Live Oak Bank savings and CD rates
Live Oak Bank advertises 4.00% APY on its Personal Savings account. That is 3.62 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #46 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #29. It was #42 three months ago.
Live Oak Bank at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 4.00% · Personal Savings |
| Minimum to open | $0 · Personal Savings |
| Against the national average | 3.62 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.15% · 12 months · 1 Year Personal CD |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · 12 months CD |
| Against the national average | 2.44 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 58665 · Wilmington, NC |
|---|---|
| Website | www.liveoak.bank |
| Branches | 1 branch in NC |
| Availability | Nationally available |
Live Oak Bank savings and CD rates
Personal
Business
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Live Oak Bank CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 3.00% | $2,500 | 3-Month Personal CD |
| 6 months | 3.95% | $2,500 | 6-Month Personal CD |
| 9 months | 4.05% | $2,500 | 9-Month Personal CD |
| 12 months | 4.15% | $2,500 | 1 Year Personal CD |
| 18 months | 3.95% | $2,500 | 18-Month Personal CD |
| 24 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | 2 Year Personal CD |
| 36 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | 3 Year Personal CD |
| 48 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | 4 Year Personal CD |
| 60 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | 5 Year Personal CD |
| Business CDs | |||
| 3 months | 3.00% | $2,500 | 3-Month Business CD |
| 6 months | 3.95% | $2,500 | 6-Month Business CD |
| 9 months | 4.05% | $2,500 | 9-Month Business CD |
| 12 months | 4.15% | $2,500 | 1 Year Business CD |
| 18 months | 3.95% | $2,500 | 18-Month Business CD |
| 24 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | 2 Year Business CD |
| 36 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | 3 Year Business CD |
| 48 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | 4 Year Business CD |
| 60 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | 5 Year Business CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Live Oak Bank
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$1,568.10(10.1%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$15,568.10
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Live Oak Bank pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q2 2026, Live Oak Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 95% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- Live Oak Bank, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal | ||||||||
| Personal Savings | 4.00% | $0 | $0 | None | $0 | None | One rate | |
| Business | ||||||||
| Business Savings | 2.75% | $0 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 3-Month Personal CD | 3 months | 3.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6-Month Personal CD | 6 months | 3.95% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 9-Month Personal CD | 9 months | 4.05% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 1 Year Personal CD | 12 months | 4.15% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18-Month Personal CD | 18 months | 3.95% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Year Personal CD | 24 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year Personal CD | 36 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Year Personal CD | 48 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Year Personal CD | 60 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| Business CDs | |||||
| 3-Month Business CD | 3 months | 3.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6-Month Business CD | 6 months | 3.95% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 9-Month Business CD | 9 months | 4.05% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 1 Year Business CD | 12 months | 4.15% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18-Month Business CD | 18 months | 3.95% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Year Business CD | 24 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year Business CD | 36 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Year Business CD | 48 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Year Business CD | 60 months | 2.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Nationally available |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 1 branch in NC |
| App Store rating | 2.6 out of 5 |
| Google Play rating | 2.9 out of 5 |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Live Oak Bank behaves over time
- 12-month high
- 4.00%
- 12-month low
- 3.80%
- Advertised now
- 4.00%
- At the 12-month high
- Observed cuts, 12 months
- 0
- In a window with 2 Federal Reserve cuts
The advertised Personal Savings rate, observed through Sep 19, 2026. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
Recent rate changes, as observed
- Obs. Sep 8, 2026Personal SavingsRaise:3.90%to4.00%
- Obs. Sep 8, 20261 Year Personal CDRaise:4.10%to4.15%
- Obs. Sep 8, 20261 Year Business CDRaise:4.10%to4.15%
- Obs. Sep 8, 20266-Month Personal CDRaise:3.90%to3.95%
- Obs. Sep 8, 202618-Month Personal CDRaise:3.90%to3.95%
- Personal Savings
- Up 0.10 percentage points from 30 days ago.
- 12 months CD
- Up 0.05 percentage points from 30 days ago.
At the top advertised rates we observed for Live Oak Bank's Personal Savings, $10,000 would have grown to about $10,384 over the past year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). So it buys as much as $10,043 did a year ago. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
- Personal Savings APY
- Banksparency savings index
- Consumer price index, year over year
- Fed rate cut
Live Oak Bank CD rates over time
Who is Live Oak Bank?
| Headquarters | Wilmington, NC |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2008 |
| Scale | $16.0B assets · $14.7B deposits, $13.9B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 58665 |
| BBB rating | A- · Not BBB Accredited |
| Affiliation | Subsidiary of Live Oak Bancshares, Inc. (NYSE: LOB) |
Financial detail is in What Live Oak Bank pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Live Oak Bank
Is Live Oak Bank FDIC insured?
Yes. Live Oak Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 58665, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Live Oak Bank?
Live Oak Bank requires no minimum deposit to open its Personal Savings account, as observed on Sep 19, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does Live Oak Bank have branches?
Yes. Live Oak Bank operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Live Oak Bank against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Live Oak Bank | 4.00% | 3.17% | $0 | 1 branch in NC |
| Betterment | 4.00% | not stated | $0 | not stated |
| Carver Bank | 4.00% | 1.30% | $5,000 | 7 branches in NY |
| First Bank | 4.00% | 1.20% | $5 | 76 branches in CA, IL, KS, MO |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Live Oak Bank's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.