Skip to main content

Midwest Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 9737Assets $985M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

Midwest Bank advertises 0.50% APY on its Midwest Savings account. That is 0.12 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #595 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #473.

Estimate your earnings·What Midwest Bank actually pays

Key facts

Midwest Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.50% · Midwest Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Midwest Savings
Against the national average0.12 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.00% · 7 months · 7 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$500 · 7 months CD
Against the national average2.59 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 3.25% · Midwest Money Market Savings · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · Midwest Money Market Savings
Against the national average2.62 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Midwest Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate9737 · Detroit Lakes, MN
Websitemidwestbank.net
Branches7 branches in MN
AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Rates

Midwest Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to3.25% APY
Midwest Money Market Savings
Needs at least $1,000,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

1.50% APY on balances $0.01 - $9,999.99
1.75% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
2.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.75% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.85% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
3.15% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
3.25% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.50% APY
Midwest Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.50% APY
Midwest Young Savers
Youth Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.40% APY
Midwest HSA Checking
Health Savings (HSA)
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
4.00% APY
Highest CD · 7 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

3.00% APY
Midwest IRA Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Business

Up to3.25% APY
Midwest Business Money Market Savings
Needs at least $1,000,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

1.50% APY on balances $0.01 - $9,999.99
1.75% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
2.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.75% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.85% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
3.15% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
3.25% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.50% APY
Midwest Business Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Midwest Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months3.49%$50091 Day CD
6 months3.50%$500182 Day CD
7 months4.00%$5007 Month CD Special
11 months4.00%$50011 Month CD Special
12 months3.85%$50012 Month CD
12 months4.00%$25,00012 Month CD ($25,000 or More)
24 months4.00%$25,00024 Month CD ($25,000 or More)
24 months3.85%$50024 Month CD
30 months3.85%$50030 Month CD
36 months3.85%$50036 Month CD
36 months4.00%$25,00036 Month CD ($25,000 or More)
48 months4.00%$25,00048 Month CD ($25,000 or More)
48 months3.85%$50048 Month CD
54 months4.00%$50054 Month CD Special
60 months3.85%$50060 Month CD
60 months4.00%$25,00060 Month CD ($25,000 or More)

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Midwest Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 1.50% to 3.25% APY across 7 balance tiers.
1.50% APY on balances $0.01 - $9,999.99
1.75% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
2.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.75% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.85% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
3.15% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
3.25% APY on balances $1,000,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$618.90(4.2%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,618.90

Effective APY
1.63%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Midwest Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.69%
Q2 2026 ·
0.50% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Midwest Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 89% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.92%
Q2 2026 ·
$788M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
18.1%
Q2 2026
$985M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Midwest Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Midwest Savings0.50%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Midwest Young Savers0.50%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Midwest HSA Checking0.40%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Midwest Money Market Savings3.25%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
Midwest IRA Savings3.00%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Business
Midwest Business Money Market Savings3.25%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Midwest Business Savings0.50%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
91 Day CD3 months3.49%$500not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
7 Month CD Special7 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
11 Month CD Special11 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.85%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD ($25,000 or More)12 months4.00%$25,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD ($25,000 or More)24 months4.00%$25,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.85%$500not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.85%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.85%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD ($25,000 or More)36 months4.00%$25,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD ($25,000 or More)48 months4.00%$25,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.85%$500not statednot stated
54 Month CD Special54 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.85%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD ($25,000 or More)60 months4.00%$25,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Footprint7 branches in MN
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Midwest Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Midwest Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.50% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Midwest Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
7 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 10, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.50% APY Midwest Bank advertises on Midwest Savings grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,720 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Midwest Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Midwest Bank?

HeadquartersDetroit Lakes, MN
Founded1917
Scale$985M assets · $788M deposits, $645M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 9737

Financial detail is in What Midwest Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Midwest Bank

Is Midwest Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Midwest Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 9737, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Midwest Bank?

Midwest Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Midwest Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Midwest Bank have branches?

Yes. Midwest Bank operates 7 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Midwest Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Midwest Bank3.25%2.69%$1,0007 branches in MN
Axiom Bank, National Association3.25%2.70%$257 branches in FL
Bluestone Bank3.25%2.35%$1011 branches in MA
First National Bank of Clarksdale3.25%1.16%$100,0005 branches in MS

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Midwest Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates