Skip to main content

Blackhawk Bank & Trust savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 18402Assets $2.0B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

Blackhawk Bank & Trust advertises 0.15% APY on its Savings Account. That is 0.22 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1421 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1272. The advertised rate has not changed in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Estimate your earnings·What Blackhawk Bank & Trust actually pays

Key facts

Blackhawk Bank & Trust at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.15% · Savings Account
Minimum to open$100 · Savings Account
Against the national average0.22 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.00% · 9 months · 9-month SHC CD
Minimum to open$2,500 · 9 months CD
Blackhawk Bank & Trust bank facts
FDIC certificate18402 · Milan, IL
Websitewww.choosethechief.com
Branches19 branches in IA, IL
AvailabilityAvailable in IA, IL
Rates

Blackhawk Bank & Trust savings and CD rates

Personal

Up to2.25% APY
Youth Savings Account
Youth Savings
On balances up to $5,000 · 0.15% above
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

2.25% APY on balances $0 - $5,000
0.15% APY on balances $5,000.01+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.15% APY
Savings Account
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.10% APY
Christmas Club Account
Club Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
4.00% APY
Highest CD · 9 months
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

IRA

2.75% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Blackhawk Bank & Trust CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months0.75%$2,5003-month SHC CD
3 months0.50%$2,5003-month CD
6 months3.00%$2,5006-month SHC CD
6 months2.75%$2,5006-month CD
9 months4.00%$2,5009-month SHC CD
9 months4.00%$2,5009-month CD
12 months3.25%$50012-month SHC CD
12 months3.00%$50012-month CD
18 months3.50%$50018-month SHC CD
18 months3.25%$50018-month CD
24 months2.25%$50024-month SHC CD
24 months2.00%$50024-month CD
30 months2.50%$50030-month SHC CD
30 months2.25%$50030-month CD
48 months1.75%$50048-month SHC CD
48 months1.50%$50048-month CD
60 months3.00%$50060-month SHC CD
60 months2.75%$50060-month CD
IRA CDs
18 months2.75%$50018-month IRA CD
18 months0.65%$5018-month IRA Builder CD
48 months1.75%$50048-month IRA CD
60 months2.75%$50060-month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Blackhawk Bank & Trust

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 2.25% ($0 - $5,000), 0.15% ($5,000.01+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$152.00(1.1%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,152.00

Effective APY
0.41%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Blackhawk Bank & Trust pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.54%
Q2 2026 ·
0.15% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Blackhawk Bank & Trust paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 54% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.35%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.6B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
15.2%
Q2 2026
$2.0B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Blackhawk Bank & Trust, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Youth Savings Account2.25%$10$0$5,000not statednot statedTiered
Savings Account0.15%$100$0NoneA monthly minimum balance fee of $3.00 is applied if the balance falls below $100.00 any day of the month. Minors (under the age of 18 years) are exempt from the minimum balance requirements.not statedOne rate
Christmas Club Account0.10%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3-month SHC CD3 months0.75%$2,500not statednot stated
3-month CD3 months0.50%$2,500not statednot stated
6-month SHC CD6 months3.00%$2,500not statednot stated
6-month CD6 months2.75%$2,500not statednot stated
9-month SHC CD9 months4.00%$2,500not statednot stated
9-month CD9 months4.00%$2,500not statednot stated
12-month SHC CD12 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
12-month CD12 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
18-month SHC CD18 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
18-month CD18 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
24-month SHC CD24 months2.25%$500not statednot stated
24-month CD24 months2.00%$500not statednot stated
30-month SHC CD30 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
30-month CD30 months2.25%$500not statednot stated
48-month SHC CD48 months1.75%$500not statednot stated
48-month CD48 months1.50%$500not statednot stated
60-month SHC CD60 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
60-month CD60 months2.75%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
18-month IRA CD18 months2.75%$500not statednot stated
18-month IRA Builder CD18 months0.65%$50not statednot stated
48-month IRA CD48 months1.75%$500not statednot stated
60-month IRA CD60 months2.75%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IA, IL
Footprint19 branches in IA, IL
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Blackhawk Bank & Trust behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Savings Account rate in the last 12 months was 0.15% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Blackhawk Bank & Trust has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Rate last changed
Sep 16, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.15% APY Blackhawk Bank & Trust advertises on Savings Account grows to $10,015 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,686 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Blackhawk Bank & Trust CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Blackhawk Bank & Trust?

HeadquartersMilan, IL
Founded1961
Scale$2.0B assets · $1.6B deposits, $1.4B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 18402
Charter stateIllinois · one of 325 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size614th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 73% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Blackhawk Bank & Trust pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Blackhawk Bank & Trust

Is Blackhawk Bank & Trust FDIC insured?

Yes. Blackhawk Bank & Trust is FDIC insured under certificate 18402, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Blackhawk Bank & Trust?

Blackhawk Bank & Trust requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Savings Account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Blackhawk Bank & Trust have branches?

Yes. Blackhawk Bank & Trust operates 19 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Blackhawk Bank & Trust against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Blackhawk Bank & Trust0.15%1.54%$10019 branches in IA, IL
American Metro Bank0.15%2.40%$2502 branches in IL
BANKWEST0.15%1.02%$1003 branches in MN
Central Penn Bank & Trust0.15%2.28%$014 branches in PA

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Blackhawk Bank & Trust's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Illinois, nearest to Blackhawk Bank & Trust in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

State pages: banks in Illinois.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates