Skip to main content

First County Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 18204Assets $2.4B (Q1 2026)Rate change observed Sep 4, 2026Newest reading Sep 11, 2026

First County Bank advertises 4.00% APY on its FirstMaturedCD Savings account. That is 3.62 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #21 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #12.

Estimate your earnings·What First County Bank actually pays

Key facts

First County Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY4.00% · FirstMaturedCD Savings
Minimum to open$1 · FirstMaturedCD Savings
Against the national average3.62 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.20% · 14 months · 14 Month Easy-Out CD
Minimum to opennot stated · 14 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.03% · First Tiered Money Market · needs at least $25,000
Minimum to open$1 · First Tiered Money Market
Against the national average0.60 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
First County Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate18204 · Stamford, CT
Websitewww.firstcountybank.com
Branches14 branches in CT
AvailabilityAvailable in CT
Rates

First County Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

4.00% APY
FirstMaturedCD Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
Up to0.03% APY
FirstPrize $avings
Needs at least $100,000
$1 minimum

How the rate applies

0.01% APY on balances $1 - $24,999.99
0.02% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
0.03% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
Up to0.03% APY
First Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$1 minimum

How the rate applies

0.01% APY on balances $1 - $24,999.99
0.02% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
0.03% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
Up to0.03% APY
First Tiered Money Market
Needs at least $25,000
$1 minimum

How the rate applies

0.01% APY on balances $1 - $2,499.99
0.02% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
0.03% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
4.20% APY
Highest CD · 14 months
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026

IRA

0.03% APY
IRA Money Market
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
3.15% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026

Business

Up to0.03% APY
First Business Money Market
Needs at least $25,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.01% APY on balances $1 - $2,499.99
0.02% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
0.03% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
Up to0.03% APY
First Business Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.01% APY on balances $1 - $24,999.99
0.02% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
0.03% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First County Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
2 months2.75%not stated60 Day CD
3 months4.00%not stated3 Month CD
6 months2.75%not stated6 Month CD
11 months3.50%not stated11 Month No Penalty CD
12 months3.00%not statedOne Year Tax-Deferred CD
12 months0.15%not stated12 Month CD
13 months1.75%not stated13 Month CD
14 months4.20%not stated14 Month Easy-Out CD
15 months1.00%not stated15 Month CD
18 months3.65%not stated18 Month No Penalty CD
18 months0.30%not stated18 Month Bump Rate CD
18 months2.75%not stated18 Month CD
24 months3.00%not stated24 Month CD
30 months0.35%not stated30 Month Bump Rate CD
36 months0.40%not stated36 Month Bump Rate CD
36 months3.25%not stated36 Month CD
48 months0.50%not stated48 Month CD
60 months0.55%not stated60 Month CD
IRA CDs
12 months3.15%not stated1 Year IRA CD
18 months3.00%not stated18 Month IRA CD
30 months3.00%not stated2 1/2 Year IRA CD
60 months0.55%not stated5 Year IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First County Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,568.10(10.1%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$15,568.10

Effective APY
4.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First County Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.69%
Q1 2026 ·
4.00% APY
As observed Sep 11, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, First County Bank paid a higher average rate than 74% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$1.8B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
20.5%
Q1 2026
$2.4B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • First County Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
FirstMaturedCD Savings4.00%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
FirstPrize $avings0.03%$1$1Nonenot statednot statedTiered
First Savings0.03%$1$1Nonenot statednot statedTiered
First Tiered Money Market0.03%$1$1Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Money Market0.03%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Business
First Business Money Market0.03%$50$1Nonenot statednot statedTiered
First Business Savings0.03%$50$1Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
60 Day CD2 months2.75%not statednot statednot stated
3 Month CD3 months4.00%not statednot statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months2.75%not statednot statednot stated
11 Month No Penalty CD11 months3.50%not statednot statednot stated
One Year Tax-Deferred CD12 months3.00%not statednot statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months0.15%not statednot statednot stated
13 Month CD13 months1.75%not statednot statednot stated
14 Month Easy-Out CD14 months4.20%not statednot statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months1.00%not statednot statednot stated
18 Month No Penalty CD18 months3.65%not statednot statednot stated
18 Month Bump Rate CD18 months0.30%not statednot statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months2.75%not statednot statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.00%not statednot statednot stated
30 Month Bump Rate CD30 months0.35%not statednot statednot stated
36 Month Bump Rate CD36 months0.40%not statednot statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.25%not statednot statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months0.50%not statednot statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months0.55%not statednot statednot stated
IRA CDs
1 Year IRA CD12 months3.15%not statednot statednot stated
18 Month IRA CD18 months3.00%not statednot statednot stated
2 1/2 Year IRA CD30 months3.00%not statednot statednot stated
5 Year IRA CD60 months0.55%not statednot statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in CT
Footprint14 branches in CT
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First County Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised FirstMaturedCD Savings rate in the last 12 months was 4.00% (observed through Sep 11, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Banksparency observed no cuts to First County Bank's advertised savings rate in the last 12 months, a period with 3 Federal Reserve cuts.

Recent rate changes, as observed

  • Obs. Sep 4, 202614 Month Easy-Out CDRaise:2.75%to4.20%
FirstMaturedCD Savings
The same as 30 days ago.
14 months CD
Up 1.45 percentage points from 7 days ago.
First Tiered Money Market
The same as 30 days ago.

$10,000 at the 4.00% APY First County Bank advertises on FirstMaturedCD Savings grows to $10,400 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $10,062 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

First County Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is First County Bank?

HeadquartersStamford, CT
Founded1851
Scale$2.4B assets · $1.8B deposits, $1.4B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 18204

Financial detail is in What First County Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First County Bank

Is First County Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. First County Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 18204, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First County Bank?

First County Bank requires a minimum deposit of $1 to open its FirstMaturedCD Savings account, as observed on Sep 11, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does First County Bank have branches?

Yes. First County Bank operates 14 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First County Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
First County Bank4.00%2.69%$114 branches in CT
Betterment4.00%not stated$0not stated
Carver Bank4.00%2.03%$5,0007 branches in NY
First Bank4.00%2.41%$576 branches in CA, IL, KS, MO

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First County Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates