Skip to main content

Sturdy Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 28788Assets $1.1B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Sturdy Savings Bank advertises up to 0.05% APY on its Gold Savings account. The 0.05% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.02%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.02% overall, about $2 in a year, which is 0.36 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #900 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #937.

Estimate your earnings·What Sturdy Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

Sturdy Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.05% · Gold Savings · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · Gold Savings
Against the national average0.33 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY2.50% · 6 months · 6-Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 6 months CD
Against the national average1.09 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY0.05% · Premier Money Market · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$100,000 · Premier Money Market
Against the national average0.58 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Sturdy Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate28788 · Stone Harbor, NJ
Websitewww.sturdyonline.com
Branches13 branches in NJ
AvailabilityAvailable in NJ
Rates

Sturdy Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.05% APY
Gold Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.02% APY on balances $100 - $74,999.99
0.03% APY on balances $75,000 - $99,999.99
0.05% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.05% APY
Premier Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$100,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.02% APY on balances $100 - $74,999.99
0.03% APY on balances $75,000 - $99,999.99
0.05% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.05% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.02% APY on balances $100 - $74,999.99
0.03% APY on balances $75,000 - $99,999.99
0.05% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.02% APY
Regular Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.02% APY
Holiday Club
Club Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
2.50% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

0.02% APY
Savings Retirement Account
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Sturdy Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months0.02%$1,0003-Month CD
6 months2.50%$1,0006-Month CD
9 months2.30%$1,0009-Month CD
12 months2.25%$50012-Month CD
18 months0.01%$10018-Month CD (Variable)
18 months0.02%$50018-Month CD
24 months0.04%$50024-Month CD
30 months0.04%$50030-Month CD
36 months0.05%$500Excel-A-Rate CD
36 months0.06%$50036-Month CD
48 months0.08%$50048-Month CD
60 months0.13%$50060-Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Sturdy Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.02% ($100 - $74,999.99), 0.03% ($75,000 - $99,999.99), 0.05% ($100,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$7.50(0.1%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,007.50

Effective APY
0.02%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Sturdy Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.06%
Q1 2026 ·
Up to0.05% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.05% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.02%.

In Q1 2026, Sturdy Savings Bank paid a higher average rate than 4% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$1.0B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
19.5%
Q1 2026
$1.1B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Sturdy Savings Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Gold Savings0.05%$1,000$100Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Regular Savings0.02%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Holiday Club0.02%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Premier Money Market0.05%$100,000$100Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market0.05%$1,000$100Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
Savings Retirement Account0.02%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3-Month CD3 months0.02%$1,000not statednot stated
6-Month CD6 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
9-Month CD9 months2.30%$1,000not statednot stated
12-Month CD12 months2.25%$500not statednot stated
18-Month CD (Variable)18 months0.01%$100not statednot stated
18-Month CD18 months0.02%$500not statednot stated
24-Month CD24 months0.04%$500not statednot stated
30-Month CD30 months0.04%$500not statednot stated
Excel-A-Rate CD36 months0.05%$500not statednot stated
36-Month CD36 months0.06%$500not statednot stated
48-Month CD48 months0.08%$500not statednot stated
60-Month CD60 months0.13%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NJ
Footprint13 branches in NJ
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Sturdy Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Gold Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.05% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Gold Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Premier Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 17, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.05% APY Sturdy Savings Bank advertises on Gold Savings grows to $10,005 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,680 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Sturdy Savings Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Sturdy Savings Bank?

HeadquartersStone Harbor, NJ
Founded1922
Scale$1.1B assets · $1.0B deposits, $805M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 28788

Financial detail is in What Sturdy Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Sturdy Savings Bank

Is Sturdy Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Sturdy Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 28788, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Sturdy Savings Bank?

Sturdy Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $1,000 to open its Gold Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.05% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.05% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.02%. Rates are as observed on Sep 9, 2026.

Does Sturdy Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. Sturdy Savings Bank operates 13 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Sturdy Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Sturdy Savings Bank0.05%1.06%$1,00013 branches in NJ
Arrow Bank National Association0.05%2.14%$50057 branches in NY
Bankesb0.30%2.24%$1,00056 branches in CT, MA, NH
Bankhometown0.30%1.75%$1,00015 branches in CT, MA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Sturdy Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates