Skip to main content

GSL Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 28708Assets $156M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 12, 2026

GSL Savings Bank advertises 0.15% APY on its Statement Savings account. That is 0.23 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #650 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #582.

Estimate your earnings·What GSL Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

GSL Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.15% · Statement Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Statement Savings
Against the national average0.23 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.66% · 24 months · 24-Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 24 months CD
Against the national average2.09 percentage points above the 1.57% FDIC 24-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 4.03% · GSL Money Maker Account · needs at least $25,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · GSL Money Maker Account
Against the national average3.40 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
GSL Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate28708 · Guttenberg, NJ
Websitewww.gslsavingsbank.com
Branches2 branches in NJ
AvailabilityAvailable in NJ
Rates

GSL Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to4.03% APY
GSL Money Maker Account
Needs at least $25,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $0 - $1,499.99
2.52% APY on balances $1,500 - $24,999.99
4.03% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
Up to2.98% APY
Super Money Market Account
Needs at least $100,000
$1,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $99.99
0.15% APY on balances $100 - $1,499.99
0.25% APY on balances $1,500 - $99,999.99
2.98% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.25% APY
Holiday Club
Club Savings
$2 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.15% APY
Statement Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.15% APY
Passbook Savings
$250 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.15% APY
Rent Security
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
3.66% APY
Highest CD · 24 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

IRA

0.15% APY
IRA Savings Account
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
3.66% APY
Highest CD · 24 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

GSL Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months2.30%$5003-Month CD
6 months3.10%$5006-Month CD
7 months1.02%$5007-Month CD
9 months2.57%$5009-Month CD
11 months2.57%$50011-Month CD
12 months3.15%$50012-Month CD
13 months2.31%$50013-Month CD
15 months2.31%$50015-Month CD
18 months3.35%$50018-Month CD
24 months3.66%$50024-Month CD
30 months3.35%$50030-Month CD
60 months2.83%$50060-Month CD
IRA CDs
6 months3.10%$5006-Month IRA CD
12 months3.15%$50012-Month IRA CD
18 months3.35%$50018-Month IRA CD
18 months3.35%$50018-Month Variable Rate IRA CD
24 months3.66%$50024-Month IRA CD
30 months3.35%$50030-Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for GSL Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$93.40(0.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,093.40

Effective APY
0.25%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What GSL Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.60%
Q1 2026 ·
0.15% APY
As observed Sep 12, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, GSL Savings Bank paid a higher average rate than 69% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$126M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
6.0%
Q1 2026
$156M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • GSL Savings Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Holiday Club0.25%$2$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Statement Savings0.15%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Passbook Savings0.15%$250$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Rent Security0.15%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
GSL Money Maker Account4.03%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Super Money Market Account2.98%$1,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Savings Account0.15%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3-Month CD3 months2.30%$500not statednot stated
6-Month CD6 months3.10%$500not statednot stated
7-Month CD7 months1.02%$500not statednot stated
9-Month CD9 months2.57%$500not statednot stated
11-Month CD11 months2.57%$500not statednot stated
12-Month CD12 months3.15%$500not statednot stated
13-Month CD13 months2.31%$500not statednot stated
15-Month CD15 months2.31%$500not statednot stated
18-Month CD18 months3.35%$500not statednot stated
24-Month CD24 months3.66%$500not statednot stated
30-Month CD30 months3.35%$500not statednot stated
60-Month CD60 months2.83%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
6-Month IRA CD6 months3.10%$500not statednot stated
12-Month IRA CD12 months3.15%$500not statednot stated
18-Month IRA CD18 months3.35%$500not statednot stated
18-Month Variable Rate IRA CD18 months3.35%$500not statednot stated
24-Month IRA CD24 months3.66%$500not statednot stated
30-Month IRA CD30 months3.35%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NJ
Footprint2 branches in NJ
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How GSL Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.15% (observed through Sep 12, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Statement Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
24 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
GSL Money Maker Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 29, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.15% APY GSL Savings Bank advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,015 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,689 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

GSL Savings Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is GSL Savings Bank?

HeadquartersGuttenberg, NJ
Founded1907
Scale$156M assets · $126M deposits, $118M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 28708

Financial detail is in What GSL Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about GSL Savings Bank

Is GSL Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. GSL Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 28708, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at GSL Savings Bank?

GSL Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 12, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does GSL Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. GSL Savings Bank operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

GSL Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
GSL Savings Bank4.03%2.60%$1,0002 branches in NJ
Central Penn Bank & Trust1.25%2.15%not stated14 branches in PA
Citizens Savings Bank0.25%2.82%$55 branches in LA
Clarion County Community Bank0.50%3.01%$1,0005 branches in PA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to GSL Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates