ableBanking savings and CD rates
ableBanking advertises 2.75% APY on its High Yield Savings account. That is 2.37 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #127 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #92. It was #107 three months ago. The advertised rate has not changed in the 26 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.
ableBanking at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 2.75% · High Yield Savings |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · High Yield Savings |
| Against the national average | 2.37 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.50% · 6 months · 6-Month CD |
| Minimum to open | $5,000 · 6 months CD |
| Against the national average | 2.09 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 19690 · Portland, ME |
|---|---|
| Website | www.ablebanking.com |
| Availability | Nationally available |
ableBanking savings and CD rates
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
ableBanking CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 months | 3.50% | $5,000 | 6-Month CD |
| 12 months | 3.25% | $5,000 | 1-Year CD |
| 24 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | 2-Year CD |
| 36 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | 3-Year CD |
| 48 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | 4-Year CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for ableBanking
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$1,278.90(7.6%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$2,500
Projected Balance
$16,778.90
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What ableBanking pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q1 2026, Northeast Bank paid a higher average rate than 97% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- Northeast Bank, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| High Yield Savings | 2.75% | $2,500 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6-Month CD | 6 months | 3.50% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 1-Year CD | 12 months | 3.25% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 2-Year CD | 24 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 3-Year CD | 36 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 4-Year CD | 48 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Nationally available |
|---|---|
| App Store rating | 4.6 out of 5 |
| Google Play rating | 4.9 out of 5 |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How ableBanking behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised High Yield Savings rate in the last 12 months was 2.75% (observed through Sep 2, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
ableBanking has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 26 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.
- High Yield Savings
- The same as 90 days ago.
- 6 months CD
- The same as 90 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 12, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 2.75% APY ableBanking advertises on High Yield Savings grows to $10,275 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,941 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
ableBanking CD rates over time
Who is ableBanking?
| Headquarters | Portland, ME |
|---|---|
| Scale | $5.0B assets · $3.7B deposits, $3.5B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 19690 |
| BBB rating | Not Rated · Not BBB Accredited |
| Affiliation | ableBanking is a division of Northeast Bank |
| Affiliated institution | Northeast Bank |
Financial detail is in What ableBanking pays on deposits above.
Common questions about ableBanking
Is ableBanking FDIC insured?
Yes. ableBanking is FDIC insured under certificate 19690, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at ableBanking?
ableBanking requires a minimum deposit of $2,500 to open its High Yield Savings account, as observed on Sep 2, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
ableBanking against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ableBanking | 2.75% | 3.64% | $2,500 | not stated |
| First Fed Bank | 2.75% | 2.34% | $10,000 | 14 branches in WA |
| FirstBank of Nebraska | 2.78% | 2.83% | $2,500 | 4 branches in NE |
| Citibank | 2.80% | 2.65% | $0 | 955 branches across 14 states |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to ableBanking's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.