Skip to main content

Bank Forward savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 8941Assets $1.1B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 28, 2026

Bank Forward advertises 0.20% APY on its Regular Savings account. That is 0.17 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1367 of 2413 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1200.

Estimate your earnings·What Bank Forward actually pays

Key facts

Bank Forward at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.20% · Regular Savings
Minimum to open$200 · Regular Savings
Against the national average0.17 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.75% · 7 months · 7 Month CD Special
Minimum to opennot stated · 7 months CD
Against the national average2.34 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.00% · Forward Money Market Savings · needs at least $2,000,000
Minimum to open$5,000 · Forward Money Market Savings
Against the national average1.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Bank Forward bank facts
FDIC certificate8941 · Fargo, ND
Websitewww.bankforward.com
Branches12 branches in MN, ND
AvailabilityAvailable in MN, ND
Rates

Bank Forward savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to2.00% APY
Forward Money Market Savings
Needs at least $2,000,000
$5,000 minimum

How the rate applies

1.10% APY on balances $5,000 - $99,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.60% APY on balances $250,000 - $1,999,999.99
2.00% APY on balances $2,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 28, 2026
Up to1.10% APY
Money Market Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $1,000 - $24,999.99
0.60% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
1.10% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 28, 2026
0.25% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.20% APY
Regular Savings
$200 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 7 months
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

IRA

1.60% APY
IRA Savings Account
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 7 months
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Business

Up to2.00% APY
Business Forward Money Market Savings
Needs at least $2,000,000
$5,000 minimum

How the rate applies

1.10% APY on balances $5,000 - $99,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.60% APY on balances $250,000 - $1,999,999.99
2.00% APY on balances $2,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 28, 2026
Up to1.10% APY
Business Money Market Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $1,000 - $24,999.99
0.60% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
1.10% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 28, 2026
0.20% APY
Business Regular Savings
$200 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 59 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.02% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Bank Forward CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.25%$5003 Month CD
6 months3.25%$5006 Month CD
7 months3.75%not stated7 Month CD Special
12 months3.25%$50012 Month CD
14 months3.75%not stated14 Month CD Special
18 months3.25%$50018 Month CD
21 months3.75%not stated21 Month CD Special
24 months3.25%$50024 Month CD
30 months3.25%$50030 Month CD
36 months3.25%$50036 Month CD
48 months3.25%$50048 Month CD
60 months3.25%$50060 Month CD
IRA CDs
7 months3.75%not stated7 Month IRA CD Special
12 months3.25%not stated12 Month IRA CD
14 months3.75%not stated14 Month IRA CD Special
18 months3.25%not stated18 Month IRA CD
21 months3.75%not stated21 Month IRA CD Special
24 months3.25%not stated24 Month IRA CD
30 months3.25%not stated30 Month IRA CD
60 months3.25%not stated60 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Bank Forward

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 1.10% to 2.00% APY across 4 balance tiers.
1.10% APY on balances $5,000 - $99,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.60% APY on balances $250,000 - $1,999,999.99
2.00% APY on balances $2,000,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$640.40(3.4%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $5,000

Projected Balance

$18,640.40

Effective APY
1.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Bank Forward pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

3.74%
Q2 2026 ·
0.20% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Bank Forward paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 99% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.47%
Q2 2026 ·
$935M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
22.0%
Q2 2026
$1.1B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Bank Forward, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Health Savings Account0.25%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Regular Savings0.20%$200$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Forward Money Market Savings2.00%$5,000$5,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market Savings1.10%$1,000$1,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Savings Account1.60%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Business
Business Forward Money Market Savings2.00%$5,000$5,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business Money Market Savings1.10%$1,000$1,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business Regular Savings0.20%$200$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month CD3 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
7 Month CD Special7 months3.75%not statednot statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
14 Month CD Special14 months3.75%not statednot statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
21 Month CD Special21 months3.75%not statednot statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
7 Month IRA CD Special7 months3.75%not statednot statednot stated
12 Month IRA CD12 months3.25%not statednot statednot stated
14 Month IRA CD Special14 months3.75%not statednot statednot stated
18 Month IRA CD18 months3.25%not statednot statednot stated
21 Month IRA CD Special21 months3.75%not statednot statednot stated
24 Month IRA CD24 months3.25%not statednot statednot stated
30 Month IRA CD30 months3.25%not statednot statednot stated
60 Month IRA CD60 months3.25%not statednot statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MN, ND
Footprint12 branches in MN, ND
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Bank Forward behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Regular Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.20% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Forward Money Market Savings
Up 0.90 percentage points from 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 0.20% APY Bank Forward advertises on Regular Savings grows to $10,020 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,691 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Bank Forward CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Bank Forward?

HeadquartersFargo, ND
Founded1927
Scale$1.1B assets · $935M deposits, $730M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 8941
Charter stateNorth Dakota · one of 60 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size940th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 88% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Bank Forward pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Bank Forward

Is Bank Forward FDIC insured?

Yes. Bank Forward is FDIC insured under certificate 8941, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Bank Forward?

Bank Forward requires a minimum deposit of $200 to open its Regular Savings account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Bank Forward have branches?

Yes. Bank Forward operates 12 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Bank Forward against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Bank Forward0.20%3.74%$20012 branches in MN, ND
Aroostook County Federal Savings and Loan Association0.20%1.92%$52 branches in ME
Bell Bank0.20%2.47%$5033 branches in AZ, ID, MN, ND
Charles River Bank0.20%0.55%$104 branches in MA

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Bank Forward's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in North Dakota, nearest to Bank Forward in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates