Community Bank Owatonna savings, CD and money market rates
Community Bank Owatonna advertises 0.30% APY on its Classic Savings account. The 0.30% needs a balance of at least $10,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.20%.
That is 0.07 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).
Ranked #882 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #731.
Estimate your earnings·What Community Bank Owatonna actually pays
Community Bank Owatonna at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.30% · Classic Savings · needs at least $10,000 |
| Minimum to open | $50 · Classic Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.07 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.00% · 15 months · 15 Month CD Special |
| Minimum to open | $5,000 · 15 months CD |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | 1.00% · Smart Rate Money Market · needs at least $90,000 |
| Minimum to open | $25,000 · Smart Rate Money Market |
| Against the national average | 0.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 57468 · Owatonna, MN |
|---|---|
| Website | www.cbowatonna.com |
| Branches | 1 branch in MN |
| Availability | Available in MN |
Community Bank Owatonna savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
Business
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Community Bank Owatonna CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 months | 1.10% | $1,000 | 91 Day Automatic Renewable Certificate |
| 6 months | 3.75% | $5,000 | 6 Month CD Special |
| 12 months | 2.75% | $1,000 | 1 Year Automatic Renewable Certificate |
| 15 months | 4.00% | $5,000 | 15 Month CD Special |
| 24 months | 2.50% | $1,000 | 2 Year Automatic Renewable Certificate |
| 36 months | 2.50% | $1,000 | 3 Year Automatic Renewable Certificate |
| 48 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | 4 Year Automatic Renewable Certificate |
| 60 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | 5 Year Automatic Renewable Certificate |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Community Bank Owatonna
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$1,114.90(2.9%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$25,000
Projected Balance
$39,114.90
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Community Bank Owatonna pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.30% needs a balance of at least $10,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.20%.
In Q2 2026, Community Bank Owatonna paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 32% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- Community Bank Owatonna, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal | ||||||||
| Health Savings | 0.30% | $50 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Classic Savings | 0.30% | $50 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Early Saver Savings | 0.30% | $25 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Smart Rate Money Market | 1.00% | $25,000 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Business | ||||||||
| Business Money Market Savings | 1.00% | $25,000 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Business Classic Savings | 0.30% | $200 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 91 Day Automatic Renewable Certificate | 3 months | 1.10% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month CD Special | 6 months | 3.75% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 1 Year Automatic Renewable Certificate | 12 months | 2.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 15 Month CD Special | 15 months | 4.00% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Year Automatic Renewable Certificate | 24 months | 2.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year Automatic Renewable Certificate | 36 months | 2.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Year Automatic Renewable Certificate | 48 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Year Automatic Renewable Certificate | 60 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in MN |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 1 branch in MN |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Community Bank Owatonna behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Classic Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.30% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Classic Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 15 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Smart Rate Money Market
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Sep 6, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.30% APY Community Bank Owatonna advertises on Classic Savings grows to $10,030 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,700 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
Community Bank Owatonna CD rates over time
Who is Community Bank Owatonna?
| Headquarters | Owatonna, MN |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2003 |
| Scale | $103M assets · $95M deposits, $78M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 57468 |
Financial detail is in What Community Bank Owatonna pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Community Bank Owatonna
Is Community Bank Owatonna FDIC insured?
Yes. Community Bank Owatonna is FDIC insured under certificate 57468, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Community Bank Owatonna?
Community Bank Owatonna requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Classic Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does the 0.30% apply to my whole balance?
The 0.30% needs a balance of at least $10,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.20%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.
Does Community Bank Owatonna have branches?
Yes. Community Bank Owatonna operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Community Bank Owatonna against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Community Bank Owatonna | 1.00% | 0.98% | $25,000 | 1 branch in MN |
| Bank of Star Valley | 2.53% | 0.97% | $1,000 | 3 branches in WY |
| BankGloucester | 2.00% | 1.61% | $10,000 | 3 branches in MA |
| CBBC Bank | 1.00% | 0.70% | $1,000 | 7 branches in TN |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Community Bank Owatonna's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.