Skip to main content

North Shore Trust and Savings savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 27683Assets $270M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

North Shore Trust and Savings advertises 0.15% APY on its Statement Savings account. That is 0.23 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #544 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #488.

Estimate your earnings·What North Shore Trust and Savings actually pays

Key facts

North Shore Trust and Savings at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.15% · Statement Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Statement Savings
Against the national average0.23 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.10% · 13 months · 13 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$1,000 · 13 months CD
Against the national average2.39 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY1.01% · Premium Money Market Account · needs at least $150,000
Minimum to open$75,000 · Premium Money Market Account
Against the national average0.38 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
North Shore Trust and Savings bank facts
FDIC certificate27683 · Waukegan, IL
Websitewww.northshoretrust.com
Branches3 branches in IL
AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Rates

North Shore Trust and Savings savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

1.01% APY
Premium Money Market Account
Needs at least $150,000
$75,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $75,000 - $99,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $100,000 - $149,999.99
1.01% APY on balances $150,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.25% APY
Money Market Account
Needs at least $25,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.15% APY
Statement Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.15% APY
Passbook Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
4.10% APY
Highest CD · 13 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Business

0.15% APY
Business Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

North Shore Trust and Savings CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months0.60%$1,0003 Month CD
6 months0.75%$1,0006 Month CD
12 months1.00%$1,00012 Month CD
13 months4.10%$1,00013 Month CD Special
18 months1.16%$1,00018 Month CD
24 months1.26%$1,0002 Year CD
30 months2.78%$1,00030 Month CD Special
36 months1.36%$1,0003 Year CD
48 months1.46%$1,0004 Year CD
60 months1.56%$1,0005 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for North Shore Trust and Savings

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$56.00(0.4%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,056.00

Effective APY
0.15%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What North Shore Trust and Savings pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.69%
Q1 2026 ·
0.15% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, North Shore Trust and Savings paid a higher average rate than 18% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$203M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
14.5%
Q1 2026
$270M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • North Shore Trust and Savings, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Statement Savings0.15%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Passbook Savings0.15%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Premium Money Market Account1.01%$75,000$75,000NoneA maintenance fee of $25.00 will be assessed if the balance in your account falls below $75,000 on any day of the statement cycle.not statedTiered
Money Market Account0.25%$1,000$1,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Business Savings0.15%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3 Month CD3 months0.60%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months1.00%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month CD Special13 months4.10%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months1.16%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months1.26%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD Special30 months2.78%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months1.36%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months1.46%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months1.56%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Footprint3 branches in IL
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How North Shore Trust and Savings behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.15% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Statement Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
13 months CD
Up 0.15 percentage points from 7 days ago.
Premium Money Market Account
The same as 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 0.15% APY North Shore Trust and Savings advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,015 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,689 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

North Shore Trust and Savings CD rates over time

Identity

Who is North Shore Trust and Savings?

HeadquartersWaukegan, IL
Founded1921
Scale$270M assets · $203M deposits, $174M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 27683

Financial detail is in What North Shore Trust and Savings pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about North Shore Trust and Savings

Is North Shore Trust and Savings FDIC insured?

Yes. North Shore Trust and Savings is FDIC insured under certificate 27683, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at North Shore Trust and Savings?

North Shore Trust and Savings requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does North Shore Trust and Savings have branches?

Yes. North Shore Trust and Savings operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

North Shore Trust and Savings against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
North Shore Trust and Savings1.01%1.69%$75,0003 branches in IL
American Metro Bank1.20%3.03%$10,0002 branches in IL
Charles Schwab Bank0.15%0.31%$01 branch in TX
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of McMinnville0.15%1.62%$256 branches in OR

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to North Shore Trust and Savings's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates