Ohnward Bank & Trust savings rates
Ohnward Bank & Trust advertises 0.50% APY on its Kasasa Saver account. The 0.50% applies to balances up to $35,000. A larger balance earns 0.27% on the whole amount.
A checking account at the bank is required. Direct deposit is required. That is 0.12 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #343 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #277. It was #129 three months ago. The advertised rate has not changed in the 21 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.
Estimate your earnings·What Ohnward Bank & Trust actually pays
Ohnward Bank & Trust at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.50% · Kasasa Saver · up to $35,000 only · checking account required · requires direct deposit |
| Minimum to open | $25 · Kasasa Saver |
| Against the national average | 0.12 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 10111 · Cascade, IA |
|---|---|
| Website | www.ohnwardbank.bank |
| Branches | 6 branches in IA |
| Availability | Available in IA |
Ohnward Bank & Trust savings rates
How the rate applies
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Ohnward Bank & Trust
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$187.40(1.3%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,187.40
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Ohnward Bank & Trust pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.50% applies to balances up to $35,000. A larger balance earns 0.27% on the whole amount.
In Q1 2026, Ohnward Bank & Trust paid a higher average rate than 65% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- Ohnward Bank & Trust, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kasasa Saver | 0.50% | $25 | $0 | $35,000 | not stated | Direct deposit · Checking account | Tiered |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in IA |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 6 branches in IA |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Ohnward Bank & Trust behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Kasasa Saver rate in the last 12 months was 0.50% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
Ohnward Bank & Trust has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 21 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.
- Kasasa Saver
- The same as 90 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Apr 13, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.50% APY Ohnward Bank & Trust advertises on Kasasa Saver grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,723 does today. The top rate requires direct deposit. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
Who is Ohnward Bank & Trust?
| Headquarters | Cascade, IA |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1903 |
| Scale | $489M assets · $409M deposits, $347M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 10111 |
Financial detail is in What Ohnward Bank & Trust pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Ohnward Bank & Trust
Is Ohnward Bank & Trust FDIC insured?
Yes. Ohnward Bank & Trust is FDIC insured under certificate 10111, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Ohnward Bank & Trust?
Ohnward Bank & Trust requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its Kasasa Saver account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does the 0.50% apply to my whole balance?
The 0.50% applies to balances up to $35,000. A larger balance earns 0.27% on the whole amount. A checking account at the bank is required. Direct deposit is required.
Does Ohnward Bank & Trust have branches?
Yes. Ohnward Bank & Trust operates 6 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Ohnward Bank & Trust against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ohnward Bank & Trust | 0.50% | 2.52% | $25 | 6 branches in IA |
| American Bank and Trust Company, National Association | 2.84% | 2.03% | not stated | 8 branches in IA, IL |
| American Heritage Bank | 2.15% | 1.94% | $5,000 | 24 branches in OK |
| Arundel Federal Savings Bank | 0.80% | 2.18% | $1,000 | 5 branches in MD |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Ohnward Bank & Trust's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates.