Skip to main content

The Peoples Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 12885Assets $293M (Q3 2025)Newest reading Sep 12, 2026

The Peoples Bank advertises 0.10% APY on its Regular Share Savings account. That is 0.28 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #777 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #723.

Estimate your earnings·What The Peoples Bank actually pays

Key facts

The Peoples Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.10% · Regular Share Savings
Minimum to open$50 · Regular Share Savings
Against the national average0.28 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.00% · 48 months · 48 Month Share Certificate
Minimum to open$500 · 48 months CD
Against the national average2.73 percentage points above the 1.27% FDIC 48-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.30% · Money Market Plus · needs at least $25,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market Plus
Against the national average0.33 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
The Peoples Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate12885 · Chestertown, MD
Websitewww.pbkc.com
Branches1 branch in MD
AvailabilityAvailable in MD
Rates

The Peoples Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.30% APY
Money Market Plus
Needs at least $25,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.25% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.10% APY
Regular Share Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.10% APY
Steady Share Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.10% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $1,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $999.99
0.10% APY on balances $1,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
4.00% APY
Highest CD · 48 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

IRA

4.00% APY
Highest CD · 48 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

Business

Up to4.00% APY
Business Investment Money Market
Needs at least $75,000
$2,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $0 - $1,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $2,000 - $9,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
2.00% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
2.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $74,999.99
4.00% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Peoples Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.50%$5003 Month Share Certificate
6 months3.50%$5006 Month Share Certificate
9 months4.00%$5009 Month Share Certificate
12 months3.75%$50012 Month Share Certificate
18 months3.50%$50018 Month Share Certificate
24 months3.50%$50024 Month Share Certificate
36 months3.75%$50036 Month Share Certificate
48 months4.00%$50048 Month Share Certificate
60 months4.00%$50060 Month Share Certificate
60 months3.75%$5,00060 Month Golden Year Share Certificate
IRA CDs
3 months3.50%$5003 Month IRA Share Certificate
6 months3.50%$5006 Month IRA Share Certificate
12 months3.75%$50012 Month IRA Share Certificate
18 months3.50%$50018 Month IRA Share Certificate
24 months3.50%$50024 Month IRA Share Certificate
36 months3.75%$50036 Month IRA Share Certificate
48 months4.00%$50048 Month IRA Share Certificate
60 months4.00%$50060 Month IRA Share Certificate

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Peoples Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.50% to 4.00% APY across 6 balance tiers.
0.50% APY on balances $0 - $1,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $2,000 - $9,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
2.00% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
2.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $74,999.99
4.00% APY on balances $75,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$552.90(3.6%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $2,000

Projected Balance

$15,552.90

Effective APY
1.29%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Peoples Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.71%
Q3 2025 ·
0.10% APY
As observed Sep 12, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

$252M
Total deposits
Q3 2025
42.9%
Q3 2025
$293M
Total assets
Q3 2025
  • The Peoples Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Regular Share Savings0.10%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Steady Share Savings0.10%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market Plus0.30%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market0.10%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Business Investment Money Market4.00%$2,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month Share Certificate3 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
6 Month Share Certificate6 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
9 Month Share Certificate9 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
12 Month Share Certificate12 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
18 Month Share Certificate18 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
24 Month Share Certificate24 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
36 Month Share Certificate36 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
48 Month Share Certificate48 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
60 Month Share Certificate60 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
60 Month Golden Year Share Certificate60 months3.75%$5,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
3 Month IRA Share Certificate3 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
6 Month IRA Share Certificate6 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
12 Month IRA Share Certificate12 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
18 Month IRA Share Certificate18 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
24 Month IRA Share Certificate24 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
36 Month IRA Share Certificate36 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
48 Month IRA Share Certificate48 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
60 Month IRA Share Certificate60 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MD
Footprint1 branch in MD
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Peoples Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Regular Share Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 12, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Regular Share Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
48 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Plus
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 23, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.10% APY The Peoples Bank advertises on Regular Share Savings grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,685 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The Peoples Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is The Peoples Bank?

HeadquartersChestertown, MD
Founded1910
Scale$293M assets · $252M deposits, $144M of it interest-bearing (Q3 2025, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 12885

Financial detail is in What The Peoples Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Peoples Bank

Is The Peoples Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. The Peoples Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 12885, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Peoples Bank?

The Peoples Bank requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Regular Share Savings account, as observed on Sep 12, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does The Peoples Bank have branches?

Yes. The Peoples Bank operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Peoples Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
The Peoples Bank4.00%0.71%$2,0001 branch in MD
Betterment4.00%not stated$0not stated
Carver Bank4.00%2.03%$5,0007 branches in NY
First Bank4.00%2.41%$576 branches in CA, IL, KS, MO

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Peoples Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates