Skip to main content

The Goose River Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 10236Assets $179M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 12, 2026

The Goose River Bank advertises 0.20% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.18 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #601 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #530.

Estimate your earnings·What The Goose River Bank actually pays

Key facts

The Goose River Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.20% · Passbook Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Passbook Savings
Against the national average0.18 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.07% · 17 months · 17-Month CD Special
Minimum to open$5,000 · 17 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.51% · Safe Money Market · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Safe Money Market
Against the national average0.88 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
The Goose River Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate10236 · Mayville, ND
Websitewww.gooseriverbank.com
Branches3 branches in ND
AvailabilityAvailable in ND
Rates

The Goose River Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Up to1.51% APY
Safe Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.20% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.51% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.20% APY
Passbook Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
4.07% APY
Highest CD · 17 months
$5,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Goose River Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
not stated0.05%$1,0007-31 Day CD
3 months2.17%$1,00091 Day CD
6 months2.77%$1,000182 Day CD
8 months3.68%$5,0008-Month CD Special
12 months3.02%$1,00012-Month CD
17 months4.07%$5,00017-Month CD Special
18 months3.08%$1,00018-Month CD
24 months3.02%$1,00024-Month CD
30 months3.02%$1,00030-Month CD
36 months3.02%$1,00036-Month CD
36 months2.92%$1,00036-Month JUMP UP CD
48 months3.02%$1,00048-Month CD
48 months2.92%$1,00048-Month JUMP UP CD
60 months2.92%$1,00060-Month JUMP UP CD
60 months3.02%$1,00060-Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Goose River Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

Passbook Savings0.20% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$74.70(0.5%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,074.70

Effective APY
0.20%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Goose River Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.98%
Q1 2026 ·
0.20% APY
As observed Sep 12, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, The Goose River Bank paid a higher average rate than 32% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$154M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
26.9%
Q1 2026
$179M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • The Goose River Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Passbook Savings0.20%$100$0None$5 service charge if the balance falls below $100. Service fees are quarterly on savings.not statedOne rate
Safe Money Market1.51%$2,500$2,500None$5 service charge if the balance falls below $2,500. Service fees are quarterly on savings.not statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
7-31 Day CDnot stated0.05%$1,000not statednot stated
91 Day CD3 months2.17%$1,000not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months2.77%$1,000not statednot stated
8-Month CD Special8 months3.68%$5,000not statednot stated
12-Month CD12 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
17-Month CD Special17 months4.07%$5,000not statednot stated
18-Month CD18 months3.08%$1,000not statednot stated
24-Month CD24 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
30-Month CD30 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
36-Month CD36 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
36-Month JUMP UP CD36 months2.92%$1,000not statednot stated
48-Month CD48 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
48-Month JUMP UP CD48 months2.92%$1,000not statednot stated
60-Month JUMP UP CD60 months2.92%$1,000not statednot stated
60-Month CD60 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in ND
Footprint3 branches in ND
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Goose River Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.20% (observed through Sep 12, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Passbook Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
17 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Safe Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 17, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.20% APY The Goose River Bank advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,020 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,694 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The Goose River Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is The Goose River Bank?

HeadquartersMayville, ND
Founded1881
Scale$179M assets · $154M deposits, $112M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 10236

Financial detail is in What The Goose River Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Goose River Bank

Is The Goose River Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. The Goose River Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 10236, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Goose River Bank?

The Goose River Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 12, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does The Goose River Bank have branches?

Yes. The Goose River Bank operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Goose River Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
The Goose River Bank1.51%1.98%$2,5003 branches in ND
Charles River Bank0.25%1.97%$1,0004 branches in MA
Citizens Savings Bank1.50%1.80%$50,0006 branches in PA
Community Bank of Raymore2.23%1.63%$253 branches in MO

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Goose River Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates