Skip to main content

First State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 15752Assets $1.6B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 2, 2026

First State Bank advertises 0.15% APY on its FSBSavings account. That is 0.23 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #278 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #249. The advertised rate has not changed in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What First State Bank actually pays

Key facts

First State Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.15% · FSBSavings
Minimum to open$25 · FSBSavings
Against the national average0.23 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.89% · 28 months · 28 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$1,000 · 28 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.27% · First Class Money Market · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · First Class Money Market
Against the national average1.64 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
First State Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate15752 · Mendota, IL
Websitewww.firststatebank.biz
Branches20 branches in IL
AvailabilityNationally available
Rates

First State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to2.27% APY
First Class Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

1.00% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
1.26% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
2.27% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.25% APY
Club Account
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.15% APY
FSBSavings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
3.89% APY
Highest CD · 28 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

Business

0.15% APY
Business Savings
$300 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First State Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months3.03%$2,50091 Day CD
5 months3.54%$1,0005 Month CD Special
6 months3.28%$2,5006 Month CD
7 months3.53%$1,0007 Month CD Special
11 months3.79%$1,00011 Month CD Special
11 months3.79%$1,00011 Month CD Special (Online Only)
12 months3.28%$1,00012 Month CD
18 months3.43%$1,00018 Month CD
24 months3.54%$1,00024 Month CD
28 months3.89%$1,00028 Month CD Special
30 months3.02%$1,00030 Month CD
36 months3.02%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months3.02%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months3.02%$1,00060 Month CD
96 months3.02%$1,00096 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First State Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$93.40(0.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,093.40

Effective APY
0.25%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First State Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.32%
Q1 2026 ·
0.15% APY
As observed Sep 2, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, First State Bank paid a higher average rate than 53% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$1.3B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
14.5%
Q1 2026
$1.6B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • First State Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Club Account0.25%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
FSBSavings0.15%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
First Class Money Market2.27%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Business Savings0.15%$300$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
91 Day CD3 months3.03%$2,500not statednot stated
5 Month CD Special5 months3.54%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.28%$2,500not statednot stated
7 Month CD Special7 months3.53%$1,000not statednot stated
11 Month CD Special11 months3.79%$1,000not statednot stated
11 Month CD Special (Online Only)11 months3.79%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.28%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.43%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.54%$1,000not statednot stated
28 Month CD Special28 months3.89%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
96 Month CD96 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityNationally available
Footprint20 branches in IL
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First State Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised FSBSavings rate in the last 12 months was 0.15% (observed through Sep 2, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

First State Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

FSBSavings
The same as 7 days ago.
28 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
First Class Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 15, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.15% APY First State Bank advertises on FSBSavings grows to $10,015 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,689 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

First State Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is First State Bank?

HeadquartersMendota, IL
Founded1940
Scale$1.6B assets · $1.3B deposits, $1.1B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 15752

Financial detail is in What First State Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First State Bank

Is First State Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. First State Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 15752, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First State Bank?

First State Bank requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its FSBSavings account, as observed on Sep 2, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does First State Bank have branches?

Yes. First State Bank operates 20 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First State Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
First State Bank2.27%2.32%$2,50020 branches in IL
Central Penn Bank & Trust1.25%2.15%not stated14 branches in PA
First Westroads Bank, Inc.0.25%2.48%$1002 branches in NE
Garden Plain State Bank1.75%2.05%not stated2 branches in KS

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First State Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates