Skip to main content

FreedomBank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 11767Assets $434M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

FreedomBank advertises 0.10% APY on its Savings account. That is 0.28 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #818 of 1133 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #758.

Estimate your earnings·What FreedomBank actually pays

Key facts

FreedomBank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.10% · Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Savings
Against the national average0.28 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.99% · 6 months · 182 Day CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 6 months CD
Against the national average2.58 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.40% · FreedomBank Money Market · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$5,000 · FreedomBank Money Market
Against the national average0.23 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
FreedomBank bank facts
FDIC certificate11767 · Elkader, IA
Websitewww.freedombnk.com
Branches4 branches in IA
AvailabilityAvailable in IA
Rates

FreedomBank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.40% APY
FreedomBank Money Market
Needs at least $250,000
$5,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $4,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $5,000 - $49,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.10% APY
Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.10% APY
FreedomBank HSA
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $10,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.99% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

3.77% APY
Highest CD · term not stated
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

FreedomBank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.55%$1,00091 Day CD
6 months3.99%$1,000182 Day CD
12 months3.89%$1,00012 Month CD
18 months3.84%$1,00018 Month CD
24 months3.84%$1,00024 Month CD
30 months3.84%$1,00030 Month CD
36 months3.79%$1,00036 Month CD
42 months3.79%$1,00042 Month CD
48 months3.79%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months3.79%$1,00060 Month CD
IRA CDs
not stated3.77%$1,000IRA, SEP, KEOGH CD
not stated3.35%$1,000Variable Rate IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for FreedomBank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$37.30(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,037.30

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What FreedomBank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.26%
Q2 2026 ·
0.10% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, FreedomBank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 42% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.45%
Q2 2026 ·
$368M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
22.7%
Q2 2026
$434M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • FreedomBank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Savings0.10%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
FreedomBank HSA0.10%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
FreedomBank Money Market0.40%$5,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months3.99%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.89%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.84%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.84%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.84%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.79%$1,000not statednot stated
42 Month CD42 months3.79%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.79%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.79%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
IRA, SEP, KEOGH CDnot stated3.77%$1,000not statednot stated
Variable Rate IRAnot stated3.35%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IA
Footprint4 branches in IA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How FreedomBank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
FreedomBank Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 25, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.10% APY FreedomBank advertises on Savings grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,685 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

FreedomBank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is FreedomBank?

HeadquartersElkader, IA
Founded1903
Scale$434M assets · $368M deposits, $284M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 11767

Financial detail is in What FreedomBank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about FreedomBank

Is FreedomBank FDIC insured?

Yes. FreedomBank is FDIC insured under certificate 11767, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at FreedomBank?

FreedomBank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does FreedomBank have branches?

Yes. FreedomBank operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

FreedomBank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
FreedomBank0.40%1.26%$5,0004 branches in IA
Alliance Bank1.00%1.33%not stated7 branches in IN
Andover State Bank0.55%2.23%not stated2 branches in KS
Bank of Lake Mills3.82%2.69%$50,0002 branches in WI

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to FreedomBank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates