Skip to main content

Maple City Savings Bank, FSB savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 28585Assets $122M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Maple City Savings Bank, FSB advertises 2.00% APY on its Thrive Savings account. That is 1.62 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

A checking account at the bank is required.

Ranked #256 of 1133 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #175.

Estimate your earnings·What Maple City Savings Bank, FSB actually pays

Key facts

Maple City Savings Bank, FSB at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY2.00% · Thrive Savings · checking account required
Minimum to open$25 · Thrive Savings
Against the national average1.62 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.50% · 6 months · 6 Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 6 months CD
Against the national average2.09 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Maple City Savings Bank, FSB bank facts
FDIC certificate28585 · Hornell, NY
Websitewww.maplecitysavings.com
Branches3 branches in NY
AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Rates

Maple City Savings Bank, FSB savings and CD rates

2.00% APY
Thrive Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.75% APY
Flex Savings
On balances up to $999,999.99 · 0.25% above
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $10 - $49,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $250,000 - $999,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $1,000,000 - $4,999,999.99
0.00% APY on balances $5,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.10% APY
Christmas Club
Club Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.50% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Maple City Savings Bank, FSB CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
1 months0.10%$1,00032 Day CD
3 months3.00%$1,00091 Day CD
6 months3.50%$1,0006 Month CD
9 months3.50%$1,0009 Month CD
12 months3.50%$1,00012 Month CD
15 months3.00%$1,00015 Month CD
18 months3.00%$1,00018 Month CD
24 months2.75%$1,00024 Month CD
36 months2.50%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months2.25%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months2.00%$1,00060 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Maple City Savings Bank, FSB

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$764.20(5.2%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,764.20

Effective APY
2.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Maple City Savings Bank, FSB pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

Not available for Q2 2026: The bank reported zero savings interest expense this quarter, so no rate is computed.
Q2 2026 ·
2.00% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

2.32%
Q2 2026 ·
$108M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
11.2%
Q2 2026
$122M
Total assets
Q2 2026
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Thrive Savings2.00%$25$0Nonenot statedChecking accountOne rate
Flex Savings0.75%$10$10$999,999.99not statednot statedTiered
Christmas Club0.10%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
32 Day CD1 months0.10%$1,000not statednot stated
91 Day CD3 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months2.75%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months2.25%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months2.00%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Footprint3 branches in NY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Maple City Savings Bank, FSB behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Thrive Savings rate in the last 12 months was 2.00% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Thrive Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 25, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 2.00% APY Maple City Savings Bank, FSB advertises on Thrive Savings grows to $10,200 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,868 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Maple City Savings Bank, FSB CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Maple City Savings Bank, FSB?

HeadquartersHornell, NY
Founded1905
Scale$122M assets · $108M deposits, $96M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 28585

Financial detail is in What Maple City Savings Bank, FSB pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Maple City Savings Bank, FSB

Is Maple City Savings Bank, FSB FDIC insured?

Yes. Maple City Savings Bank, FSB is FDIC insured under certificate 28585, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Maple City Savings Bank, FSB?

Maple City Savings Bank, FSB requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its Thrive Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Maple City Savings Bank, FSB have branches?

Yes. Maple City Savings Bank, FSB operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Maple City Savings Bank, FSB against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Maple City Savings Bank, FSB2.00%not stated$253 branches in NY
Bank Michigan3.75%2.12%$25,0003 branches in MI
Century Bank2.05%0.77%$15,0009 branches in NM
Eagle Bank3.49%2.30%$20,0006 branches in MA, ME

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Maple City Savings Bank, FSB's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates