IRA24 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
36 Month IRA36 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
48 Month IRA48 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
60 Month IRA60 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in DC, MD, NC, VA
Footprint185 branches in DC, MD, NC, VA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Atlantic Union Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Personal Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 26, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Personal Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
13 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Performance Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 18, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.10% APY Atlantic Union Bank advertises on Personal Savings grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,681 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Atlantic Union Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Atlantic Union Bank?

HeadquartersRichmond City, VA
Founded1997
Scale$38.0B assets · $30.6B deposits, $23.7B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 34589
Charter stateVirginia · one of 56 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size56th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 15% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Atlantic Union Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Atlantic Union Bank

Is Atlantic Union Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Atlantic Union Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 34589, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Atlantic Union Bank?

Atlantic Union Bank requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its Personal Savings account, as observed on Sep 26, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Atlantic Union Bank have branches?

Yes. Atlantic Union Bank operates 185 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Atlantic Union Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Atlantic Union Bank0.10%1.43%$25185 branches in DC, MD, NC, VA
Alliance Bank0.10%1.33%$3007 branches in IN
Andover State Bank0.10%2.23%not stated2 branches in KS
Argentine Federal Savings0.10%1.99%$502 branches in KS

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Atlantic Union Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Virginia, nearest to Atlantic Union Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates