Skip to main content

FirstBank of Nebraska savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 5486Assets $470M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

FirstBank of Nebraska advertises 0.50% APY on its First Savings account. That is 0.12 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #338 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #271. The advertised rate has not changed in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What FirstBank of Nebraska actually pays

Key facts

FirstBank of Nebraska at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.50% · First Savings
Minimum to open$25 · First Savings
Against the national average0.12 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.00% · 3 months · 3 Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 3 months CD
Against the national average2.86 percentage points above the 1.14% FDIC 3-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.78% · First Money Market · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · First Money Market
Against the national average2.15 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
FirstBank of Nebraska bank facts
FDIC certificate5486 · Wahoo, NE
Websitewww.firstbankne.com
Branches4 branches in NE
AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Rates

FirstBank of Nebraska savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to2.78% APY
First Money Market
Needs at least $1,000,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

1.76% APY on balances $2,500+
1.76% APY on balances $50,000+
2.02% APY on balances $100,000+
2.27% APY on balances $250,000+
2.53% APY on balances $500,000+
2.78% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to1.51% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $100,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $0.01+
0.60% APY on balances $1,000+
1.00% APY on balances $10,000+
1.26% APY on balances $25,000+
1.36% APY on balances $50,000+
1.51% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.50% APY
First Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.50% APY
Holiday Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
4.00% APY
Highest CD · 3 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

2.02% APY
IRA Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Business

Up to2.78% APY
Business Money Market
Needs at least $1,000,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

1.77% APY on balances $2,500+
1.76% APY on balances $50,000+
2.02% APY on balances $100,000+
2.27% APY on balances $250,000+
2.53% APY on balances $500,000+
2.78% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.50% APY
Business Savings
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

FirstBank of Nebraska CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months4.00%$1,0003 Month CD
6 months3.80%$1,0006 Month CD
11 months3.90%$1,00011 Month CD Special
12 months3.75%$5,00012 Month CD ($5,000+)
12 months3.65%$1,00012 Month CD
17 months3.90%$1,00017 Month CD Special
18 months3.50%$1,00018 Month CD
23 months3.90%$1,00023 Month CD Special
24 months3.65%$1,00024 Month CD
30 months3.55%$1,00030 Month CD
36 months3.55%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months3.35%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months3.25%$1,00060 Month CD
IRA CDs
12 months3.75%$1,00012 Month IRA CD
18 months3.50%$1,00018 Month IRA CD
24 months3.65%$1,00024 Month IRA CD
30 months3.55%$1,00030 Month IRA CD
36 months3.55%$1,00036 Month IRA CD
48 months3.35%$1,00048 Month IRA CD
60 months3.25%$1,00060 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for FirstBank of Nebraska

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 1.76% to 2.78% APY across 6 balance tiers.
1.77% APY on balances $2,500+
1.76% APY on balances $50,000+
2.02% APY on balances $100,000+
2.27% APY on balances $250,000+
2.53% APY on balances $500,000+
2.78% APY on balances $1,000,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$811.90(5.0%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $2,500

Projected Balance

$16,311.90

Effective APY
1.77%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What FirstBank of Nebraska pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.83%
Q1 2026 ·
0.50% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, FirstBank of Nebraska paid a higher average rate than 79% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$376M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
17.9%
Q1 2026
$470M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • FirstBank of Nebraska, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Health Savings Account1.51%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
First Savings0.50%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Holiday Savings0.50%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
First Money Market2.78%$2,500$2,500Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Savings2.02%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Business
Business Money Market2.78%$2,500$2,500Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business Savings0.50%$500$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month CD3 months4.00%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.80%$1,000not statednot stated
11 Month CD Special11 months3.90%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD ($5,000+)12 months3.75%$5,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.65%$1,000not statednot stated
17 Month CD Special17 months3.90%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
23 Month CD Special23 months3.90%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.65%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.35%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Month IRA CD12 months3.75%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month IRA CD18 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month IRA CD24 months3.65%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month IRA CD30 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month IRA CD36 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month IRA CD48 months3.35%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month IRA CD60 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Footprint4 branches in NE
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How FirstBank of Nebraska behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised First Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.50% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

FirstBank of Nebraska has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

First Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
3 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
First Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 11, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.50% APY FirstBank of Nebraska advertises on First Savings grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,723 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

FirstBank of Nebraska CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is FirstBank of Nebraska?

HeadquartersWahoo, NE
Founded1882
Scale$470M assets · $376M deposits, $309M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 5486

Financial detail is in What FirstBank of Nebraska pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about FirstBank of Nebraska

Is FirstBank of Nebraska FDIC insured?

Yes. FirstBank of Nebraska is FDIC insured under certificate 5486, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at FirstBank of Nebraska?

FirstBank of Nebraska requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its First Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does FirstBank of Nebraska have branches?

Yes. FirstBank of Nebraska operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

FirstBank of Nebraska against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
FirstBank of Nebraska2.78%2.83%$2,5004 branches in NE
Farmers & Merchants Bank & Trust2.77%1.52%$250,0003 branches in WI
Citibank2.80%2.65%$0955 branches across 14 states
Citizens Access™2.80%2.00%$0not stated

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to FirstBank of Nebraska's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates