First State Bank of Porter savings, CD and money market rates
First State Bank of Porter advertises 0.30% APY on its Elite Savings account. The 0.30% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.07%.
Ranked #901 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY.
Estimate your earnings·What First State Bank of Porter actually pays
First State Bank of Porter at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.30% · Elite Savings · needs at least $100,000 |
| Minimum to open | $25,000 · Elite Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.07 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.70% · 12 months · 1-Year CD |
| Minimum to open | $1,000 · 12 months CD |
| Against the national average | 1.97 percentage points above the 1.73% FDIC 12-month CD average (Sep 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 0.50% · Money Market · needs at least $100,000 |
| Minimum to open | $1,000 · Money Market |
| Against the national average | 0.13 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 12836 · Porter, IN |
|---|---|
| Website | www.porterstatebank.com |
| Branches | 3 branches in IN |
| Availability | Available in IN |
First State Bank of Porter savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
First State Bank of Porter CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 0.15% | $1,000 | Renewing No Penalty CD - 91 Day |
| 6 months | 3.44% | $1,000 | 6-Month CD |
| 6 months | 0.17% | $1,000 | Renewing No Penalty CD - 182 Day |
| 12 months | 3.70% | $1,000 | 1-Year CD |
| 12 months | 0.20% | $1,000 | Renewing No Penalty CD - 1 Year |
| 24 months | 0.23% | $1,000 | Renewing No Penalty CD - 2 Year |
| 24 months | 2.63% | $1,000 | 2-Year 2nd Chance CD |
| 24 months | 2.80% | $1,000 | 2-Year CD |
| 36 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | Renewing No Penalty CD - 3 Year |
| 36 months | 2.12% | $1,000 | 3-Year CD |
| 48 months | 2.42% | $1,000 | 4-Year CD |
| 48 months | 0.27% | $1,000 | Renewing No Penalty CD - 4 Year |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 6 months | 3.14% | $1,000 | 182 Day IRA |
| 18 months | 1.26% | $25 | 18-Month IRA |
| 30 months | 2.55% | $500 | 30-Month IRA |
| 48 months | 3.03% | $500 | 48-Month IRA |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for First State Bank of Porter
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$315.70(0.8%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$25,000
Projected Balance
$38,315.70
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What First State Bank of Porter pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.30% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.07%.
In Q2 2026, First State Bank of Porter paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 2% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- First State Bank of Porter, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elite Savings | 0.30% | $25,000 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Kids Level Up Savings | 0.27% | $5 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Health Savings Account | 0.10% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Everyday Savings | 0.05% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| EZ Savings | 0.05% | $5 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Money Market | 0.50% | $1,000 | $0 | None | $10.00 Maintenance Fee if balance falls below $5,000.00 during the monthly statement cycle | not stated | Tiered |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| Renewing No Penalty CD - 91 Day | 3 months | 0.15% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 6-Month CD | 6 months | 3.44% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Renewing No Penalty CD - 182 Day | 6 months | 0.17% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 1-Year CD | 12 months | 3.70% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Renewing No Penalty CD - 1 Year | 12 months | 0.20% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Renewing No Penalty CD - 2 Year | 24 months | 0.23% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 2-Year 2nd Chance CD | 24 months | 2.63% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 2-Year CD | 24 months | 2.80% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Renewing No Penalty CD - 3 Year | 36 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 3-Year CD | 36 months | 2.12% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 4-Year CD | 48 months | 2.42% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Renewing No Penalty CD - 4 Year | 48 months | 0.27% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 182 Day IRA | 6 months | 3.14% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 18-Month IRA | 18 months | 1.26% | $25 | not stated | not stated |
| 30-Month IRA | 30 months | 2.55% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 48-Month IRA | 48 months | 3.03% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in IN |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 3 branches in IN |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How First State Bank of Porter behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Elite Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.30% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Elite Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 12 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Money Market
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Sep 4, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.30% APY First State Bank of Porter advertises on Elite Savings grows to $10,030 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,700 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
First State Bank of Porter CD rates over time
Who is First State Bank of Porter?
| Headquarters | Porter, IN |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1920 |
| Scale | $162M assets · $138M deposits, $113M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 12836 |
Financial detail is in What First State Bank of Porter pays on deposits above.
Common questions about First State Bank of Porter
Is First State Bank of Porter FDIC insured?
Yes. First State Bank of Porter is FDIC insured under certificate 12836, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at First State Bank of Porter?
First State Bank of Porter requires a minimum deposit of $25,000 to open its Elite Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does the 0.30% apply to my whole balance?
The 0.30% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.07%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.
Does First State Bank of Porter have branches?
Yes. First State Bank of Porter operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
First State Bank of Porter against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First State Bank of Porter | 0.50% | 0.11% | $1,000 | 3 branches in IN |
| Ambler Savings Bank | 1.25% | 1.59% | $50 | 7 branches in PA |
| Compass Savings Bank | 0.30% | not stated | $25 | 1 branch in PA |
| Farmers and Merchants Bank | 0.50% | 3.09% | $5 | 12 branches in NE |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First State Bank of Porter's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.