Skip to main content

Portage Community Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 34760Assets $555M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Portage Community Bank advertises 1.50% APY on its Neighbor Rewards Savings account. That is 1.12 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

A checking account at the bank is required.

Ranked #236 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #170.

Estimate your earnings·What Portage Community Bank actually pays

Key facts

Portage Community Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY1.50% · Neighbor Rewards Savings · checking account required
Minimum to open$0 · Neighbor Rewards Savings
Against the national average1.12 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.75% · 18 months · 18 Month Special CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 18 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.80% · Community Index Money Market · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$0 · Community Index Money Market
Against the national average0.17 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Portage Community Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate34760 · Ravenna, OH
Websitewww.portagecommunity.bank
Branches4 branches in OH
AvailabilityAvailable in OH
Rates

Portage Community Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

1.50% APY
Neighbor Rewards Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.80% APY
Community Index Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.35% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.55% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.65% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.80% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.20% APY
Community Statement Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.20% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.20% APY
Lit'l Peoples Savings Account
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

0.20% APY
Community Savings IRA
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Business

Up to0.80% APY
Community Business Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.35% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.55% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.65% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.80% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.70% APY
Community Public Fund Index Account
Needs at least $100,000

How the rate applies

0.20% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $10,000 - $99,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.20% APY
Community Business Statement Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Portage Community Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
1-2 months2.80%$1,00030-89 Day CD
3-5 months2.80%$1,00090-179 Day CD
5 months3.50%$1,000150-Day CD Special
5 months2.80%$1,000151-179 Day CD
6-8 months3.25%$1,000180-269 Day CD
9-11 months3.25%$1,000271-364 Day CD
9 months3.50%$1,000270-Day CD Special
12 months3.75%$1,00012 Month Special CD
13-17 months3.25%$1,00013-17 Month CD
18 months3.75%$1,00018 Month Special CD
19-23 months3.25%$1,00019-23 Month CD
24-35 months3.15%$1,00024-35 Month CD
36-47 months3.00%$1,00036-47 Month CD
48-59 months3.00%$1,00048-59 Month CD
60 months2.75%$1,00060 Month CD
84 months2.00%$1,00084 Month CD
IRA CDs
9 months3.50%$1,000270-Day IRA CD
12 months3.75%$1,00012 Month Special IRA CD
13-17 months3.25%$1,00013-17 Month IRA CD
18 months3.75%$1,00018 Month Special IRA CD
19-23 months3.25%$1,00019-23 Month IRA CD
24-35 months3.15%$1,00024-35 Month IRA CD
36-47 months3.00%$1,00036-47 Month IRA CD
48-59 months3.00%$1,00048-59 Month IRA CD
60 months2.75%$1,00060 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Portage Community Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$569.50(3.9%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,569.50

Effective APY
1.50%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Portage Community Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.37%
Q1 2026 ·
1.50% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Portage Community Bank paid a higher average rate than 56% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$493M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
18.8%
Q1 2026
$555M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Portage Community Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Neighbor Rewards Savings1.50%$0$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Community Statement Savings0.20%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Health Savings Account0.20%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Lit'l Peoples Savings Account0.20%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Community Index Money Market0.80%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
Community Savings IRA0.20%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Business
Community Business Money Market0.80%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Community Public Fund Index Account0.70%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Community Business Statement Savings0.20%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
30-89 Day CD1-2 months2.80%$1,000not statednot stated
90-179 Day CD3-5 months2.80%$1,000not statednot stated
150-Day CD Special5 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
151-179 Day CD5 months2.80%$1,000not statednot stated
180-269 Day CD6-8 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
271-364 Day CD9-11 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
270-Day CD Special9 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month Special CD12 months3.75%$1,000not statednot stated
13-17 Month CD13-17 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month Special CD18 months3.75%$1,000not statednot stated
19-23 Month CD19-23 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
24-35 Month CD24-35 months3.15%$1,000not statednot stated
36-47 Month CD36-47 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
48-59 Month CD48-59 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months2.75%$1,000not statednot stated
84 Month CD84 months2.00%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
270-Day IRA CD9 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month Special IRA CD12 months3.75%$1,000not statednot stated
13-17 Month IRA CD13-17 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month Special IRA CD18 months3.75%$1,000not statednot stated
19-23 Month IRA CD19-23 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
24-35 Month IRA CD24-35 months3.15%$1,000not statednot stated
36-47 Month IRA CD36-47 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
48-59 Month IRA CD48-59 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month IRA CD60 months2.75%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in OH
Footprint4 branches in OH
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Portage Community Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Neighbor Rewards Savings rate in the last 12 months was 1.50% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Neighbor Rewards Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
18 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Community Index Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 15, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 1.50% APY Portage Community Bank advertises on Neighbor Rewards Savings grows to $10,150 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,820 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Portage Community Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Portage Community Bank?

HeadquartersRavenna, OH
Founded1998
Scale$555M assets · $493M deposits, $400M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 34760

Financial detail is in What Portage Community Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Portage Community Bank

Is Portage Community Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Portage Community Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 34760, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Portage Community Bank?

Portage Community Bank requires no minimum deposit to open its Neighbor Rewards Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Portage Community Bank have branches?

Yes. Portage Community Bank operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Portage Community Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Portage Community Bank1.50%2.37%$04 branches in OH
American Bank1.50%2.98%$11 branch in PA
Citizens Bank1.50%2.15%$1,00011 branches in WI
Dundee Bank3.50%3.48%$50,0004 branches in NE

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Portage Community Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates