First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois savings, CD and money market rates
First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois advertises 0.50% APY on its Regular Savings account. That is 0.12 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #335 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #268. The advertised rate has not changed in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.
Estimate your earnings·What First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois actually pays
First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.50% · Regular Savings |
| Minimum to open | $100 · Regular Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.12 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.51% · 6 months · 182 Day CD |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · 6 months CD |
| Against the national average | 2.10 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | 1.00% · Super Money Market |
| Minimum to open | $5,000 · Super Money Market |
| Against the national average | 0.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 18641 · Palatine, IL |
|---|---|
| Website | www.firstbankillinois.com |
| Branches | 1 branch in IL |
| Availability | Available in IL |
First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 3.21% | $2,500 | 91 Day CD |
| 5 months | 1.25% | $2,500 | 5-Month CD |
| 6 months | 3.51% | $2,500 | 182 Day CD |
| 7 months | 1.25% | $2,500 | 7-Month CD |
| 8 months | 1.25% | $2,500 | 8-Month CD |
| 9 months | 3.01% | $2,500 | 9-Month CD |
| 10 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 10-Month CD |
| 11 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 11-Month CD |
| 12 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 1-Year CD |
| 13 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 13-Month CD |
| 14 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 14-Month CD |
| 15 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 15-Month CD |
| 17 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 17-Month CD |
| 18 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 18-Month CD |
| 24 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 2-Year CD |
| 30 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 30-Month CD |
| 36 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 3-Year CD |
| 48 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 4-Year CD |
| 60 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | 5-Year CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 6 months | 3.51% | not stated | 182 Day IRA CD |
| 12 months | 1.50% | not stated | 1-Year IRA CD |
| 18 months | 1.50% | not stated | 18-Month IRA CD |
| 24 months | 1.50% | not stated | 2-Year IRA CD |
| 36 months | 2.00% | not stated | 3-Year IRA CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$187.40(1.3%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,187.40
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q1 2026, First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois paid a higher average rate than 76% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular Savings | 0.50% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
| Minor Savings | 0.50% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
| Super Money Market | 1.00% | $5,000 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
| Money Market | 0.55% | $2,500 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 91 Day CD | 3 months | 3.21% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 5-Month CD | 5 months | 1.25% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 182 Day CD | 6 months | 3.51% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 7-Month CD | 7 months | 1.25% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 8-Month CD | 8 months | 1.25% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 9-Month CD | 9 months | 3.01% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 10-Month CD | 10 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 11-Month CD | 11 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 1-Year CD | 12 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 13-Month CD | 13 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 14-Month CD | 14 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 15-Month CD | 15 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 17-Month CD | 17 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18-Month CD | 18 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 2-Year CD | 24 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 30-Month CD | 30 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 3-Year CD | 36 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 4-Year CD | 48 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 5-Year CD | 60 months | 1.50% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 182 Day IRA CD | 6 months | 3.51% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 1-Year IRA CD | 12 months | 1.50% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 18-Month IRA CD | 18 months | 1.50% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 2-Year IRA CD | 24 months | 1.50% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 3-Year IRA CD | 36 months | 2.00% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in IL |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 1 branch in IL |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Regular Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.50% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.
- Regular Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 6 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Super Money Market
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 12, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.50% APY First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois advertises on Regular Savings grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,723 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois CD rates over time
Who is First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois?
| Headquarters | Palatine, IL |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1962 |
| Scale | $222M assets · $183M deposits, $123M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 18641 |
Financial detail is in What First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois pays on deposits above.
Common questions about First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois
Is First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois FDIC insured?
Yes. First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois is FDIC insured under certificate 18641, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois?
First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Regular Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois have branches?
Yes. First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois | 1.00% | 2.76% | $5,000 | 1 branch in IL |
| American Bank and Trust Company, National Association | 2.84% | 2.03% | not stated | 8 branches in IA, IL |
| American Heritage Bank | 2.15% | 1.94% | $5,000 | 24 branches in OK |
| Arundel Federal Savings Bank | 0.80% | 2.18% | $1,000 | 5 branches in MD |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.