Skip to main content

First Citizens Bank savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 4433Assets $1.8B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 19, 2026

First Citizens Bank advertises up to 3.42% APY on its Platinum Savings account. The 3.42% needs a balance of at least $5,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.25% overall, about $25 in a year, which is 0.13 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #142 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #676.

Estimate your earnings·What First Citizens Bank actually pays

Key facts

First Citizens Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 3.42% · Platinum Savings · needs at least $5,000,000
Minimum to open$0 · Platinum Savings
Against the national average3.04 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.55% · 48 months · 48-Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 48 months CD
Against the national average2.28 percentage points above the 1.27% FDIC 48-month CD average (Aug 2026)
First Citizens Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate4433 · Mason City, IA
Websitewww.myfcb.bank
Branches7 branches in IA, MN
AvailabilityAvailable in IA, MN
Rates

First Citizens Bank savings and CD rates

Up to3.42% APY
Platinum Savings
Needs at least $5,000,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
0.35% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
1.21% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.76% APY on balances $250,000 - $999,999.99
2.73% APY on balances $1,000,000 - $1,999,999.99
3.14% APY on balances $2,000,000 - $4,999,999.99
3.42% APY on balances $5,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026
0.03% APY
Power Savers
Youth Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026
Up to0.03% APY
Christmas Club
Club Savings
On balances up to $5,000 · no rate stated above
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026
0.03% APY
Basic Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026
3.55% APY
Highest CD · 48 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First Citizens Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months3.33%$1,0006-Month CD
12 months3.29%$1,00012-Month CD
18 months3.19%$1,00018-Month CD
24 months3.03%$1,00024-Month CD
36 months3.55%$1,00036-Month CD
48 months3.55%$1,00048-Month CD
60 months3.55%$1,00060-Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First Citizens Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.00% to 3.42% APY across 8 balance tiers.
0.00% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
0.35% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
1.21% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.76% APY on balances $250,000 - $999,999.99
2.73% APY on balances $1,000,000 - $1,999,999.99
3.14% APY on balances $2,000,000 - $4,999,999.99
3.42% APY on balances $5,000,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$46.00(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,046.00

Effective APY
0.12%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First Citizens Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.74%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to3.42% APY
As observed Sep 19, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 3.42% needs a balance of at least $5,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

In Q2 2026, First Citizens Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 62% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.38%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.6B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
10.1%
Q2 2026
$1.8B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • First Citizens Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Platinum Savings3.42%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Power Savers0.03%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Christmas Club0.03%$0$0$5,000not statednot statedOne rate
Basic Savings0.03%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
6-Month CD6 months3.33%$1,000not statednot stated
12-Month CD12 months3.29%$1,000not statednot stated
18-Month CD18 months3.19%$1,000not statednot stated
24-Month CD24 months3.03%$1,000not statednot stated
36-Month CD36 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
48-Month CD48 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
60-Month CD60 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IA, MN
Footprint7 branches in IA, MN
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First Citizens Bank behaves over time

12-month high
3.45%
12-month low
3.42%
Advertised now
3.42%
0.03 percentage points below the 12-month high

The advertised Platinum Savings rate, observed through Sep 19, 2026. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Platinum Savings
Down 0.03 percentage points from 7 days ago.
48 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 16, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 3.42% APY First Citizens Bank advertises on Platinum Savings grows to $10,342 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $10,002 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

  • Platinum Savings APY
  • Banksparency savings index
First Citizens Bank Platinum Savings advertised APY, as observed, Aug 2026 Sep 2026, against the banksparency savings index.

First Citizens Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is First Citizens Bank?

HeadquartersMason City, IA
Founded1892
Scale$1.8B assets · $1.6B deposits, $1.4B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 4433

Financial detail is in What First Citizens Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First Citizens Bank

Is First Citizens Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. First Citizens Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 4433, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First Citizens Bank?

First Citizens Bank requires no minimum deposit to open its Platinum Savings account, as observed on Sep 19, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 3.42% apply to my whole balance?

The 3.42% needs a balance of at least $5,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%. Rates are as observed on Sep 19, 2026.

Does First Citizens Bank have branches?

Yes. First Citizens Bank operates 7 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First Citizens Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
First Citizens Bank3.42%1.74%$07 branches in IA, MN
InFirst Bank3.43%1.90%$2,50011 branches in PA
RBMAX3.40%2.14%$10not stated
SmartyPig3.40%3.75%$0not stated

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First Citizens Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates