Skip to main content

BANKWEST savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 16704Assets $240M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

BANKWEST advertises 0.15% APY on its Regular Savings account. That is 0.22 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1420 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1271.

Estimate your earnings·What BANKWEST actually pays

Key facts

BANKWEST at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.15% · Regular Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Regular Savings
Against the national average0.22 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.81% · 13 months · 13 Month Certificate Special
Minimum to open$25,000 · 13 months CD
Against the national average2.08 percentage points above the 1.73% FDIC 12-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.12% · High-Yield Money Market Savings · needs at least $750,000
Minimum to open$10,000 · High-Yield Money Market Savings
Against the national average1.49 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
BANKWEST bank facts
FDIC certificate16704 · Rockford, MN
Websitewww.bankwestmn.com
Branches3 branches in MN
AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Rates

BANKWEST savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to2.12% APY
High-Yield Money Market Savings
Needs at least $750,000
$10,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.75% APY on balances $0 - $249,999.99
1.76% APY on balances $250,000 - $749,999.99
2.12% APY on balances $750,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
Up to1.00% APY
Preferred Money Market Savings
Needs at least $250,000
$10,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $0 - $49,999.99
0.60% APY on balances $50,000 - $249,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.15% APY
Regular Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.15% APY
Money Market Savings
$2,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
3.81% APY
Highest CD · 13 months
$25,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

IRA

2.27% APY
Highest CD · 30 months
$2,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

BANKWEST CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months1.61%$2,0003 Month Certificate
6 months1.66%$2,0006 Month Certificate
7 months3.50%$25,0007 Month Certificate Special
12 months1.81%$2,00012 Month Certificate
13 months3.81%$25,00013 Month Certificate Special
24 months1.91%$2,00024 Month Certificate
36 months2.02%$2,00036 Month Certificate
48 months2.17%$2,00048 Month Certificate
60 months2.32%$2,00060 Month Certificate
IRA CDs
18 months2.02%$2,00018 Month IRA Certificate
30 months2.27%$2,00030 Month IRA Certificate

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for BANKWEST

All calculations are based on APY.

Regular Savings0.15% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$56.00(0.4%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,056.00

Effective APY
0.15%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What BANKWEST pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.02%
Q2 2026 ·
0.15% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, BANKWEST paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 33% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.33%
Q2 2026 ·
$218M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
24.9%
Q2 2026
$240M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • BANKWEST, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Regular Savings0.15%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
High-Yield Money Market Savings2.12%$10,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Preferred Money Market Savings1.00%$10,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market Savings0.15%$2,000$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month Certificate3 months1.61%$2,000not statednot stated
6 Month Certificate6 months1.66%$2,000not statednot stated
7 Month Certificate Special7 months3.50%$25,000not statednot stated
12 Month Certificate12 months1.81%$2,000not statednot stated
13 Month Certificate Special13 months3.81%$25,000not statednot stated
24 Month Certificate24 months1.91%$2,000not statednot stated
36 Month Certificate36 months2.02%$2,000not statednot stated
48 Month Certificate48 months2.17%$2,000not statednot stated
60 Month Certificate60 months2.32%$2,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
18 Month IRA Certificate18 months2.02%$2,000not statednot stated
30 Month IRA Certificate30 months2.27%$2,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Footprint3 branches in MN
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How BANKWEST behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Regular Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.15% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Banksparency observed no cuts to BANKWEST's advertised savings rate in the last 12 months, a period with 2 Federal Reserve cuts.

Rate last changed
Sep 17, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.15% APY BANKWEST advertises on Regular Savings grows to $10,015 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,686 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

BANKWEST CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is BANKWEST?

HeadquartersRockford, MN
Founded1948
Scale$240M assets · $218M deposits, $163M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 16704
Charter stateMinnesota · one of 223 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size2,667th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 9% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What BANKWEST pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about BANKWEST

Is BANKWEST FDIC insured?

Yes. BANKWEST is FDIC insured under certificate 16704, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at BANKWEST?

BANKWEST requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Regular Savings account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does BANKWEST have branches?

Yes. BANKWEST operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

BANKWEST against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
BANKWEST0.15%1.02%$1003 branches in MN
American Metro Bank0.15%2.40%$2502 branches in IL
Blackhawk Bank & Trust0.15%1.54%$10019 branches in IA, IL
Central Penn Bank & Trust0.15%2.28%$014 branches in PA

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to BANKWEST's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Minnesota, nearest to BANKWEST in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in Minnesota.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates