Skip to main content

Empire State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 57672Assets $618M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 29, 2026

Empire State Bank advertises 3.30% APY on its Premier Savings account. The 3.30% applies to balances of $25,000 or more, up to $5,000,000. Below $25,000, the account advertises 0.05%. A balance above $5,000,000 earns 3.10% on the whole amount.

Ranked #183 of 2523 tracked savings rates by advertised APY.

Estimate your earnings·What Empire State Bank actually pays

Key facts

Empire State Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY3.30% · Premier Savings · balances of $25,000 to $5,000,000 only
Minimum to open$25,000 · Premier Savings
Against the national average2.93 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.25% · 12 months · 12 Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 12 months CD
Against the national average2.52 percentage points above the 1.73% FDIC 12-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.20% · Personal Money Market · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Personal Money Market
Against the national average0.43 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Empire State Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate57672 · Staten Island, NY
Websitewww.esbna.com
Branches7 branches in NY
AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Rates

Empire State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

3.30% APY
Premier Savings
On balances of $25,000 to $5,000,000 · 0.05% below
$25,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
3.30% APY on balances $25,000 - $5,000,000
3.10% APY on balances $5,000,000.01 - $5,999,999.99
2.50% APY on balances $6,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
1.25% APY
e-Advantage Personal Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
0.30% APY
Empire Builder Savings
On balances of $5,000 to $250,000 · 0.05% below

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $4,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $5,000 - $250,000
0.05% APY on balances $250,000.01+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
Up to0.20% APY
Statement Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
Up to0.20% APY
Minor Statement Savings
Needs at least $100,000

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
Up to0.20% APY
Personal Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.10% APY on balances $2,500 - $99,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
4.25% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026

IRA

1.25% APY
e-Advantage IRA Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
4.25% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026

Business

1.25% APY
e-Advantage Business Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
Up to0.20% APY
Business Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.10% APY on balances $2,500 - $99,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 59 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.66%, and one account in ten advertises 4.02% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Empire State Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.70%$1,0003 Month CD
5 months3.70%$1,0005 Month CD
6 months3.70%$1,0006 Month CD
7 months4.00%$1,0007 Month CD
8 months3.70%$1,0008 Month CD
9 months3.70%$1,0009 Month CD
10 months3.70%$1,00010 Month CD
11 months3.70%$1,00011 Month CD
12 months4.25%$1,00012 Month CD
13 months3.70%$1,00013 Month CD
15 months4.25%$1,00015 Month CD
18 months3.00%$1,00018 Month CD
22 months3.00%$1,00022 Month CD
24 months3.00%$1,00024 Month CD
25 months3.00%$1,00025 Month CD
30 months3.00%$1,00030 Month CD
34 months3.00%$1,00034 Month CD
36 months3.00%$1,00036 Month CD
36 months0.60%$1,00036 Month Access CD
48 months3.00%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months3.00%$1,00060 Month CD
IRA CDs
3 months3.70%$1,0003 Month IRA CD
5 months3.70%$1,0005 Month IRA CD
6 months3.70%$1,0006 Month IRA CD
7 months4.00%$1,0007 Month IRA CD
8 months3.70%$1,0008 Month IRA CD
9 months3.70%$1,0009 Month IRA CD
10 months3.70%$1,00010 Month IRA CD
11 months3.70%$1,00011 Month IRA CD
12 months4.25%$1,00012 Month IRA CD
13 months3.70%$1,00013 Month IRA CD
15 months4.25%$1,00015 Month IRA CD
18 months3.00%$1,00018 Month IRA CD
22 months3.00%$1,00022 Month IRA CD
24 months3.00%$1,00024 Month IRA CD
25 months3.00%$1,00025 Month IRA CD
30 months3.00%$1,00030 Month IRA CD
34 months3.00%$1,00034 Month IRA CD
36 months3.00%$1,00036 Month IRA CD
36 months3.00%$1,00036 Month Access IRA CD
48 months3.00%$1,00048 Month IRA CD
60 months3.00%$1,00060 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Empire State Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.05% to 3.30% APY across 4 balance tiers.
0.05% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
3.30% APY on balances $25,000 - $5,000,000
3.10% APY on balances $5,000,000.01 - $5,999,999.99
2.50% APY on balances $6,000,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$5,512.20(12.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $25,000

Projected Balance

$43,512.20

Effective APY
3.30%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Empire State Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.26%
Q2 2026 ·
3.30% APY
As observed Sep 29, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 3.30% applies to balances of $25,000 or more, up to $5,000,000. Below $25,000, the account advertises 0.05%. A balance above $5,000,000 earns 3.10% on the whole amount.

In Q2 2026, Empire State Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 78% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.55%
Q2 2026 ·
$512M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
22.4%
Q2 2026
$618M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Empire State Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Premier Savings3.30%$25,000$0$5,000,000not statednot statedTiered
e-Advantage Personal Savings1.25%$100$2,500Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Empire Builder Savings0.30%not stated$0$250,000not statednot statedTiered
Statement Savings0.20%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Minor Statement Savings0.20%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Personal Money Market0.20%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
e-Advantage IRA Savings1.25%$100$2,500Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Business
e-Advantage Business Savings1.25%$100$2,500Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Business Money Market0.20%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month CD3 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Month CD5 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
7 Month CD7 months4.00%$1,000not statednot stated
8 Month CD8 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
10 Month CD10 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
11 Month CD11 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months4.25%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month CD13 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months4.25%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
22 Month CD22 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
25 Month CD25 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
34 Month CD34 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month Access CD36 months0.60%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
3 Month IRA CD3 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Month IRA CD5 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month IRA CD6 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
7 Month IRA CD7 months4.00%$1,000not statednot stated
8 Month IRA CD8 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month IRA CD9 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
10 Month IRA CD10 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
11 Month IRA CD11 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month IRA CD12 months4.25%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month IRA CD13 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month IRA CD15 months4.25%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month IRA CD18 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
22 Month IRA CD22 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month IRA CD24 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
25 Month IRA CD25 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month IRA CD30 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
34 Month IRA CD34 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month IRA CD36 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month Access IRA CD36 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month IRA CD48 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month IRA CD60 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Footprint7 branches in NY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Empire State Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Premier Savings rate in the last 12 months was 3.30% (observed through Sep 29, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

$10,000 at the 3.30% APY Empire State Bank advertises on Premier Savings grows to $10,330 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,990 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Empire State Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Empire State Bank?

HeadquartersStaten Island, NY
Founded2004
Scale$618M assets · $512M deposits, $397M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 57672
Charter stateNew York · one of 107 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size1,534th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 7% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Empire State Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Empire State Bank

Is Empire State Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Empire State Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 57672, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Empire State Bank?

Empire State Bank requires a minimum deposit of $25,000 to open its Premier Savings account, as observed on Sep 29, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 3.30% apply to my whole balance?

The 3.30% applies to balances of $25,000 or more, up to $5,000,000. Below $25,000, the account advertises 0.05%. A balance above $5,000,000 earns 3.10% on the whole amount.

Does Empire State Bank have branches?

Yes. Empire State Bank operates 7 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Empire State Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Empire State Bank3.30%2.26%$25,0007 branches in NY
Clear Lake Bank and Trust Company3.30%1.37%not stated5 branches in IA
One American Bank3.30%2.73%$1003 branches in SD
Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution3.30%1.46%not stated7 branches in ME

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Empire State Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in New York, nearest to Empire State Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in New York.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates