Skip to main content

Flatwater Bank savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 10639Assets $368M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

Flatwater Bank advertises 2.00% APY on its HighYield Savings account. That is 1.63 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

A checking account at the bank is required.

Ranked #408 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #265. The advertised rate has not changed in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Estimate your earnings·What Flatwater Bank actually pays

Key facts

Flatwater Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY2.00% · HighYield Savings · checking account required
Minimum to open$50 · HighYield Savings
Against the national average1.63 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.65% · 13 months · 13-Month Flex Certificate of Deposit
Minimum to open$500 · 13 months CD
Against the national average1.92 percentage points above the 1.73% FDIC 12-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Flatwater Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate10639 · Gothenburg, NE
Websitewww.flatwater.bank
Branches3 branches in NE
AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Rates

Flatwater Bank savings and CD rates

2.00% APY
HighYield Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
3.65% APY
Highest CD · 13 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Flatwater Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
13 months3.65%$50013-Month Flex Certificate of Deposit

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Flatwater Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

HighYield Savings2.00% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$764.20(5.2%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,764.20

Effective APY
2.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Flatwater Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.71%
Q2 2026 ·
2.00% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Flatwater Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 22% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.64%
Q2 2026 ·
$321M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
11.5%
Q2 2026
$368M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Flatwater Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
HighYield Savings2.00%$50$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
13-Month Flex Certificate of Deposit13 months3.65%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Footprint3 branches in NE
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Flatwater Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised HighYield Savings rate in the last 12 months was 2.00% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Flatwater Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

HighYield Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
13 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 15, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 2.00% APY Flatwater Bank advertises on HighYield Savings grows to $10,200 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,865 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Flatwater Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Flatwater Bank?

HeadquartersGothenburg, NE
Founded1902
Scale$368M assets · $321M deposits, $284M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 10639
Charter stateNebraska · one of 139 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size2,143rd-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 94% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Flatwater Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Flatwater Bank

Is Flatwater Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Flatwater Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 10639, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Flatwater Bank?

Flatwater Bank requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its HighYield Savings account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Flatwater Bank have branches?

Yes. Flatwater Bank operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Flatwater Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Flatwater Bank2.00%0.71%$503 branches in NE
Century Bank2.00%0.77%$2,0009 branches in NM
Eagle Bank2.00%2.30%$25,0006 branches in MA, ME
Elkton Bank & Trust Company2.00%0.67%$504 branches in KY

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Flatwater Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Nebraska, nearest to Flatwater Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

State pages: banks in Nebraska.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates