Skip to main content

The Harrison Building and Loan Association savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 28080Assets $268M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

The Harrison Building and Loan Association advertises up to 0.15% APY on its Passbook Savings Account. The 0.15% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.08% overall, about $8 in a year, which is 0.30 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #1045 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1194.

Estimate your earnings·What The Harrison Building and Loan Association actually pays

Key facts

The Harrison Building and Loan Association at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.15% · Passbook Savings Account · needs at least $50,000
Minimum to open$25 · Passbook Savings Account
Against the national average0.23 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.80% · 3 months · 91 Day Certificate of Deposit
Minimum to open$2,500 · 3 months CD
Against the national average2.66 percentage points above the 1.14% FDIC 3-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.75% · Money Market Deposit · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market Deposit
Against the national average0.12 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
The Harrison Building and Loan Association bank facts
FDIC certificate28080 · Harrison, OH
Websitewww.bankhbl.com
Branches3 branches in OH
AvailabilityAvailable in OH
Rates

The Harrison Building and Loan Association savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.75% APY
Money Market Deposit
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $50
0.01% APY on balances $50 - $1,000
0.03% APY on balances $1,000 - $2,500
0.05% APY on balances $2,500 - $10,000
0.10% APY on balances $10,000 - $25,000
0.15% APY on balances $25,000 - $50,000
0.20% APY on balances $50,000 - $100,000
0.75% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.50% APY
Christmas Savings
Club Savings
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.15% APY
Passbook Savings Account
Needs at least $50,000
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $50
0.01% APY on balances $50 - $1,000
0.02% APY on balances $1,000 - $2,500
0.05% APY on balances $2,500 - $10,000
0.08% APY on balances $10,000 - $25,000
0.10% APY on balances $25,000 - $50,000
0.15% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.80% APY
Highest CD · 3 months
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

3.30% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Harrison Building and Loan Association CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.80%$2,50091 Day Certificate of Deposit
6 months3.53%$2,500182 Day Certificate of Deposit
9 months2.51%$2,5009 Month Certificate of Deposit
11 months3.25%$2,50011 Month Certificate of Deposit
12 months0.30%$1,00012 Month Certificate of Deposit
15 months2.79%$1,00015 Month Certificate of Deposit
18 months0.30%$1,00018 Month Certificate of Deposit
30 months0.40%$1,00030 Month Certificate of Deposit
36 months0.50%$1,0003 Year Certificate of Deposit
60 months0.75%$1,0005 Year Certificate of Deposit
IRA CDs
18 months3.30%$1,00018 Month Fixed IRA
30 months2.53%$1,00030 Month Fixed IRA
60 months1.26%$25,0005 Year Fixed IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Harrison Building and Loan Association

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$187.40(1.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,187.40

Effective APY
0.50%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Harrison Building and Loan Association pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.55%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to0.15% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.15% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

In Q2 2026, The Harrison Building and Loan Association paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 16% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.76%
Q2 2026 ·
$201M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
2.9%
Q2 2026
$268M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The Harrison Building and Loan Association, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Christmas Savings0.50%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Passbook Savings Account0.15%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market Deposit0.75%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day Certificate of Deposit3 months3.80%$2,500not statednot stated
182 Day Certificate of Deposit6 months3.53%$2,500not statednot stated
9 Month Certificate of Deposit9 months2.51%$2,500not statednot stated
11 Month Certificate of Deposit11 months3.25%$2,500not statednot stated
12 Month Certificate of Deposit12 months0.30%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month Certificate of Deposit15 months2.79%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month Certificate of Deposit18 months0.30%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month Certificate of Deposit30 months0.40%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year Certificate of Deposit36 months0.50%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year Certificate of Deposit60 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
18 Month Fixed IRA18 months3.30%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month Fixed IRA30 months2.53%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year Fixed IRA60 months1.26%$25,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in OH
Footprint3 branches in OH
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Harrison Building and Loan Association behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings Account rate in the last 12 months was 0.15% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Passbook Savings Account
The same as 7 days ago.
3 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Deposit
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 31, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.15% APY The Harrison Building and Loan Association advertises on Passbook Savings Account grows to $10,015 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,686 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The Harrison Building and Loan Association CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is The Harrison Building and Loan Association?

HeadquartersHarrison, OH
Founded1916
Scale$268M assets · $201M deposits, $195M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 28080

Financial detail is in What The Harrison Building and Loan Association pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Harrison Building and Loan Association

Is The Harrison Building and Loan Association FDIC insured?

Yes. The Harrison Building and Loan Association is FDIC insured under certificate 28080, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Harrison Building and Loan Association?

The Harrison Building and Loan Association requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its Passbook Savings Account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.15% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.15% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Does The Harrison Building and Loan Association have branches?

Yes. The Harrison Building and Loan Association operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Harrison Building and Loan Association against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The Harrison Building and Loan Association0.75%0.55%$2,5003 branches in OH
American Bank and Trust Company, National Association2.84%2.05%not stated8 branches in IA, IL
American Heritage Bank2.15%0.59%$5,00024 branches in OK
Arundel Federal Savings Bank0.80%0.23%$1,0005 branches in MD

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Harrison Building and Loan Association's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates