Skip to main content

First Bank of Central Ohio savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 59249Assets $261M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 14, 2026

First Bank of Central Ohio advertises 0.05% APY on its Savings account. That is 0.33 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #988 of 1174 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #935.

Estimate your earnings·What First Bank of Central Ohio actually pays

Key facts

First Bank of Central Ohio at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.05% · Savings
Minimum to open$50 · Savings
Against the national average0.33 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.30% · 12 months · 12-Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 12 months CD
Against the national average2.59 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY4.00% · Platinum Money Market
Minimum to open$50 · Platinum Money Market
Against the national average3.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
First Bank of Central Ohio bank facts
FDIC certificate59249 · Worthington, OH
Websitewww.fbcentralohio.com
Branches3 branches in OH
AvailabilityAvailable in OH
Rates

First Bank of Central Ohio savings, CD and money market rates

4.00% APY
Platinum Money Market
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026
Up to3.40% APY
Premium Money Market
On balances up to $249,999.99 · no rate stated above
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

2.60% APY on balances $0 - $49,999.99
3.15% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
3.40% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026
Up to3.15% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $50,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

2.60% APY on balances $0 - $49,999.99
3.15% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026
0.05% APY
Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026
4.30% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First Bank of Central Ohio CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months3.90%$5006-Month CD
12 months4.30%$50012-Month CD
18 months3.25%$50018-Month CD
24 months3.00%$50024-Month CD
36 months0.30%$50036-Month CD
48 months0.30%$50048-Month CD
60 months0.30%$50060-Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First Bank of Central Ohio

All calculations are based on APY.

Savings0.05% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$18.60(0.1%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,018.60

Effective APY
0.05%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First Bank of Central Ohio pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

3.24%
Q2 2026 ·
0.05% APY
As observed Sep 14, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, First Bank of Central Ohio paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 96% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

3.64%
Q2 2026 ·
$232M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
12.5%
Q2 2026
$261M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • First Bank of Central Ohio, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

How these figures are computed

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Savings0.05%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Platinum Money Market4.00%$50$0NoneMinimum Balance $2,000,000. The rate table footnote reads "Indicates minimum average balance to keep in account to avoid incursion of fees." No fee amount is published for this account.not statedOne rate
Premium Money Market3.40%$50$0$249,999.99Minimum Balance Fee: $10 if balance not met. Balance Requirement to Avoid Minimum Balance Fee: Maintain an average daily balance greater than $10,000.not statedTiered
Money Market3.15%$50$0NoneMinimum Balance Fee: $10 if balance not met. Balance Requirement to Avoid Minimum Balance Fee: Maintain an average daily balance greater than $1,000.not statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
6-Month CD6 months3.90%$500not statednot stated
12-Month CD12 months4.30%$500not statednot stated
18-Month CD18 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
24-Month CD24 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
36-Month CD36 months0.30%$500not statednot stated
48-Month CD48 months0.30%$500not statednot stated
60-Month CD60 months0.30%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in OH
Footprint3 branches in OH
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First Bank of Central Ohio behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.05% (observed through Sep 14, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
12 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Platinum Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 2, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.05% APY First Bank of Central Ohio advertises on Savings grows to $10,005 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,680 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

First Bank of Central Ohio CD rates over time

Identity

Who is First Bank of Central Ohio?

HeadquartersWorthington, OH
Founded2021
Scale$261M assets · $232M deposits, $203M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 59249

Financial detail is in What First Bank of Central Ohio pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First Bank of Central Ohio

Is First Bank of Central Ohio FDIC insured?

Yes. First Bank of Central Ohio is FDIC insured under certificate 59249, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First Bank of Central Ohio?

First Bank of Central Ohio requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Savings account, as observed on Sep 14, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does First Bank of Central Ohio have branches?

Yes. First Bank of Central Ohio operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First Bank of Central Ohio against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
First Bank of Central Ohio4.00%3.24%$503 branches in OH
Arrow Bank National Association0.05%2.21%$2,50057 branches in NY
Bankesb0.30%1.34%$1,00056 branches in CT, MA, NH
Bankhometown0.30%1.06%$1,00015 branches in CT, MA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First Bank of Central Ohio's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. How these figures are computed. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates