Magyar Bank savings, CD and money market rates
Magyar Bank advertises 0.50% APY on its Statement Savings account. That is 0.12 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #398 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #319.
Magyar Bank at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.50% · Statement Savings |
| Minimum to open | $100 · Statement Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.12 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.75% · 9 months · 9-month CD |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · 9 months CD |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 1.50% · Advantage Money Market · needs at least $100,000 |
| Minimum to open | $10,000 · Advantage Money Market |
| Against the national average | 0.87 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 30704 · New Brunswick, NJ |
|---|---|
| Website | www.magbank.com |
| Branches | 7 branches in NJ |
| Availability | Available in NJ |
Magyar Bank savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
IRA
Business
How the rate applies
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Magyar Bank CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 1.50% | $1,000 | 91-day CD |
| 6 months | 2.00% | $1,000 | 182-day CD |
| 9 months | 3.75% | $2,500 | 9-month CD |
| 12 months | 2.50% | $1,000 | 12-month CD |
| 15 months | 3.50% | $2,500 | 15-month CD Special |
| 18 months | 2.50% | $2,500 | 18-month CD |
| 24 months | 2.50% | $2,500 | 24-month CD |
| 25 months | 3.50% | $2,500 | 25-month CD Special |
| 36 months | 3.00% | $2,500 | 36-month CD |
| 48 months | 3.25% | $2,500 | 48-month CD |
| 60 months | 3.50% | $2,500 | 60-month CD |
| 120 months | 3.50% | $2,500 | 120-month CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 6 months | 2.00% | $500 | 182-day IRA CD |
| 9 months | 3.75% | $500 | 9-month IRA CD |
| 12 months | 2.50% | $100 | 12-month IRA CD |
| 15 months | 3.50% | $500 | 15-month IRA CD |
| 18 months | 2.50% | $500 | 18-month IRA CD |
| 24 months | 2.50% | $500 | 24-month IRA CD |
| 25 months | 3.50% | $500 | 25-month IRA CD |
| 36 months | 3.00% | $500 | 36-month IRA CD |
| 48 months | 3.25% | $500 | 48-month IRA CD |
| 60 months | 3.50% | $500 | 60-month IRA CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Magyar Bank
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$624.70(2.6%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$23,624.70
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Magyar Bank pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q1 2026, Magyar Bank paid a higher average rate than 82% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- Magyar Bank, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal | ||||||||
| Statement Savings | 0.50% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Advantage Money Market | 1.50% | $10,000 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Business | ||||||||
| Business Premium Money Market Plus | 1.75% | $10,000 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 91-day CD | 3 months | 1.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 182-day CD | 6 months | 2.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 9-month CD | 9 months | 3.75% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 12-month CD | 12 months | 2.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 15-month CD Special | 15 months | 3.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18-month CD | 18 months | 2.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 24-month CD | 24 months | 2.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 25-month CD Special | 25 months | 3.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 36-month CD | 36 months | 3.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 48-month CD | 48 months | 3.25% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 60-month CD | 60 months | 3.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 120-month CD | 120 months | 3.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 182-day IRA CD | 6 months | 2.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 9-month IRA CD | 9 months | 3.75% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 12-month IRA CD | 12 months | 2.50% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| 15-month IRA CD | 15 months | 3.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18-month IRA CD | 18 months | 2.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 24-month IRA CD | 24 months | 2.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 25-month IRA CD | 25 months | 3.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 36-month IRA CD | 36 months | 3.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 48-month IRA CD | 48 months | 3.25% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 60-month IRA CD | 60 months | 3.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in NJ |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 7 branches in NJ |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Magyar Bank behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.50% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Statement Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 9 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Advantage Money Market
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 23, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.50% APY Magyar Bank advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,723 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
Magyar Bank CD rates over time
Who is Magyar Bank?
| Headquarters | New Brunswick, NJ |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1922 |
| Scale | $1.1B assets · $885M deposits, $745M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 30704 |
Financial detail is in What Magyar Bank pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Magyar Bank
Is Magyar Bank FDIC insured?
Yes. Magyar Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 30704, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Magyar Bank?
Magyar Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does Magyar Bank have branches?
Yes. Magyar Bank operates 7 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Magyar Bank against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Magyar Bank | 1.75% | 2.91% | $10,000 | 7 branches in NJ |
| nbkc Bank | 3.00% | 3.18% | $0 | 4 branches in KS, MO |
| People's Bank of Commerce | 2.66% | 2.14% | $100 | 11 branches in OR |
| American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston | 1.71% | 1.71% | not stated | 2 branches in ND |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Magyar Bank's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.