First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert savings, CD and money market rates
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert advertises up to 0.05% APY on its First Federal Savings Account. The 0.05% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.
On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.02% overall, about $2 in a year, which is 0.36 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #870 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #936.
Estimate your earnings·What First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert actually pays
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | Up to 0.05% · First Federal Savings Account · needs at least $100,000 |
| Minimum to open | $10 · First Federal Savings Account |
| Against the national average | 0.33 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.02% · 6 months · 182 Day CD |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · 6 months CD |
| Against the national average | 2.61 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 3.56% · Money Market Account · needs at least $500,000 |
| Minimum to open | $5,000 · Money Market Account |
| Against the national average | 2.93 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 29135 · Van Wert, OH |
|---|---|
| Website | www.1stfedvw.com |
| Branches | 2 branches in OH |
| Availability | Available in OH |
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 1.76% | $2,500 | 91 Day CD |
| 6 months | 4.02% | $2,500 | 182 Day CD |
| 12 months | 3.82% | $500 | 12 Month CD |
| 18 months | 0.30% | $500 | 18 Month CD |
| 24 months | 3.56% | $500 | 24 Month CD |
| 30 months | 0.40% | $500 | 30 Month CD |
| 48 months | 2.53% | $500 | 48 Month CD |
| 60 months | 2.02% | $500 | 60 Month Bump-Up CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 18 months | 0.40% | $100 | 18 Month Variable Rate IRA |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$761.20(5.2%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,761.20
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.05% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.
In Q1 2026, First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert paid a higher average rate than 43% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Health Savings Account | 2.02% | $0 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| First Federal Savings Account | 0.05% | $10 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Christmas Club | 0.01% | $10 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Money Market Account | 3.56% | $5,000 | $0 | None | Monthly service fee of $5.00 if the balance falls below $5,000.00 during the month | not stated | Tiered |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 91 Day CD | 3 months | 1.76% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 182 Day CD | 6 months | 4.02% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month CD | 12 months | 3.82% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month CD | 18 months | 0.30% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month CD | 24 months | 3.56% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 30 Month CD | 30 months | 0.40% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month CD | 48 months | 2.53% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month Bump-Up CD | 60 months | 2.02% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 18 Month Variable Rate IRA | 18 months | 0.40% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in OH |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 2 branches in OH |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised First Federal Savings Account rate in the last 12 months was 0.05% (observed through Sep 12, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- First Federal Savings Account
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 6 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Money Market Account
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 23, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.05% APY First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert advertises on First Federal Savings Account grows to $10,005 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,680 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert CD rates over time
Who is First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert?
| Headquarters | Van Wert, OH |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1893 |
| Scale | $195M assets · $167M deposits, $148M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 29135 |
Financial detail is in What First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert pays on deposits above.
Common questions about First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert
Is First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert FDIC insured?
Yes. First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert is FDIC insured under certificate 29135, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert?
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its First Federal Savings Account, as observed on Sep 12, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does the 0.05% apply to my whole balance?
The 0.05% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%. Rates are as observed on Sep 12, 2026.
Does First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert have branches?
Yes. First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert | 3.56% | 2.17% | $5,000 | 2 branches in OH |
| Coleman County State Bank | 3.04% | 2.07% | $100 | 7 branches in TX |
| First Bankers Trust Company, National Association | 2.02% | 1.88% | $50 | 9 branches in IL |
| FORTE BANK | 2.02% | 2.19% | $10,000 | 4 branches in WI |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.