Skip to main content

Bank of Franklin County savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 35543Assets $416M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Bank of Franklin County advertises 0.05% APY on its BFC Premier Savings account. That is 0.33 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

A checking account at the bank is required.

Ranked #505 of 645 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #465.

Estimate your earnings·What Bank of Franklin County actually pays

Key facts

Bank of Franklin County at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.05% · BFC Premier Savings · checking account required
Minimum to open$25 · BFC Premier Savings
Against the national average0.33 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.90% · 18 months · 18 Month YOUTH Fair CD Special
Minimum to open$100 · 18 months CD
Bank of Franklin County bank facts
FDIC certificate35543 · Washington, MO
Websitewww.bankoffranklincounty.com
Branches6 branches in MO
AvailabilityAvailable in MO
Rates

Bank of Franklin County savings and CD rates

Personal

0.50% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.10% APY
CLUB Account (with auto deposit)
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.10% APY
Franklin Jr. Savings
Youth Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.05% APY
BFC Premier Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.05% APY
Club Account
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.05% APY
Freedom Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
4.90% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

1.31% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Business

Up to0.35% APY
Money Market (Commercial)
Needs at least $50,000
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $49,999
0.35% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.05% APY
Business Growth Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Bank of Franklin County CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.65%$50090 Day CD Special
5 months3.65%$5005 Month CD Special
6 months3.55%$5006 Month Certificate
10 months3.55%$50010 Month CD Special
12 months3.55%$50012 Month Certificate
15 months4.15%$50015 Month CD Special
18 months4.90%$10018 Month YOUTH Fair CD Special
18 months3.49%$50018 Month Certificate
24 months3.97%$50024 Month Certificate
36 months3.44%$50036 Month Certificate
48 months3.44%$50048 Month Certificate
60 months4.34%$50060 Month Certificate
IRA CDs
60 months1.31%$500Educational IRA 60 Mo CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Bank of Franklin County

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$187.40(1.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,187.40

Effective APY
0.50%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Bank of Franklin County pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.43%
Q1 2026 ·
0.05% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Bank of Franklin County paid a higher average rate than 60% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$350M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
17.4%
Q1 2026
$416M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Bank of Franklin County, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Health Savings Account0.50%$1$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
CLUB Account (with auto deposit)0.10%$1$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
Franklin Jr. Savings0.10%$25$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
BFC Premier Savings0.05%$25$0Nonenot statedChecking accountTiered
Club Account0.05%$1$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
Freedom Savings0.05%$25$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Business
Money Market (Commercial)0.35%$25$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Business Growth Savings0.05%$25$0Nonenot statedChecking accountTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
90 Day CD Special3 months3.65%$500not statednot stated
5 Month CD Special5 months3.65%$500not statednot stated
6 Month Certificate6 months3.55%$500not statednot stated
10 Month CD Special10 months3.55%$500not statednot stated
12 Month Certificate12 months3.55%$500not statednot stated
15 Month CD Special15 months4.15%$500not statednot stated
18 Month YOUTH Fair CD Special18 months4.90%$100not statednot stated
18 Month Certificate18 months3.49%$500not statednot stated
24 Month Certificate24 months3.97%$500not statednot stated
36 Month Certificate36 months3.44%$500not statednot stated
48 Month Certificate48 months3.44%$500not statednot stated
60 Month Certificate60 months4.34%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
Educational IRA 60 Mo CD60 months1.31%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MO
Footprint6 branches in MO
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Bank of Franklin County behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised BFC Premier Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.05% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Rate last changed
Sep 6, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.05% APY Bank of Franklin County advertises on BFC Premier Savings grows to $10,005 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,680 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Bank of Franklin County CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Bank of Franklin County?

HeadquartersWashington, MO
Founded2000
Scale$416M assets · $350M deposits, $289M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 35543

Financial detail is in What Bank of Franklin County pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Bank of Franklin County

Is Bank of Franklin County FDIC insured?

Yes. Bank of Franklin County is FDIC insured under certificate 35543, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Bank of Franklin County?

Bank of Franklin County requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its BFC Premier Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Bank of Franklin County have branches?

Yes. Bank of Franklin County operates 6 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Bank of Franklin County against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Bank of Franklin County0.50%2.43%$16 branches in MO
American Bank and Trust Company, National Association2.84%2.03%not stated8 branches in IA, IL
American Heritage Bank2.15%1.94%$5,00024 branches in OK
Arundel Federal Savings Bank0.80%2.18%$1,0005 branches in MD

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Bank of Franklin County's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates