The Union Bank Company savings, CD and money market rates
The Union Bank Company advertises up to 1.00% APY on its Money Market Special account. The 1.00% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.50%.
On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.50% overall, about $50 in a year, which is 0.13 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).
Estimate your earnings·What The Union Bank Company actually pays
The Union Bank Company at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | Up to 1.00% · Money Market Special · needs at least $250,000 |
| Minimum to open | not stated · Money Market Special |
| Against the national average | 0.63 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.70% · 6 months · 6 Month Special CD |
| Minimum to open | $500 · 6 months CD |
| Against the national average | 2.29 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Sep 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 1.00% · Money Market Special · needs at least $250,000 |
| Minimum to open | not stated · Money Market Special |
| Against the national average | 0.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 12969 · Columbus Grove, OH |
|---|---|
| Website | www.theubank.com |
| Branches | 15 branches in OH |
| Availability | Available in OH |
The Union Bank Company savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
Business
How the rate applies
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 407 money market accounts from 357 banks in the Banksparency money market index, the median advertised rate is 1.00%, and one account in ten advertises 3.04% or more. See the highest savings rates.
The Union Bank Company CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 months | 0.03% | $500 | 90 Day CD |
| 6 months | 3.70% | $500 | 6 Month Special CD |
| 6 months | 0.05% | $500 | 6 Month CD |
| 12 months | 3.70% | $500 | 12 Month Special CD |
| 12 months | 0.07% | $500 | 12 Month CD |
| 18 months | 0.10% | $500 | 18 Month CD |
| 24 months | 3.30% | $500 | 24 Month Special CD |
| 24 months | 0.16% | $500 | 24 Month CD |
| 36 months | 0.20% | $500 | 36 Month CD |
| 48 months | 0.35% | $500 | 48 Month CD |
| 60 months | 0.50% | $500 | 60 Month CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for The Union Bank Company
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$11.50(0.1%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$5,000
Projected Balance
$18,011.50
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What The Union Bank Company pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 1.00% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.50%.
In Q2 2026, The Union Bank Company paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 42% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- The Union Bank Company, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal | ||||||||
| Money Market Special | 1.00% | not stated | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Personal Money Market Savings | 0.25% | $0 | $0 | None | $6.00 monthly service charge. Avoid service charge by maintaining a minimum daily balance of $1,000.00. | not stated | Tiered | |
| Business | ||||||||
| Business Money Market Savings | 0.06% | $5,000 | $0 | None | $6.00 monthly service charge. Avoid service charge by maintaining a minimum daily balance of $1,000.00. | not stated | Tiered | |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 90 Day CD | 3 months | 0.03% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month Special CD | 6 months | 3.70% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month CD | 6 months | 0.05% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month Special CD | 12 months | 3.70% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month CD | 12 months | 0.07% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month CD | 18 months | 0.10% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month Special CD | 24 months | 3.30% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month CD | 24 months | 0.16% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Month CD | 36 months | 0.20% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month CD | 48 months | 0.35% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month CD | 60 months | 0.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in OH |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 15 branches in OH |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How The Union Bank Company behaves over time
The Union Bank Company has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.
- Money Market Special
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 6 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
$10,000 at the 1.00% APY The Union Bank Company advertises on Money Market Special grows to $10,100 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,768 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
The Union Bank Company CD rates over time
Who is The Union Bank Company?
| Headquarters | Columbus Grove, OH |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1904 |
| Scale | $1.4B assets · $1.2B deposits, $992M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 12969 |
| Charter state | Ohio · one of 157 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Size | 780th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit growth | Higher than at 82% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC) |
Financial detail is in What The Union Bank Company pays on deposits above.
Common questions about The Union Bank Company
Does the 1.00% apply to my whole balance?
The 1.00% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.50%. Rates are as observed on Sep 23, 2026.
Is The Union Bank Company FDIC insured?
Yes. The Union Bank Company is FDIC insured under certificate 12969, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
Does The Union Bank Company have branches?
Yes. The Union Bank Company operates 15 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
The Union Bank Company against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Union Bank Company | 1.00% | 1.27% | not stated | 15 branches in OH |
| American Bank & Trust Company, Inc. | 1.00% | 2.87% | $100 | 6 branches in KY |
| American State Bank | 1.00% | 2.47% | $100 | 5 branches in TX |
| Anahuac National Bank | 1.00% | 0.88% | $50 | 5 branches in TX |
Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to The Union Bank Company's.
Similar banks and related pages
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Other banks chartered in Ohio, nearest to The Union Bank Company in deposits:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.
State pages: banks in Ohio.